We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Possibly the nicest self-catering accommodation...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallow Barn

Lovely secluded sitting out areas
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely secluded sitting out areas
A beautiful stone barn newly refurbished in glorious countryside with large private garden Open plan kitchen, dining and lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Lovely secluded sitting out areas
A beautiful stone barn newly refurbished in glorious countryside with large private garden
Open plan kitchen, dining and lounge area
Character fireplace with reclaimed brick hearth and woodburner
Comfy leather soafa and footstool
Step outside and enjoy the patio
Plenty of garden furniture for summer alfresco dining
Spacious double bedroom with oak flooring
Large ensuite with bath and shower
Ensuite with bath and shower
View from the garden over fields
Welcome to Swallow Barn
Church in the field - Low Ham
View to Glastonbury Tor from Low Ham
The stunning countryside round Low Ham
Somebody may keep an eye on you
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Langport, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JRP161
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Possibly the nicest self-catering accommodation we've ever stayed in”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Swallow Barn is a truly lovely little barn conversion in a truly lovely rural location. It has been beautifully designed and decorated, and very thoughtfully equipped. The owners, who had left out a range of little luxuries and useful staples for us, gave us and our dog a very warm welcome when we arrived - even though we were unavoidably four hours late on a Friday evening! The peaceful courtyard and garden are properly fenced for dogs, but nonetheless offer unobstructed views over the paddock and across to the hills beyond, making simply lounging outside with a book (in the all-weather loungers provided) a very pleasant experience. The interior is very comfortable indeed, with everything geared towards a restful break. There is plenty of very pleasant walking right from the door. We are looking forward to returning very soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lengths to which the owners had gone to add thoughtful little extra touches
Liked least: There really was nothing that we didn't like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin G
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable Cottage”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Swallow Barn is a very clean and comfortable cottage, and very spacious for two people. It is well equipped with everything you need for a relaxing stay, plus a comprehensive list of basic groceries supplied, and some extra treats! The owner is very friendly and welcoming.

We also found the location excellent for visiting some of the many local gardens and historic sites.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garandcat
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best 5 star self-catering ever!”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed at Swallow Barn for 3 nights in March 2015. Could not have asked for a more wonderful place to chill and enjoy the local sights of Somerset.

The barn is well equipped with everything you could want, including dog towels for our two pooches. The standard of fixtures and fittings throughout is high and Ali (the owner) is so friendly and welcoming. The welcome basket was very appreciated and Ali couldn't do enough to make our short stay the best ever.

We have stayed at 5 star self-catering accommodation prior to and since our Swallow Barn experience, and we can honestly say this is the best experience ever.

Well done to Ali and Gary for making Swallow Barn a luxury home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall high standard of accommodation and countryside location
Liked least: That we only stayed for 3 nights!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
menstonst...
Ilkley
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ideal”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We chose Swallow Barn for our 4 night visit to Somerset, not because of its precise location but because the property seemed ideal. We were not disappointed. I can only reiterate what previous reviewers have said. The property has been nicely refurbished, was well equipped and very clean. I do find it frustrating when self catering to discover , for example, there is no washing up liquid, no salt and pepper or only one toilet roll for your weeks stay. No such problems here. There was everything we required and more. The location of the property was good for visiting the likes of Wells and the Somerset coast. We also managed to drive to the Devon coast (Sidmouth) in approximately one hour. We had a couple of nice meals in the nearby town of Somerton (The White Hart and the Market Bar and Bistro). A final word of thanks to the owner Ali who was very pleasant and helpful. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future and will certainly recommend the Barn to friends and relatives.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth F
West Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Swallow Barn is nestled in the lovely Somerset countryside, secluded enough to feel the peace and quiet but close enough for local amenities.
The cottage is beautifully renovated and a lot of attention given to the detail. The owner, Ali, was very accommodating and lots of little extras were provided.
Swallow Barn still looks and feels brand new, it doesn't have that jaded, shabby look that some rentals can after a couple of years.
I can't say enough good things about Swallow Barn and the other reviews all say the same. You won't regret booking here, except that you will never want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How the barn was spotlessly clean and looks brand new. It doesn't have that tired feel that some places have.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing