We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb view”
Review of Hotel Ghiffa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ghiffa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ghiffa
Reviewed 18 September 2011

we spent 4 night at this hotel, superb view, and friendly staff. The vine list was appropriate to the 4 stars hotel. Rich choise from the menu a la carte. Large parking, and hotel owner always available

very high recommended

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kendrickmews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

We arrived at hotel Ghiffa expecting a quality hotel based on the internet pictures and the cost. We were wrong... The downstairs of the hotel are quite nice, but the rooms were small, uncomfotable and above all CHEAP. Pillows like cardboard, the bed im sure was picked up at a car boot sale for about £10. Overall the room gave the impression that it was fitted out as cheaply as possible. Most imporatantly... for me anyway, the shower.. All plastic, rusting exposed screws, unfinished tiling, average water pressure, hideous.

We decided not to stay for the four days booked and were made to pay for at least 2 nights, of which we stayed one and left the next morning (as we arrived late)

Basically we felt ripped off. The rooms would not be out of place in the cheapest of cheap hotels worth about £50 per night, not the £200 per night paid. The lake was nice and the view from the room fine.

If you need to spend any times in the rooms... avoid this place, unless of course you dont mind small rooms fitted out on the cheap. We have a four month old daughter, and couldnt make it to the bathroom with her travel cot erected at the end of the bed! We found a number of far better hotels for the money in the general area.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dud75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We needed 4 rooms for our family and friends on a vacation from India to Switzerland. The hotel is perfectly located and most if not all rooms face the lake. The service and personal attention was exemplary and definitely a recommend for a stay. The only negative point was that the air conditioning is poor and requires drastic improvement.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trackeritrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed for a few days with our kids and greately enjoyed the beauty of this place, certainly worth a visit

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

We have just arrived back from a wonderful short break at Hotel Ghiffa. We stayed from Monday to Friday, together with our neighbours and their son. The hotel is a very elegant building right on the lake front. We were very lucky to have a room on the 1st floor that had a huge terrace and had the most amazing views. Our boys were in another room at the side of the hotel, which wasn’t that big, but had a very large bathroom en suite. The rooms & bathrooms were nicely done and very clean, and the hotel staff were all polite and friendly.

We had booked a motor boat for the week and also had the use of a bouy to moor the boat to. This was important for us, as we’ve stayed at hotels before with very poor mooring facilities. There was a very friendly young guy who would take us from the jetty to the boat and back again.

The swimming pool was spotlessly clean (and not freezing cold!!) with an area for sun beds at the side, and there is a small beach on the lake itself.

The hotel is on the main road, which although was very busy during the day, quietened off in the evening and night time, and neither of my sons whose room was by the road complained of traffic noise at night.

The hotel menu looked great, and had it been just myself and my husband, would have probably eaten there. There is a nice little trattoria opposite the hotel where all of us ate quite a few times for lunch and in the evening. Verbania is about 7 or 8 minutes drive down the road and is a larger town with more pizzerias and places to eat.

Overall we thought it was a great little place, and will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swisscath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ghiffa
5.3 km away
Hotel Villa Margherita
Hotel Villa Margherita
#1 of 2 in Oggebbio
105 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Residence Zust
Hotel Residence Zust
#10 of 14 in Verbania
130 reviews
9.9 km away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#2 of 15 in Baveno
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#4 of 35 in Stresa
1,380 reviews
0.5 km away
Castello Di Frino
Castello Di Frino
#3 of 3 in Ghiffa
23 reviews
0.9 km away
Antico Ciliegio
Antico Ciliegio
#3 of 3 in Ghiffa
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ghiffa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ghiffa

Address: Corso Belvedere 88 | Ghiffa, 28823 Ghiffa, Italy
Region: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Ghiffa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ghiffa
Price Range: $116 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ghiffa 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ghiffa has 39 comfortable rooms many of which face directly on Lake Maggiore, enjoying a wonderful panoramic view.Your Hotel on the Lake Maggiore.Hotel Ghiffa enjoys an exceptional position overlooking Lake Maggiore, in the centre of Ghiffa, a popular holiday destination in the Piemonte region (Northern Italy), ensuring you an unforgettable stay in a charming and peaceful environment.This splendid Art Nouveau hotel, built at the end of the 19th-century and completely renovated, offers an elegant atmosphere, with refined interiors and a superb range of features, including spacious accommodations, an excellent restaurant, a panoramic terrace, a garden, a bar and a delightful outdoor swimming pool.The Ghiffa hotel’s location is extremely convenient to reach the ferry dock, where you can catch a boat leading to the fabulous Borromean Islands – a major tourist attraction for their picturesque setting.Our swimming-pool 16×7 with its gorgeous view on the lake Maggiore – lago Maggiore and the terrace solarium with and sunshades offers relaxing hours and for those who are no swimming pool fans there is the private beach with its lying-chairs to rest and admire the beautiful scenary.Our restaurant is a pleasant and elegant veranda on Lake Maggiore with a view unforgettable; there, the edge of Verbano served by qualified staff and courteous, you can enjoy delicious and tasty specialities Piedmontese wine and traditional local and international cuisine.How to reach Hotel GhiffaDistances:Malpensa Airport 45 km From the railway of Verbania Pallanza: 15 km By carFrom the A26 follow the signs for Switzerland and exit Verbania.Continue for about 3.5 miles until you reach Ghiffa and then follow the signs to the Hotel Ghiffa.Motorway A9, Laindon – Como – Chiasso, Gravellona Toce, exit Baveno – Verbania.Head towards Switzerland – Locarno, pass the town of Verbania, proceed for 3.5 km to Ghiffa.The hotel is centrally located on the right.From the director of Northern Europe towards exit Bellinzona Locarno and the Italian border, 25 km from Ascona.By planeThe local airport is the international airport of Milan Malpensa, about 45 km from the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ghiffa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing