We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B Frontelago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Frontelago
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Wonderful stay, lovely people we felt very looked after. they took me to the local railway station, washed my clothes and they didnt want any money. great italian hosts. would highly recommend. Antonio

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Anthony551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
61
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We loved our stay with Maria and Pietro. They are the perfect hosts! Our room was lovely, breakfast was excellent and the gorgeous view of Lake Como from our room was superb. Thanks for the wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Monte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

The other reviews are right - this place is a find! We stayed 3 nights (planned on 2, added one at the last minute and Maria accommodated us) and literally could not have been more pleased with our stay. I rented a Moto Guzzi at Agostini and Maria and Pietra offered to let me park it overnight in their personal underground garage. The room was like a museum - we were almost too intimated by all the antiques to actually sleep there! Beautifully served delicious breakfasts with Italian bacon, home-made breads, delicious coffee. Maria offered us omelets one morning! If you plan on being anywhere near Lake Como, don't even think of staying anywhere else! Maria and Pietra will take care of you!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank GetOutofDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belen, NM
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

Frontelago is a small family-run inn owned by Maria and Pietro. They are very gracious hosts, and Maria serves a fabulous breakfast. There English is limited, but they try hard to make you feel like a family member, not just a guest. Their inn is full of antiques, including many antiques in each guest room. The inn is actually in the small village of Olcio, a few kilometers from Mandello. There is a small train station in Olcio, with hourly service going both north to Varenna and south to Lecco. There is no direct train service to Milan; you must change trains in Lecco. The Olcio station is up the hill from the inn, so people with lots of luggage may choose to take a taxi (about 20 euro) to Varenna. There is one good restaurant and one gelateria within walking distance of the inn, but no other choices. A car is useful if you choose to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank TedInBelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rottweil, Germany
Level Contributor
181 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

What a fantastic find ! Close to Mandello del Lario, Como, Milan and Bellagio is only a short ferry ride away. Maria and Pietro, could not be better hosts - just like a home from home. We stayed in the Brevia room - has it's own Balcony and really tastefully decorated, and romantic for any budding Romeo's and Juliet's. Remember to have cash to pay for your room, as not possible to pay with credit card. We will be back to this little gem in the lakes of Northern Italy. Enjoy your stay here it is just as the picture shows on the edge of Lake Como.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Griso_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandello del Lario
5.8 km away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 16 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
24.6 km away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#7 of 33 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
2.8 km away
Mamma Ciccia
Mamma Ciccia
#1 of 12 in Mandello del Lario
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Agriturismo Al-Marnich
Agriturismo Al-Marnich
#1 of 1 in Schignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
2.8 km away
Casa Nini B&B
Casa Nini B&B
#1 of 7 in Lierna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
20.8 km away
B&B Zia Lina
B&B Zia Lina
#1 of 3 in Dongo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Frontelago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Frontelago

Property: B&B Frontelago
Address: Via Statale 182, 23826 Mandello del Lario, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Mandello del Lario
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mandello del Lario
Price range (per night): $118 - $128
Hotel Class:1 star — B&B Frontelago 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Lecco branch of Lake Como, B&B Frontelago is right on the waterfront. It offers rooms and apartments with antique furniture, and a lake-view terrace where breakfast is served.Rooms here have a classic design with wooden or tiled floors and paintings on the walls. They feature an LCD TV with satellite channels and a private bathroom with hairdryer.You will find a comfortable shared lounge with fireplace, a large garden, and free Wi-Fi access in public areas. When booked, breakfast includes homemade cakes, cheese and cold cuts, and several sweet items.B&B Frontelago Lago Di Como is in Olcio, 2 km north of Mandello del Lario. A small beach is located across the street. Free parking is provided and Olcio Train Station is 300 metres away for trains to Varenna, Sondrio and Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Frontelago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Frontelago Mandello Del Lario, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing