We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
174
103
33
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
103
33
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhale sharksdive resortsardinesdirt trackpescador islandother guestskawasan fallsfishgreat divingrental equipmentceiling fansoft coralsair conditioningdiving sitespool area isfilipino disheshotel staff
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Everything (room, food, service, dives) are fine, except no/weak WIFI in my room (#8). A whaleshark watching cannot be missed, it was a fabulous experience. Our DM(Ronald) provided a professional and responsible service to us. The pizza bar and the breakfast is highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank CHUN HOI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turtlebaydiveresort, Public Relations Manager at Turtle Bay Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Hello CHUN HOI C,

Thank you for writing us a review here in TripAdvisor and for giving us a perfect rating! We are pleased to know that you appreciated all our services. Also, thank you for recommending our Pizza Bar and Breakfast :) Hope to see you again in the future.

Have an amazing day!

Best regards,
Turtle Bay Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

We visited last week as a family of four and stayed at Family Room 15.
Wifi worked perfectly, beds were comfortable and there were ample towels, soap and shampoo.
The room is air-conditioned and there is a ceiling fan. We had no problems getting a good night's rest.
We did the Island Hopping snorkelling tour with the Resort and the kids were thrilled to see the Sardines and the turtle!

We particularly enjoyed the Oslob tour. The resort provided transport and breakfast en route and wow! the Whale Sharks were amazing!

Food is expensive at the Resort, but it is nice warm and home-cooked. We had half our meals at the Resort and half at JG's grill, which is 5 mins' walk away.

We had some issue with our deposit on our final day but the Management didn't hesitate to right the wrong and so we are grateful!

We would recommend this resort for anyone who would like to explore Cebu. :-)

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleepy123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turtlebaydiveresort, Public Relations Manager at Turtle Bay Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Hello sleepy123123,

Thank you for choosing our resort! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. Indeed, we take extra measures to settle the issues (if there are any) that are troubling our guests. It is our goal to leave you only great memories. Thank you very much for recommending Turtle Bay! We hope to serve you again in the future.

Have a great day!

Best regards,
Turtle Bay Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

How do I love Turtle Bay? Let me count the ways!

We have been to Cebu twice before, and have always stayed in Lapu Lapu City. This time we wanted a dedicated dive trip and were willing to "go the extra mile" to make diving convenient. I am so glad we found Turtle Bay! We originally booked 3 nights and 3 dives each, but extended our stay and bought more dives because we liked the staff so much.

The Drive: Yes, I see why people complain but when compared to driving from Lusaka to Victoria Falls, Hanoi to Ha Long or Denpasar to Ubud, this was way more comfortable. We made sure we brought snacks for the drive because we landed at 11:00 am and knew we would be hungry. Once you get up the mountain, the views are really great. Because we came to dive specifically, we only left the resort once to go to Kawasan Falls and the rougher road to the main drag was not an issue for us even though we were in the back of a Jeepney (thanks William!!).

The Staff: SO FRIENDLY! This is a trademark of the Philipines for sure, but Turtle Bay is a smaller resort so they remember you! I recommend exchanging cash at the airport because you are going to want to leave cash in the various tip jars around the resort :)

The Resort: The layout of the resort on google maps is a bit misleading because the resort does go straight down to the water! It is beautifully laid out and some views really reminded me of the Big Island in Hawaii!! The owner takes great pride in the lawn and upkeep of the grounds and you can tell!! If I was more into Instagram, there would be a lot of great photo opportunities here :) We spent each night watching the sunset from the Bay View Restobar and it was so peaceful and relaxing.

The Food: For sure you can find cheaper food in Moalboal. JG's Grill was closed while we were there, but honestly, we just ate at the resort. The breakfast isn't a Shangri-La buffet it is true, but if you are trying to get to the dive shop by 8:30 am, this will do the trick! We ate dinner here every day and loved it! We tried almost everything and I highly recommend the banana or mango milkshakes for dessert!

The Room: We were in room 19 and all our needs were met! The chickens and turkeys and can be a bit loud, haha! But we were up quite early on so it wasn't unpleasant. I wish the air conditioner was closer to bed, but the ceiling fan helped move the air around. We slept so well here. The nights are so quiet (no bass music and light shows here!!) and calm that it was hard to stay awake past 10:00pm.

The Diving: This is what we came for and we looooved it! I would say the visibly is not as good as it is further south, but we had an amazing time. We did a refresher with Jong Jong to the House Reef and knew we were in the right spot! We did 5 dives with Robin and were really impressed that he knew which animals lived in which spots (for sleeping White Tip sharks and turtles) and finding the tiniest creatures hiding in the corals. It was so relaxing to be in a smaller group compared to diving with Scotty's on Mactan in much larger groups. This team is much more relaxed and calm and since the dive sites are so close, it made for very peaceful diving experiences.

The Snorkelling: Tongo Point (House Reef) is great fun! You will for sure see turtles if you swim out to the buoy. Especially around 5:00-5:30pm. There is plenty to see if you are nervous to swim out that far, but highly recommend that you do. The drop off is so impressive to see while snorkelling and to see a turtle swim along towards you and off on their way, is really amazing. The water is much warmer than in Hawaii, so you can stay out there for such a long time!

Thank you for an amazing stay Turtle Bay!!

Room Tip: Room 19, Pool View, Quiet
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turtlebaydiveresort, Public Relations Manager at Turtle Bay Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear Amy H,

WOW! I cannot count the ways that you have inspired us by this generously written exceptionally kind feedback on your stay here at Turtle Bay! Guests like you motivates us to continually maintain the best standard of service. The staffs you've named would surely be acknowledged this month in our yearly Thanksgiving Party :) We love to give recognitions to all our staff and reward them for making all these wonderful experiences possible. We are indeed grateful to be situated in this paradise- away from the busy area and near to the magnificent reef full of diverse marine life. It is our goal to make great diving easily accessible to foreign and local divers whilst they enjoy great food in relaxing surroundings. We are very happy to know that we achieved it on your stay.

Thank you for staying with us. We would love to welcome you back again in the future. It would be an absolute pleasure.

Best regards,
Turtle Bay Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

The road going here was terrible. You will pay 150 pesos per way if you will hire Tricycle, sometime they will ask you to pay 250-300 pesos per way!

The resort was very clean, the pool’s nice and the view was amazing. You will enjoy snorkeling because of the rich marine life in front of the resort. It’s 10 mins boat ride away from Pescador Island and 5 mins boat ride to Panagsama Point.

If you want parties and night life, don’t book here.

The food in the restaurant were very pricey. You should add asian/filipino dishes in your menu and upgrade the quality of your food.

We hired tricycle driver everyday to take us to Panagsama so we can eat delicious food that ‘s worth the price.

But if you want to relax and have a quiet time, Turtle Bay is the perfect place!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Fhelannie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turtlebaydiveresort, Public Relations Manager at Turtle Bay Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Hello Fhelannie J,

Being located away from the busy and noisy areas of Moalboal and being situated in front of an amazing reef with rich marine life, there is a price we need pay. This would be being at the mercy of the government with regards to the condition of the dirt road going here. We have tried a couple of times to reach out to them regarding this matter since this is the most common complain we receive from our guests. We cannot have it cemented since it is a government property. We are still trying until now to settle this issue.

I would like to take this chance to comment on your point regarding our food prices and the quality of our food. We often receive positive comments regarding our food and it is evident on the number of walk-ins we have been receiving over the years. We do not advertise our restaurants so this has to be from word-of-mouth recommendations. Since we cater to foreign and local guests, our menu choices are italian, asian, filipino, vegetarian and etc.

Our restaurant prices are higher than those found in the simple restaurants in Panagsama Beach for several reasons: we buy our restaurant high quality food and ingredients mostly in Cebu City and from Cebu City fish market. It is transported here in Moalboal while ensuring that it remains fresh. When eating in the restaurant you can be sure of first class hygiene (are you getting the same quality in Panagsama Beach establishments?) in the preparation and a selection of tasty dishes. Also, when comparing with other establishments selling food, bear in mind that we pay the 12% sales tax, we pay at least minimum wage to all staff, we pay income tax, and we incur significant cost maintaining the landscaped grounds, restaurants and bars. I hope this merits your understanding.

Thank you for recommending Turtle Bay! Have a great day.

Best regards,
Turtle Bay Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

My family of five stayed at Turtle Bay for a week in May 2018- and we loved it. The hotel has great service- the stuff was always there if we needed any help. The breakfast were very big and they had a choice of local and western food. The rooms were big enough with soft beds (very unusual for Asia-so big plus for that) and bathrooms were clean. The kids loved the pool as it had very warm water. The quality of the beach might be disappointing for some- but the reef that is just 20m from the shore compensates for that. Also the personal from the Turtle Bay diving center was kind enough to help us arrange a Island Hopping trip for 4,000 PHP.
If you want to explore the attractions of Western coast of Cebu this place is definitely for you- it took us less than 30 minutes to by car (we rented one at Mactan INTL Airport)to reach Kawasan falls and around 1,5 to Oslob- and we would recommend doing both of the trips if you have time.
The only negative aspects of our stay, that are very minor, were the poor wifi connections in the rooms (it works quite well in the lobby) and 2 km of very bumpy road with pot holes that leads to the resort.
Overall, we had an amazing stay at Turtle Bay Dive Resort and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turtlebaydiveresort, Public Relations Manager at Turtle Bay Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Hello Julia S,

Warm greetings from Turtle Bay Family! First of all, thank you for taking the time to write this elaborate review. We really appreciate all your positive comments on our services. Truly, we love to fill our guests hearts with great memories and their stomachs with great food! It is our pleasure to serve you only the best. Thank you for commending our soft beds. The mattresses are hotel-quality and the beds are from an American furniture company. We love your positive outlook regarding our area. Though we do not have any sandy beaches, we are grateful to be located in front of a magnificent reef- full of diverse corals, fishes and sea turtles!

Thank you very much for recommending Turtle Bay Dive Resort. We hope to serve you again in the future!

Best regards,
Turtle Bay Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews