We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food!”
Review of Lydons Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lydons Lodge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Cong B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

While we did not stay here, I would recommend Lydons also lists themselves as a restaurant. When we were unable to eat dinner at Ashford Castle where we were staying due to our lack of making a reservation, the Castle recommended Lydons. I think the food at Lydons was spectacular, a great value for what we ordered. Everything was incredibly well presented, there was an abundance of food (more than we could eat!), and the service was polite with a good sense of when to come by the table versus when to leave you alone. Definitely worth the short walk into town if you're staying at Ashford and if you're looking to stay at Lydons, know that the food will be good!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RainbowBriteErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LydonsLodge, Owner at Lydons Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Dear RainbowBriteErin,

Thank you for taking the time to write. It was our pleasure to look after you. It is always heartening to read such positive comments. Maybe on your next visit to Cong you can experience Lydon's Lodge Hotel with its old world charm, log fires(in winter) and friendly welcome.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind Regards,
Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    13
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
24
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed here for one night whilst attending a friend's wedding at a nearby hotel. We were given a complimentary breakfast on arrival and allowed to check in early and use the room. We were then given a lift to the hotel the day after the wedding to collect our car. Very clean, well presented room with tea making facilities. Delicious Irish breakfast. Super friendly, informative and kind staff. Can't recommend this place highly enough. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LydonsLodge, Owner at Lydons Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Dear Gregor R,

Thank you very much indeed for your fantastic review. We very much appreciate you taking the time to do so. Your comments are most kind and I will ensure that all the staff here are aware of them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lodge where a cead mile failte will await.

Kind Regards,
Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east greenbush, ny
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We were so blessed to have found Lydon's. What a wonderful welcoming Lodge. The food was wonderful. Our hosts were so great. I wish we could have spent more time there. I cannot wait to return. Thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishruler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LydonsLodge, Owner at Lydons Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Irishruler,

Thank you for your review of our property. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us and that you rate our Lodge so highly.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This is a great place to stay! Our family recently held a family reunion here. There were 20 of us from the states. The pub was kept open late and live music was provided. The rooms are
clean and comfortable and the food is great. The salmon panini I had for lunch was so fresh
I thing the salmon was caught that day.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reunion_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LydonsLodge, Owner at Lydons Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Dear Reunion_11,

Thank you for taking the time to write. You give us high praise indeed. It was our pleasure to look after you all.

We look forward to welcoming you back where a cead mile failte will await.

Kind Regards,
Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

I love this lodge - it is family run; food is amazing, always good fun in the bar, clean. warm & welcoming - what more can anyone ask for is a 2 star - although in my opinion much more than 2 star!!

I have stayed here on many occasions & it is always wonderful

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Torres9Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LydonsLodge, Owner at Lydons Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2010
Dear Tores9 Ireland,

Thank you for your very kind review of Lydon's Lodge. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodge on some future date.

Kind Regards,
Deirdre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cong
1.0 km away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
0.7 km away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
1,627 reviews
0.2 km away
Ryan's Hotel
Ryan's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cong
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Fairhill House Hotel
Fairhill House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clonbur
101 reviews
0.1 km away
Ryan's River Lodge
Ryan's River Lodge
#3 of 13 in Cong
89 reviews
0.7 km away
Hazel Grove B&B
Hazel Grove B&B
#1 of 13 in Cong
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydons Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydons Lodge Hotel

Property: Lydons Lodge Hotel
Address: Cong, Cong, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Cong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cong
Price range (per night): $145 - $255
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lydons Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydons Lodge Hotel Ireland/Cong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing