We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stop over”
Review of The Stapleton Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stapleton Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times since if first opened and have always enjoyed it.

This time we stayed on our way to Devon and on the return trip as it is a long way to travel with a 20 month old. Something has changed and I don't know if there is a change in management? The rooms themselves were great although in need of a spring clean - we strayed in all rooms and 2 is out favourite.

Food was good as always although getting a little predictable.

The biggest change seems to be the cleanliness of the place - the bar and the main eating area looked very dirty and the floor certainly hadn't been cleaned in weeks.

Maybe it's simply the busy Christmas period but I think we'll be looking else where next time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 115 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

Just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay and could not fault this magnificent gem. The welcome was warm from the new manager (Ashley), he seems to run a well oiled ship! The staff were all knowledgeable and attentive and the food exceptional. The bar and restaraunt was cosy and the selection of drinks seemed endless...a real taste of the west country with local produce at the fore of a choice menu. The rooms were extremely clean with lovely finish and furnishings. A true home away from home or a great base from which to explore not just Dorset but Somerset & Wilshere all on the doorstep.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaintPeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We have just stayed at the Stapleton Arms & had to write a review as we had an excellent stay at this small hotel. We loved everything about it, our room, the brillliant staff, excellent food in the restaurant & fantastic breakfast, there is only one thing to say & that is we cant wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 which was really lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Firstly this pub is full of character, and is comfortable and welcoming. The staff were charming and the new Manager, Ashley, took the trouble to welcome and talk to us. The food was truly divine and made from what seemed to be the choicest ingredients. The portion sizes were normal, as opposed to this latest trend of charging the maximum price for the smallest amount of food possible, and we felt that the pricing was fair. We had the lovely Room 4 and were delighted with the comfort, decor, and touches like real coffee and fresh milk.

We would definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothykipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed for a one night treat as a stop off on our way to Cornwall. We really enjoyed our stay... our room was beautiful, immaculately clean, spacious and we loved the little touches of luxury (great toiletries, sumptuous bathrobes and thick clean sheets) and thoughtfulness (maps, masses of DVDs/CDs, 'things to do' lists on the back of the breakfast menu). We had dinner in the restaurant downstairs which we would definitely recommend. Best of all though were the friendly staff who were friendly, welcoming and helpful. Just a shame we were only there for one night!

Room Tip: We stayed in bedroom 1 of 4 which was the biggest with a big french antique bed with burgundy walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Stapleton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stapleton Arms

Address: Stapleton Arms Church Hill | Buckhorn Weston, Buckhorn Weston SP8 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Buckhorn Weston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Buckhorn Weston
Price Range: $155 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stapleton Arms in Buckhorn Weston is a new style country pub with rooms situated on the Somerset / Dorset / Wiltshire border close to the A303, A30 between Shaftesbury and Sherborne. Close to Wincanton Races. The four individually furnished bedrooms offer supreme comfort with fantastic beds, Egyptian cotton linen and state of the art bathrooms. The menu which changes daily features great classic dishes all supporting our philosophy - quality food cooked with fresh local ingredients, sensibly priced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Stapleton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stapleton Arms Hotel Buckhorn Weston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing