We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning lakefront location on Lake Como!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa La Ruga

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
112 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Argegno, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 112 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jeff P
Tulsa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning lakefront location on Lake Como!”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Villa La Ruga for 3 nights and wish it could have been longer! The setting along the lakefront is gorgeous and really very private. So you can relax and unwind in a peaceful place and then go explore when you want some activity. Francesco is a great host and can help with recommendations or activities. We had Chef Umberto cook a dinner for us one night and it was delightful. The Villa itself is of very solid construction and has more room than it initially appears.

When we visited, it was unusually hot outside. The Villa is not air-conditioned at the moment. But breezes off the lake help and there are fans. Things cooled off nicely as the sun set.

Francesco had a nice selection of breakfast foods waiting focus when we arrived, which was considerate. We cooked some meals and also dinned out. Try the Theatro Cafe in Como and order the branzino in sea salt. Perfect!

We'd highly recommend Villa La Ruga and hope to return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judyr0bin...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week at Villa La Ruga. We were 7 people, 2 generations of a family, all adults. The villa is spacious, well equipped and beautiful, both in its location and its presence. The terrace overlooking the lake is magnificent. Francesco, the owner, is available for every need, and offers assistance with a smile. I would not change a thing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
185Jennif...
Orange
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stunning Lakefront Views of Lake Como!”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
18
people found this review helpful

Four couples stayed for two weeks in this very private villa location with magnificent lakefront views of Lake Como. The grounds are gorgeous. Francesco was very gracious welcoming us with a food package of local goodies and breakfast and instructions with helpful information. He booked reservations for us in restaurants along with arrangements for private transportation and private boat taxi accommodations. He was accommodating in every way and very quick and responsive. We rented a boat which was delivered to the villa and kept in the boat house and was perfect for cruising the beautiful lake and sightseeing. The boat house also provided us access to the lake where we swam daily. Francesco provided us with information as to public parking for the boat and access along the lake. There is no need for a car. The town is a close nice walk with a great bakery providing delicious fresh croissants and the people are very welcoming and accommodating and friendly. We sat on the terrace of this villa for breakfasts, lunches and dinners and just to play cards and enjoy the view. The food in town at the local restaurants was good also. Francesco made arrangements for a private chef, Umberto, to cook a fantastic dinner and serve us on the terrace at a very reasonable price. We played Bocci ball every night and ping pong. The beds were comfy and the master bedroom is huge and has the most privacy with views of the lake and beautiful views of the grounds and gardens. We made fantastic meals in the cozy kitchen that was very easy to cook in and well stocked. My suggestion is to stop at "Bennet" giant grocery store for food and to stock the kitchen upon arrival to the villa. We were constantly pinching ourselves about the views and the lake and we will definitely return to have another memorable and dreamy lake Como experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrpsterA
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Closest To Heaven...”
Reviewed 11 June 2017 for a stay in March 2017
19
people found this review helpful

May – June 12, 2017 We spent the vacation of a Lifetime at Villa La Ruga for three weeks with cousins and family arriving and departing at different times throughout our stay. The pictures of the breathtaking views on this portion of the lake do not do it justice. We were greeted every morning to spectacular sunrises and daylight well past 9pm. The villa had all the necessary amenities, rooms were spacious and immaculate and the grounds were meticulously kept. Francesco couldn’t have been more accommodating from booking to departing he helped us in every way. My husband who was on crutches just prior to our trip had some mobility challenges, but Francesco arranged for transportation into town and boat trips on several occasions. There were no issues that he couldn’t handle and he did so willingly – he was a pleasure to know and would check in periodically. The walk into town is a little hike some of which is uphill to avoid the narrow streets without sidewalks. For a small town, Argegno has a lot of restaurants and we tried them all. Our favorite was Barchetta – the food was delicious and the owner, Antonio was very nice. Argegno is perfectly situated on the lake to get to other areas like Belliagio, Menaggio, Verenna, the city of Como, etc. by ferry (Argegno has it’s own stop) The ferries run more often after May 27th to accommodate the increasing tourist crowd. Francesco arranged for Umberto, a personal chef, to prepare extraordinary, gourmet meals for us on three occasions during our stay. Although we did not take advantage of the boat that Francesco had available (it held 6 or 7 people and we were 8) it was available- he hired a larger boat with a skipper for us. This vacation will forever be imbedded in our hearts as being the best ever. Thank you Francesco for all you did to make it perfect. Mike & Janet

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
725Alex
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stunning scenery, amazing villa and the very best host imaginable!”
Reviewed 11 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
13
people found this review helpful

The very first thing we all did when we arrived at the villa, was wander around open-mouthed in awe of just how spectacularly beautiful it is there.

It is an absolutely amazing villa, wonderfully designed so that every room has a breath-taking views of Lake Como and the mountains. It is decorated and furnished to a very high standard with top-end equipment like an integrated Bose music system, there are plenty of lights to illuminate the house and gardens beautifully at night, while the gardens are immaculately tended.

But the thing that really sets the standard of Villa La Ruga above any other property on the lake, or anywhere else for that matter, is the host Francesco. You will not meet a host on any holiday rental site that is as kind and helpful, or as much fun.

We rented the villa for my wife’s 30th birthday and throughout our time there, he made so much effort to ensure we had the best time possible and was so considerate in his attention to tiny details.

An example was on the boat tour that we took, we realised towards the end that there would be no taxi driver to drive us back to the villa from where we disembarked in Argegno. Francesco learned this through speaking to the boat captain by phone and so he left work to drive back to the villa to move his own boat out of the villa’s boathouse so we could disembark there instead! As a result we weren’t left waiting for a taxi on my wife’s birthday. He spoke to florists to order flowers for me, organised a caterer and a DJ for the evening after the restaurant, all of which were really great. Every time he answered the phone (which was dozens of times), he greeted us with a super- enthusiastic “Hi!”. He is super cheerful, energetic and polite and is just a naturally excellent host. The story about why he rents the villa is incredibly sweet as well.

In conclusion you will not find a better place to stay or a better host, our whole experience was nothing short of amazing. We will definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing