We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely little cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hodgehay Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Langport, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Graham B
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Would have given it 5 but garden was a bit overgrown so not so nice to sit out in.
Having said that, a very nice, comfortable and clean cottage with all you need for a lweekend stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good kitchen dining area
Liked least: Garden overgrown
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Thanks for your review Julie. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I will ask in future if guests mind me taking time to tidy the garden during their stay. I have always preferred to give guests their daily privacy. As we haven't had a gap for many weeks now I do agree the garden requires tending. Many thanks Morag
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a lovely stay at Hodgehay Cottage whilst in Somerset for swimming champs. The cottage was a home from home, with everything you could need for a weekend break. The welcome pack was a real bonus as well as the supplies of tea, coffee etc. Thank you Morag for letting us stay in your cottage, we hope to come back and stay in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john f
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic gem”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is a wonderful cottage in an idyllic part of the country.
It starts with a very warm welcome from the owner Morag who kindly supplied a welcome pack of bread & milk etc and a wonderful bottle of wine and homemade shortbread ( lovely touch ).
The cottage itself was immaculately clean and full of all the necessities you need for a very comfortable stay. I would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone, you will NOT be disappointed.
Thank you very much Morag
We hope to book again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire F
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“just the job”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

we came for a long weekend with friends and found the place to be ideal for us. The area was rather lacking in immediate entertainment but that was not a problem as we were very happy to stay in the rental as it was so lovely. We were delighted with the welcome pack, which was very thoughtful, home made shortbread & wine were included in the package with milk, butter, eggs & bread along with tea & coffee. We were made to feel very welcome by Morag as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen / dining room.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steven s
Rossendale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A one word description would be ' PERFECT '
Lovely generous owner and very reasonable rent.
The cottage is in a excellent location to explore Somerset and in easy reach of the coast.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing