We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A magical and unforgettable experience in a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Rustica and the view over Lago Di Mezzola
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Rustica and the view over Lago Di Mezzola
Oak beamed and fully equipped farmhouse style kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Villa Rustica and the view over Lago Di Mezzola
Oak beamed and fully equipped farmhouse style kitchen
Kitchen and sitting area with a woodburning stove
Villa Rustica vaulted cellar dining room
First floor bedroom and bathroom layout
Bedroom 1 containing one double bed, mountain and lake views and direct access to the balcony
The view from bedroom 1 and the first floor balcony
Bedroom 2 containing a double bed and a bunk bed.  Sleeps 4 in total.
First floor bathroom including bath and shower
First floor landing with exposed original stone wall and chestnut beams
Second floor bedroom and bathroom layout
Bedroom 3 containing one double bed, mountain and lake views and direct access to a private balcony
Bedroom 4 containing one bunk bed (sleeps 2)
Second floor bathroom with large shower
Outdoor dining with a stunning lake and mountain backdrop
The track down to the house from the road.  Four wheeled drive (4WD) vehicles only
Mountain and lake view from the waters edge a short walk down from the house through private woods
Lazy days down by the lake at Villa Rustica
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Sorico, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Eric A
1 review
“A magical and unforgettable experience in a sensitively restored farmhouse located in a stunning setting”
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The first sight of this villa and its setting generated an overwhelming level of excitement among all 10 adults who shared a one week stay in September 2016. Sometimes it happens that the promise of the promotion is exceeded by the reality; for us, this was one such experience. The adventure of accessing this villa was as enjoyable and intriguing as travel through a rural Italian countryside could be, and well worth the exclusivity, privacy, and privilege of experiencing such an exceptional destination and lodging. We engaged in many wonderful day trips from this location, including St. Moritz, Milan, Orta San Giulio, and others. We bought day passes on the Lake Como ferry system which enabled us to visit many communities such as Varenna and Bellagio. Had we spent our entire stay at the Villa, however, no one would have felt deprived: hiking through the local forest to a nearby village for the sole purpose of buying gelato on a softly warm afternoon is as beguiling a way to while away a day as can be imagined. We had some exceptional meals in local restaurants, and we visited the large Iperal hypermarket that was both nearby and a world away, in order to create our own dining extravaganzas which were enjoyed either on the patio or in the cellar, matching the mood of the location to the meal itself. For Americans, the inexpensive cost of remarkably wonderful Italian wines was a topic of wonderment. As our evenings wore on and we grew contemplative and quiet, we were rewarded with visits of badgers, owls, deer, and other wildlife, all under a star filled sky that was undiminished by the sparkling golden glow of villages across the lake. The beds were all comfortable and the soft breeze through the open windows soothing and restive. Morning coffee out on the lawn with locally baked breads, local cheeses and charcuterie and fresh fruit made for an energizing start of each day. The property managers saw to our comfort with attentiveness and discretion. The combination of history, natural setting, comfort, privacy and space made for an experience that we felt would be difficult to replicate anywhere in the region. We felt privileged to enjoy a home that must certainly be a full expression of the owner's sensitivities. Oh, if only we can return again and again! But there is so much in the world to see and experience! What a delightful torment to face. We are all grateful for having the opportunity to revel in Villa Rustica.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
Dear Eric, Suzanna and I are so happy that you enjoyed your stay every bit as much as we love the house and the surroundings. All the very best with your future travels, but do come back. Alexis & Suzanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola T
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic villa in quiet location. Only challenge was path down to lake. But great place for relaxing holiday.”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a lovely relaxing holiday at Villa Rustica. Fantastic location with great views over Lake. Only challenge was path down to lake. Villa lovely and well provided for. Great outside covered eating area. Good walks from villa when feeling energetic. Only addition that would have been useful was ideas and contacts for local trips, as not an area covered by General guide books. Nicola

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobalExp...
Konstanz, Germany
1 review
“Highly recommended getaway”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at Villa Rustica with a work group for 4 nights as a work retreat. We unanimously agreed that Villa Rustica was the perfect place to stay, providing lots of space for all of us (8 people) to work, eat, sleep, and socialise. The kitchen was sufficient to store all our food, cook, and had a dishwasher (always helps in large groups). We used the outside grill on two evenings (wood was provided which is great), and lit up the indoor fire place as the evening cooled down. We enjoyed the private swimming area just a short stroll down from the house. Villa Rustica is really a great destination for anyone who wishes to enjoy a bit of space in a stunning setting. We never got bored of the incredible views. The villa is situated some distance from shops and restaurants, but does have some places to eat out within walking distance. Overall, a highly recommended place to stay that we will probably visit again. Unless you are after the village or urban lifestyle, you won't find a better place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I could not pick one thing as 'the best' I was overwhelmed the entire time
Liked least: Leaving to fly home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Oct 2015
Wow. So happy that you love it as much as we do. Can't wait to welcome you back. Suzanna.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robert C
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in a fabulous location”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed in Villa Rustica for a week in April 2015 and enjoyed our stay, the views were superb and the hose was lovely.
It is ideal if you want peace and quiet and just to chill out in stunning surroundings.
The only downsides were the rather narrow access road (we had a big minibus) and the fact that the house is not very suitable for small children.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing