We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dispiriting visit ...”
Review of Antico Verbano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Antico Verbano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed from Saturday afternoon till Sunday morning:

• No one was on reception duty on Saturday. When checking in we were only able to speak directly with was someone from administration. They were the only person from the Residence we saw during our stay. Telephone numbers were listed to speak to off duty reception staff.

• We did understand that this was a self catering residence. However the hotel booking site we used listed on site facilities including a coffee bar, bar, restaurant and a snack bar

• There was no restaurant or bar service on Saturday night (there was some sort of function on that night - quite noisy from our room, particularly on the balcony) or breakfast service on Sunday morning.

• There is no coffee shop or snack bar on site that we could find, but a local outdoor cafe next door (where it was so windy they had to close down mid-evening).

• The local restaurant facilities are quite a walk away from the residence, along a busy coastal road.

• We had a two bedroom apartment for three people, with two showers. The rooms were fine, but only one tiny bar of soap was available.

• No on-site parking was offered, or seemed available. There was fenced, unattended lock-up parking about 2-300 meteres away.

• The residence is full of warning notices, saying things such as there will be a 50 euro fine if the furniture is moved(!), or collective fines for all guests if one guest does not dispose of their rubbish properly (!)

The views were magnificent, but our experience of the residence was not particularly welcoming and it was expensive for the services/service level provided: a dispiriting experience for three tired travellers.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room above the restaurant/garden if there is a function on, as it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here one night, and it was clean and comfortable, however a little disappointing. The hotel facilities that we were looking forward to enjoying were not available. Firstly the pool was out of service. Maybe as it was October and coming into winter, however you never know with kids, they may have had a swim if it was available. Secondly we were looking forward to using the free wifi advertised, as we had been away from internet service for the previous 3 days and heading to another area with no internet service and we wanted to touch base with family. We were told it would be back at 4pm, however it never did work. Third thing was that the hotel restaurant was closed for a function. We were looking forward to an easy night dining at our hotel. The 2 bedroom apartment was quite spacious and comfortable so we were generally happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 660DebP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed 4 nights there at beginning of october, a little escape from the busy life. What i appreciated is no extra charge for single. I don't agree with "if you don't have a car don't go there". I came by train, and right in front of the residence is the bus station. The reception gives you copy of the timetable, so you could catch the bus to go to Arona or Stresa. Even the days of the markets are announced. I'd rather take the direct train to Stresa, and from there the bus to Meina instead of regional train, because the station is quite a distance of the hotel. The only annoying thing is the shops opening times. They are closed from 12 to 3 pm. You'd better have a long lunch on a rainy day! I enjoyed the dinner at the restaurant; excellent food fresh from the season, good choice of piemont wines, nice service. It is closed on monday.
The room is fine: All small apartments do not face the lake but have balconies. Soundproof is very poor. I heard the neighbours as if they are in my room! and you don't know if they are from above, under or next door.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cobelolem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is more an aparthotel with kitchenette in the room than a real hotel. The fact that the reception is only staffed gives the same feeling.

The rooms are big enough and clean but having the room cleaned every day after your arrival would mean an extra on top of the normal price so if you stay there for a couple of days like ourselves you best live with not having your bedlinen changed every day and maybe cleaning and tidying your room a little bit yourself.

There should be Wifi in the rooms but unfortunately the Internet in the area was down during our stay caused by a storm. I have seen the Wifi transmitters so normally this should work.

During summertime this place must be great with reclining chairs on a deck with a nice view of the lake, a nice swimming Pool and I suppose Bar facilities outside. Half October however, the pool was empty, no chairs available and no bar, not even inside. This made a grim day even a bit more grim.

If you don't have a car, don't go there. You are always a drive away from Arona or Stresa. In meina itself there isn't much to do.

The reception was very friendly. Breakfast was so so.

Parking facilities are not brilliant with sort of everyone in the area using the public parking outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a frontal view of the lake. The others have only the rising sun, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The location of the hotel is great and the view to Lago Maggiore is beautiful.

The hotel building itself is more modest than you could expect from the brochures and photos in the Internet. The rooms are ok, clean and spacious, but there is nothing special in them. The oddest thing was that when we run out of toilet paper, we have to buy more paper ourselves. We asked "refill", but either the cleaning lady did not understand us or then extra toilet paper really did not include in the price.

The receptions services were quite poor, as the reception was open only occasionally. And when our group arrived, they did not even bother to show us our rooms, which were pretty difficult to find, as the hotel is a labyrinth and the doors are not marked in numerical order.
Also the restaurant services were quite poor. For breakfast you just got coffee or tee, white bread, marmelade and cake. And the menu did not either impress us a lot, which was a pity, as there are not other restaurants nearby. The nearest pizzeria is about 1 km walk from the hotel.

From our point of view 3 stars is an absolut maximum for this hotel and the price/quality combination is not very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
residAV, Direttore generale at Antico Verbano, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013
Google Translation

buongiorno,
grazie per la recensione. Vorremmo anzitutto ribadire, come ovunque è scritto all'interno della struttura, che il nostro è un residence 3* esattamente come da Lei classificato alla fine della recensione, non un hotel, pertanto i servizi offerti non sono gli stessi! Come la reception, aperta solo in determinati orari, ma SEMPRE REPERIBILE in caso di necessità. Il personale che accompagna nelle stanze i clienti non lo trovate nemmeno in un hotel di lusso, o se lo trovate, pagate un prezzo adeguato al servizio offerto. Noi consegnamo le chiavi e indichiamo il piano. I piani sono due... perdersi è difficile!
Generalmente i nostri affitti sono settimanali, pertanto è una scelta non arredare pesantemente gli appartamenti e riempirli di oggetti da decoro, in quanto per chi soggiorna per un periodo superiore ai due giorni, è più apprezzabile trovare i mobili liberi ove appoggiare bagagli o la spesa!!!e questo è anche più igienico e pulito!
La carta igienica non viene rifornita giornalmente (ed è scritto) ma quando viene richiesta, in reception e non al personale delle pulizie, non è mai stata negata e mai è stata fatta pagare.
Per concludere, le fotografie rispecchiano esattamente gli appartamenti, talvolta alloggio per alloggio perché abbiamo diverse tipologie, è stata nostra cura pubblicarle sui siti in modo che siano il più veritiere possibile per evitare che qualcuno avesse da ridire.
Se poi, come credo sia successo, Lei ha prenotato uno studio e Le abbiamo dato un appartamento più grande sperando di fare un favore, allora ha ragione. Ma non dilunghiamoci troppo!
Grazie.

Cordiali Saluti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meina
10.8 km away
Regina Palace
Regina Palace
#6 of 35 in Stresa
1,438 reviews
10.8 km away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#4 of 35 in Stresa
1,380 reviews
11 km away
Grand Hotel des Iles Borromees & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bel Sit Hotel-Ristorante
1 km away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
1.5 km away
B&B La Darsena
B&B La Darsena
#3 of 7 in Meina
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Verbano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Verbano

Address: Via del Sempione 60/62, 28046 Meina, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Meina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Meina
Price Range: $87 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antico Verbano 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Antico Verbano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Verbano Meina, Italy - Lake Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing