We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Thoroughly recommended. we were a party of ten...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lough Corrib
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Lough Corrib
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Cong, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jim S
2 reviews
“Thoroughly recommended. we were a party of ten and had all the room and amenities we required.”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We selected Cong as our location for a family get together- 10 people- to celebrate my mum's 80th birthday and to let her have the Quiet Man experience. We could not have picked better accommodation as Anne's house fitted our needs perfectly. Spacious living and sleeping accommodation, all bedrooms en-suite, a separate room equipped with a games consule (and drums) for children and easy walking distance to the lovely town of Cong. Kayaking and fishing equipment which kept our two boys 11 and 13 - and some of the older 'boys'- thoroughly amused. Aside from providing the Quiet Man experience, Cong is also a beautiful town surrounded with fascinating history and beautiful nature. We would thoroughly recommend Anne's house for anybody looking for accommodation in or around this location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FellowTra...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Perfect Spot to Call Home”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Such a perfect location to explore Cong as well as the larger area (Westport, Connemara, Galway and the Burren). From our first moments in the home the five in our group felt pampered. We were welcomed with homemade bread and butter when we arrived. What a tasty treat! Upstairs each of us had our own bedroom with an adjoining full bathroom. And another bathroom and bedroom to spare we never even used. Downstairs there is a game room, dining room, fully equipped kitchen, family room, parlor with peat fireplace, bathroom and laundry room. How convenient to be able to pop a load in the washer and the whole family has clean clothes for days. We had the joy of cooking family dinners and breakfasts like we were at home and the luxury of walking 5 minutes to dine in the cafes and restaurants when we wanted local cuisine. We have younger kids so we didn't get the chance to use the kayaks, but we will next time. We did venture over the picturesque foot bridges to explore the property and old mill like we were explorers in a bygone age.
In the evenings we would connect to the house wifi and stream music or play cards or one of the games in the house and when we were feeling really lazy popped on the tv. We spent 10 days here and wished we could have stayed forever. Thank you for sharing your amazing home with our family!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarikaR39...
1 review
“Great house, walk to Cong and Ashford Castle.”
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

One can hardly imagine a more convenient house, yet also extremely secluded. For our multi-generational group there were five lovely, comfy bedrooms--four with bathroom in room, one with private bathroom next door to it. Two sitting rooms, fireplace, huge kitchen, dining room, laundry room. Beautiful surroundings with stream and old mill, and fishing on grounds! We walked into Cong for dinner and drinks, and to Ashford for the falconry and Lough Corrib ferry, we drove through Connemara and around Lough Mask and Lough Corrib. We had beautiful weather and this great house to return to.... The other members of the party are now convinced I have superior trip-planning ability!

Anne (the owner) met us at the house with keys, gave us a book full of info, and she also brought us some excellent brown bread. She was lovely and very quick to respond to all questions. I cannot express enough how pleasant the experience was. We had a wonderful trip and would certainly return to stay at same house again and again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaAm...
Amherst, OH
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great accomodations, beautiful setting, perfect location!”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our 7 family members from Ohio and Massachusetts traveled to Ireland and choose this wonderful Cong cottage as our home base for adventuring in western Ireland. With five en suite bedrooms, a lovely kitchen and family area, separate dining room and cozy front den, we felt the comfort of being at home! The beautiful natural setting along the Cong River with a backyard picnic table and grill and front yard table for lounging, we had choices for every occasion! The location of the cottage was secluded and quiet, yet an easy walk to all that Cong Village has to offer...which was awesome! Walking through Cong woods, visiting Ashford castle, gift shops, pubs, light grocery shopping...all without wheels!!! Cong is an easy drive to attractions in western Ireland and certainly beyond for a longer day's trip. And the bonus was the gracious owners, the Lavelles, who greeted us at the cottage upon arrival, showed us the ropes, were available for tips and advice throughout our two week stay and saw us off when we departed. Lovely people and attentive hosts!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful setting in a perfect location!
Liked least: A little too much rain:-(
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuala F
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Easy walking distance to Cong. The inside of house was poor quality i.e. fixtures and fittings.
2/3 star accommodation at a 5 star price

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing