We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
24
23
16
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
24
23
16
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2015

This hotel is clean, tidy, well organised and has lovely staff. It is a little out of the way from all the main cities, if that is what you want, but my husband and I spent a lovely week relaxing by walking around the village, relaxing by the pool, reading and eating in the restaurant. Sabine and Fabrizio are fantastic (the main hotel staff), both speak very good English, and I heard Sabrine speaking in French and Spanish just as easily. The rooms have balconies either overlooking the pool or the mountains / village. The breakfast is plentiful and varied (buffet style), and they do a great 3 course dinner with a bottle of wine for 25 Euro a head. Facilities are basic but everything you need for a good stay. The only thing I would improve is the quality of the beds - a bit hard, not a particularly easy sleep. The room had an easy to use air conditioning system. There are several bars and restaurants in the village to also try out.

Room tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel have a great view of the mountains and rooms on the first and second floors have balconies.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spanjulika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

The hotel is very nice and very very clean and the food that is served at the dinner is delicious. The breakfast is also good and the staff is really hosbitable and politely. We felt like home here. They have a good price for Costa Smeralda, taking into consideration that everything on this coast is at double price than usually. I trully recommend it!!!

Date of stay: August 2015
Thank Roxyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We went to San Trano on the back of the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. The rooms were clean but, like the rest of the hotel, rather bland. The TV channels were mostly Arabic. The room had no fridge, fan or bin. We were rather surprised that we would have had to pay extra to get the towels given to us changed before three nights at the hotel.

The staff were polite but rather fussy. If we walked in with a bag we were asked if it had any food in it as no food was allowed in the hotel but the restaurant opened late in the evening.

The pool area was nice, and the location is very quite with only two restaurants other than the hotel. Be prepared to drive a decent way to the beach or anything interesting. For the price we paid, I wouldn't recommend the hotel.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gorgobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

HOTEL

Hotel Santrano is clean and tidy and is in a great location with stunning views. The two main faults we found were:
1.The staff were friendly but certainly not helpful or interested in us as guests.
2.The beds were incredibly hard. Consequently we did not have one good nights sleep in the 2 weeks of our stay. We asked the staff about the beds, but realised quickly that we were not going to get any help at all. A 'tough luck' attitude is the best way to describe it. My wife is fluent in Italian so it is not as if they did not understand the problem. We asked if they could supply mattress toppers. They said No. We asked if we could get extra blankets and sleep on top of them. They said No. Discussions with other guests revealed that it was not just us that were having problems sleeping.
If we had not booked the 2 weeks in advance we would have thought about leaving, which is a shame as otherwise the Hotel is fine.
We did not eat in the Hotel for several reasons. The restauraunt was always empty, no atmosphere, more expensive than restaurants in village, breakfast did not inspire us and I guess the lack of help over our sleeping problems put us off.
The breakfast was pretty bland and was exactly the same every day
Getting soap and shower gel was like getting a Red Cross parcel. Eventually we gave up and bought shower gel from the supermarket.
Towels and sheets were certainly not new, with holes and ragged edges
Swimming pool/sundeck was nice
Hotel dog very friendly

I would recommend the Hotel, if you like a VERY hard bed and are only staying a few nights.

LUOGOSANTO

Luogosanto is a great base from which to explore Northern Sardinia. Our favourite beach (Porto Pollo) was less than 30 minutes away. The village has two restaurants, Il Girasole and Da Tommy. Both are within 300 metres of the Hotel. There is a small supermarket, bank with cash machine, petrol station, several bars, post office and museum/information office. There was a festival during the first 2 weeks of September, which involved lots of mad bellringing and tooting of car horns every evening, but a great atmosphere.

TO DO

Take a day trip to Corsica
Visit Palau and Porto Cervo
Visit Capo Teste - great beach and rock formations
Visit La Maddalena Islands - out of Palau
Visit San Pantaleo - South East of Arzachena
Visit Tempio Pausania
Visit Fontana Filetta - overwhelmingly disappointing but a nice drive!
Visit the museum - they have a few decent brochures of the area

ADVICE/NOTE

The roads are narrower than in the UK, and are very 'bendy'
The signposts leave you guessing
The maps are inaccurate
There will almost always be someone tailgating you
Buy a map. We got one from the shop next to the supermarket

Best thing to do is try and avoid driving at night until you get the hang of the roads, and ignore the guy tailgating you. He WILL overtake you before too long! My worst experience on the roads was driving from Olbia airport to Luogosanto at night when we first arrived. It took 1½ hours to drive about 40kms! Another couple we met took 2½ to do the same trip!

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeilandKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

A lovely 3* hotel located up in the mountains. The hotel is surrounded by beautiful scenery and is nice and quiet. if you've hired a car, then you are less than half hour away from some stunning beaches. The hotel also has a lovely swimming pool which was hardly used when we were there- great for an early morning or evening dip. the rooms are very clean and spacious, with lovely comfy beds. And the service was incredible! the staff were super friendly and really went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I really can't rave about this hotel enough, I will definitely come back here if I visit Sardinia again.

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phenomeenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews