We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“one night stop over” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stapleton Arms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stapleton Arms
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“one night stop over”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times since if first opened and have always enjoyed it.

This time we stayed on our way to Devon and on the return trip as it is a long way to travel with a 20 month old. Something has changed and I don't know if there is a change in management? The rooms themselves were great although in need of a spring clean - we strayed in all rooms and 2 is out favourite.

Food was good as always although getting a little predictable.

The biggest change seems to be the cleanliness of the place - the bar and the main eating area looked very dirty and the floor certainly hadn't been cleaned in weeks.

Maybe it's simply the busy Christmas period but I think we'll be looking else where next time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    39
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
79
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay and could not fault this magnificent gem. The welcome was warm from the new manager (Ashley), he seems to run a well oiled ship! The staff were all knowledgeable and attentive and the food exceptional. The bar and restaraunt was cosy and the selection of drinks seemed endless...a real taste of the west country with local produce at the fore of a choice menu. The rooms were extremely clean with lovely finish and furnishings. A true home away from home or a great base from which to explore not just Dorset but Somerset & Wilshere all on the doorstep.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robbsayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We have just stayed at the Stapleton Arms & had to write a review as we had an excellent stay at this small hotel. We loved everything about it, our room, the brillliant staff, excellent food in the restaurant & fantastic breakfast, there is only one thing to say & that is we cant wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 which was really lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KIM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-Upon-Thames
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Firstly this pub is full of character, and is comfortable and welcoming. The staff were charming and the new Manager, Ashley, took the trouble to welcome and talk to us. The food was truly divine and made from what seemed to be the choicest ingredients. The portion sizes were normal, as opposed to this latest trend of charging the maximum price for the smallest amount of food possible, and we felt that the pricing was fair. We had the lovely Room 4 and were delighted with the comfort, decor, and touches like real coffee and fresh milk.

We would definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothykipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed for a one night treat as a stop off on our way to Cornwall. We really enjoyed our stay... our room was beautiful, immaculately clean, spacious and we loved the little touches of luxury (great toiletries, sumptuous bathrobes and thick clean sheets) and thoughtfulness (maps, masses of DVDs/CDs, 'things to do' lists on the back of the breakfast menu). We had dinner in the restaurant downstairs which we would definitely recommend. Best of all though were the friendly staff who were friendly, welcoming and helpful. Just a shame we were only there for one night!

Room Tip: We stayed in bedroom 1 of 4 which was the biggest with a big french antique bed with burgundy walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nickeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckhorn Weston
11.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
14.0 km away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
7.6 km away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.1 km away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
10.7 km away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
8.8 km away
The Coppleridge Inn
The Coppleridge Inn
#3 of 24 in Shaftesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stapleton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stapleton Arms

Property: The Stapleton Arms
Address: Stapleton Arms Church Hill | Buckhorn Weston, Buckhorn Weston SP8 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Buckhorn Weston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Buckhorn Weston
Price range (per night): $181 - $203
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stapleton Arms in Buckhorn Weston is a new style country pub with rooms situated on the Somerset / Dorset / Wiltshire border close to the A303, A30 between Shaftesbury and Sherborne. Close to Wincanton Races. The four individually furnished bedrooms offer supreme comfort with fantastic beds, Egyptian cotton linen and state of the art bathrooms. The menu which changes daily features great classic dishes all supporting our philosophy - quality food cooked with fresh local ingredients, sensibly priced. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Stapleton Arms Hotel Buckhorn Weston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing