We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tipolo Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tipolo Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 22 Moalboal B&B and Inns
Papaikou, Hawaii
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

The rooms are actually nice for the price. The service here is friendly, but fairly poor. I have been here a week and they have only cleaned my room once. I keep asking, but they say later. Finally I just asked for more toilet paper and cleaned it myself. The restaurant here is similar. This morning there was only one other person and it took them 15 minutes to take my order even though there were four employees chatting there. It really wouldn't take much service wise to make this placed the best deal in Moalboal, but they aren't quite there yet. Fortunately there are many other food options nearby...but as far as getting your room cleaned and some fresh towels? Maybe you should bring your own!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Onomea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    61
    20
    3
    8
See reviews for
13
75
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Tipolo was the first place we stayed during our trip in the Philippines. Tipolo beach resort is a very nice place, close the sea with beach access, clean and nice rooms, and a great restaurant. Tipolo is one of the few places without the overload of old Western men.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan-WillemMalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumaguete Philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

To start with, tripadvisor has average and very good as the next step, well it was better than average, but definitely not very good.

I traveled from Dumaguete to stay for 3 nights at Tipolo Resort with my girl, to meet some friends coming down from Luzon.

Booking:
painless via a good online system, paid rooms with paypal.

check in:
name, signature, ... done

rooms:
basic with bamboo furniture, thin mattress, aircon (not too loud), hot water, Ref, WiFi worked good. Safe is there, and OK for wallet, my Canon DSLR did not fit into it, clean, let's say "functional".
Room got cleaned automatically, even we stood there one day 'til after lunch. Had different experience in many hotels and inn's all-over the Philippines.
some house-rules are strange at best, (to be polite). Meeting a friend on a vacation is nothing unusual and has nothing to do with sex-tourism.
Ref is well stocked and not overpriced like in many places.

Beach:
There is no beach. the Beach Resort is on a small cliff with steps down to the water and a micro-spot of sand at low tide.

Resort:
small, but nice garden, each room has a veranda for relaxing and/or smoking.

Staff:
friendly and helpful, a bit on the "relaxed side", not that aware of customers in the restaurant, when having chikka in the back of the kitchen. However, if you get their attention, they were professional and helpful.

Food at Restaurant:
The "Last Filling Station" belongs somehow to the resort. The breakfast is a bit on the weak scale, lunch, snacks and dinner are really really good. (if all ingredients are there, what seems to be a little bit an issue), like 8:30 am no rice cooked for filipino breakfast, or no fish, even it is sold everywhere.
The sandwiches, Pita Bread, Pizza, Tom Yam soup, etc were simply delicious. Value for money other than breakfast: Top Notch !

check out:
fast and effective.

Overall:
A nice place in good location, good for couples to relax or explore. Would I go there again? To be honest, I am not sure as we roamed around in Moalboal and saw some places for the same rates, which I liked a bit more.

Having some beds in storage might also help, to be a bit more flexible when a couple wants a double bed. queen size bamboo bed 1200 - 1500 peso is not a that expensive purchase to increase guest service.

I definitely would go back for food, a beer or two and to say hello.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Tipolo Beach Resort is a really good place to stay in MoalBoal! The rooms are clean and comfortable, with spacious balcony and seaview. The restaurant is really good, and the adventure tour operator attached to the resort is so convenient!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maelys L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

simple but elegant place-nice seaview rooms good price and restaurant-staff generally helpful
best part was snorkelling to the reef from the garden drop-however last day slightly spoiled by a certain european man staying next door with 3-4 thai girls who he proceeded to take photos
by the pier above a glorious sunrise-we thought it all rather dodgy-anyway who are we to judge

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hena27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moalboal hotels
5.1 km away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.2 km away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
0.2 km away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#4 of 6 in Moalboal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Sampaguita Resort
Sampaguita Resort
#2 of 6 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 km away
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
#1 of 22 in Moalboal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
4.7 km away
Moalboal Beach Resort
Moalboal Beach Resort
#12 of 22 in Moalboal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tipolo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipolo Beach Resort

Property: Tipolo Beach Resort
Address: Panagsama Beach, Moalboal 6032, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Moalboal
Price range (per night): $43 - $51
Hotel Class:2 star — Tipolo Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Tipolo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tipolo Beach Hotel Moalboal
Tipolo Beach Resort Moalboal, Cebu Island, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing