We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Discovery, We Will Be Back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kasai Village Dive & Spa Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Moalboal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pleasant Discovery, We Will Be Back!”
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We spent 3 days at Kasai Village for diving and relaxing. The staff was very warm and courteous. They went out of their way to make us happy and we really appreciated it. Very special thanks to Tata, Jackie, Edna, Hermz, Kharene and Kanessa for their professionalism and service. The diving operation was top-notch. Divemaster Tata and his crew were always ready on time even if some of the divers were not. Things operated the way they were supposed to and as-advertised. No surprises. We were there during a slow week, but even with only a few divers, we were always treated to the best dive spots, not just the house reef, which is pretty good by itself. The dive shop and equipment area was well-maintained and clean. If I needed a fresh towel after rinsing off, an attendant was there to give me one. The spa was great and the value even better (700 pesos per hour). The food in the restaurant was very good, although some options were not available at the time. To be fair, this is typical in The Philippines, so it did not bother us. Jackie was a great bartender and all the drinks and food were reasonably priced. Staff even got requested food items from the Moalboal market for us. They also helped us with our children during mealtimes. WiFi did not reach all the rooms, but the connection was good near the front office and pool. Pool and rooms were very clean and comfortable. We spent around $700 for four days and three nights with diving included. This is for four adults and two children. I am a very discerning customer, but I was very satisfied and plan to return in a couple of years.

Room Tip: Pick ocean-facing executive rooms if you have kid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepsix2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    33
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
37
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

This is a hard review to write. We arrived at Kasai Village at lunch time with high expectations from their website and from the reviews on Trip Advisor. By 5pm we were ringing our excellent travel agent in the UK (Dive Worldwide) begging them to change our hotel. This they did. We moved to another hotel in Moalboal the next day. The second hotel suited us much better. We travel a lot and have never backed out of a hotel before.
My husband is a very experienced diver, I don’t dive – so we look for different things in a hotel. Both of us were unhappy at Kasai Village.
So what went wrong? To sum up, OK dive resort with well-meaning and hard-working staff but poor resort organisation, poor ambiance and very disappointing food.
If you are looking for a dive centre with rooms - not a resort hotel - and are not fussed about the food you may well be satisfied. Below are more details good and bad
First the good news. Lovely bedrooms at Kasai Village - we had a large sea-view room with a king sized double bed. Clean and comfortable with a great view of the sea. Nice big bathroom. Hot shower but no hot water in basin – apparently common in Philippines.
Lovely big pool set in the gardens.
Good access to the sea from the jetty for snorkelling – not so good for divers who has to wade out across the reef to get to the banca dive boat. They were building a much needed extension to the jetty while we were there. It should be finished now.
Well set up Dive Centre with plenty of room and modern equipment. The two dive masters seemed well informed and generally helpful.
The house reef is excellent with plenty of interesting small fish and critters.
Most of the staff are friendly and keen to help.
Now the problems.
Poor organisation when we arrived did make a poor impression. We were shown to our room but not told anything about where to find the restaurant or other facilities. The ‘welcome’ drink turned up half an hour after we arrived – my husband had gone to the dive centre by then.
We found our way to the restaurant – empty of all other guests. The menu was long and lacking any detail. It was scattered with crossed out words or strips of paper stuck over some options, like fresh fruit for breakfast. Whole sections had large question marks drawn on them.
We ordered a meal which turned out to be perfectly edible but not very nice. The food operation seemed very disorganised. We were asked to order our dinner early to make sure they had the ingredients. This we did. The next thing we knew was the restaurant manager knocking on our bedroom door saying we had not ordered an appetiser. We asked what was available as we had not seen any on the menu. He suggested calamari – we accepted the suggestion.
What turned up was deep fried to death – the chips were fine! Other guests’ children were tucking in enthusiastically. On a business trip I would have eaten it and put up with the boring nature of the food. But not on holiday.
A few white plastic sunbeds were scattered around the resort – they were old and tatty with white paint peeling off them which got on your cloths. They were did not have any mattresses and were very uncomfortable to sit on.
There was not a lot of shade as the gardens are so newly planted. This will improve given time. But as a pale skinned European this was a real problem for me. We had a good sized balcony – but wooden deckchairs which were impossible to sit in for more than a few minutes, as they were so uncomfortable. So that option was out.
We were told pool towels were not provided – when I kicked up a fuss they gave me room towels.
I was very annoyed with the bar attendant who kept trying to sell me souvenirs when all I wanted was a coca cola. The furniture in the bar was not very comfortable so not an option on a rainy afternoon.
The last straw was the non-availability of the dive boat. It was clear that their contract to hire in places on the dive boat is not very flexible. Another guest was unhappy about not knowing where they were going to dive till the boat appeared – or failed to appear. Quite what was going on we did not find out – other than one of the normal boats they used had sunk!
Once we made it clear that we were going to move hotels the hotel manager Michael was very, very helpful. He drove us to look at the alternative hotel and then provided transport for us to move.
The manager and his wife Lydia clearly work very hard. Their staff are keen but lacking experience and skills. But the management needs to brush up the details, especially the food, to get to the standard promised by their website. I feel a more experienced GM would whip this into shape in no time. They need to get some advice to make the most of what has potential to be a very pleasant dive hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank midasfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tønsberg, Vestfold, Norway
Level Contributor
161 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

We are experienced travelers in Thailand and the Philippines and we travel with children 2 and 4 years old. We were recommended this resort from another resort that we liked very much (Pura Vida, Dauin). We are both divers. This was the most expensive resort on our one month trip to seven destinations in the Philippines. There were no other guests but us, and the staff gave us good service. The room was small, and they gave no discounts even if we were the only guests. They charged us a lot for an extra mattress on the floor for our 4-year-old. So we payed 5700 pesos per night included a poor breakfast. This resort would live up to the expectations for around half the price per night. The rooms were a bit worn, the beds were hard and uncomfortable. The diving at Pescador Island was good, but certainly not worth +50% per dive compared to similar divesites like Cabilao and Dauin/Apo Island. They had no diving boat but rented one of poor quality, but with friendly staff. There is no sandy beach at the resort even if it looks like that on the internet. Not possible to walk to other restaurant or resort. It is located in between Pangsama and White beach. Everybody was very friendly and welcoming though, and we have nothing to complain about the service. The pool was nice and clean. Good snorkling easy accessible from a pier. Free wifi near the reception.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ulf Wike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful week at Kasai Village dive lodge. There are only 13 rooms, 9 of them ocean-front, a beautiful free-form swimming pool, an open-air restaurant that feels like you're in a tree house, and a dive shop. The staff was so friendly and eager to make our stay comfortable.

The diving was superlative, made even better by the eager, knowledgeable dive master, Mike. He knew the reefs like his back yard and found all sorts of interesting -- and tiny-- critters for us to photograph. The rental equipment was in great shape.

The rooms are comfortable, clean and air conditioned, though they would have been even more comfortable if there were some comfy chairs to sit in while reading. No TV in the rooms, which was fine with us, but some folks might not like.

Internet connection is via wi-fi at the main office, which, in the hottest part of the year, was pretty uncomfortable, but the staff let me into the air conditioned "inner sanctum" a couple of evenings.

The food was delicious, plentiful, and beautifully presented. I definitely recommend you get full board, as the resort is about 20 minutes' drive down a narrow unpaved track to the nearest town, which didn't appear to offer many options for eating.

We had a great stay and wouldn't hesitate to go back if we were in that part of the world again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robinella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa, canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights, very happy with our choice. The hotel is right on the water, no real beach but beautiful views and sunsets. We had a seaview room, with terrace, was fantastic. We did 6 dives while there, amazing! So many sea turtles! One person did the Open Water course, went really well, good instructor. Really nice huge pool for both dive instruction and relaxation. Bar/restaurant had delicious food and drinks, especially the shakes, lots of variety. Room itself was big, very clean. Free Wifi available at reception desk. Location is secluded from other resorts in the area, not a problem for us as we found no need to leave. Great staff as well! Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canadiantravelgirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moalboal hotels
3.5 km away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 6 in Moalboal
419 reviews
3.2 km away
Sampaguita Resort
Sampaguita Resort
#2 of 6 in Moalboal
228 reviews
1.8 km away
Marcosas Cottages Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Savedra Beach Resort
Savedra Beach Resort
#5 of 6 in Moalboal
77 reviews
1.8 km away
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
Quo Vadis Dive Resort
#1 of 23 in Moalboal
445 reviews
2.0 km away
Asian-Belgian Dive Resort
Asian-Belgian Dive Resort
#4 of 34 in Moalboal
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasai Village Dive & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasai Village Dive & Spa Resort

Property: Kasai Village Dive & Spa Resort
Address: Tuble, Moalboal 6032, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Moalboal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Moalboal
Price range (per night): $167 - $206
Hotel Class:3 star — Kasai Village Dive & Spa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is perfectly suited for diving and other water sporting activities. On exciting excursions with jungle trips, cave exploring, motorcycle riding in the mountains, hill walking to the waterfalls and hot springs and much more, you will get to know the diversity of the amazing Island of Cebu. Alternatively, Kasai Village Resort is equally suited for romantics and those who just want to relax. We believe that YOU deserve to have a great and relaxing vacation with your family or friends. The friendly and luxurious atmosphere of the resort gives you the chance to get away from the everyday stress and get into island time. We will make our best to give you the holiday you deserve and dream of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kasai Village Dive & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasai Village Dive And Spa Resort
Kasai Village Dive Hotel Moalboal
Kasai Village Dive & Spa Resort Moalboal, Cebu Island, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing