We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pradise”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Iberostar Grand Paraiso is truly a 5 star resort. We booked a standard room and got upgraded (for no extra charge) to a villa, which had its own back yard with a beach bed, sitting area, and a small pool. The villa was wonderful, very comfortable, and very private, with beautiful furniture and even a hammock inside the room.

The food was outstanding: top quality, lots of choices, fresh, flavorful. They serve lobster for every meal, including in the buffets. The service was also very good and everyone was very friendly.

The only minus is that we had get up early in the morning to reserve a beach cabana. Also, as other reviewers have mentioned, the lounger cushions are thin and worn out and not very comfortable.

Overall we were very pleased with the resort and cannot wait to go back again. You cannot go wrong with this resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ania93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear guest,

We are very glad to know you had an excellent time in our resort; the most important for us is to exceed every time the expectations of our guest. We pride ourselves on being conveniently located, offering a wide array of food and beverage, and the very best in personalized service.

We are pleased to hear that despite having this issue, you were able to enjoy your stay with us. We hope to host you again in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,881
    692
    206
    65
    34
See reviews for
697
4,187
115
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,459)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

If you read my other reviews you will see that we start to be quite experienced with beach/all inclusive hotels around the world. The Iberostar is our absolute favorite so far. It is not the cheapest (it is quite expensive actually) but you definitely get what you pay for. Food and service is absolutely outstanding. The beach is beautiful with nice waves. At no time you would feel that they try to save on anything to make you feel comfortable/valued (drinks, food, smiles, services, etc). Just to give you a couple of examples: if you wanted to eat lobster every day for lunch and dinner you could. The alcohol they serve are all premium. We had quite a bit of their Champagne which is actually not real Champagne but being experienced Champagne drinkers we can say that it was definitely competing with some medium ranged French champagne. We definitely will try to make it back soon.
For us it was just the perfect place to relax. We didn't do any tours given we were so comfortable in the hotel. Staying a week was just perfect as enough to detach and relax. I found it to be the perfect hotel for couples and groups of friends but I would probably wouldn't recommend this hotel if you travel alone as there is nothing really in the surrounding. It will take you a 30 min taxi ride and 25 USD to make it one way to playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SwissTraveler1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear guest

On behalf of Iberostar Grand Paraiso we would like to thank you for the time you invested giving us a very motivating review of your vacations; We are glad to know that you felt so comfortable and relax in our Hotel also to hear that our services and facilities really met your high standards.

We trust that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Echt, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spend two fantastic weeks in this paradise resort.
Just everything in this resort is great. De restaurants, the pool, the excellent service.
But most important, even on very busy days, there are no crowds, no waiting, you just wonder were are all the people?

Room Tip: Our room had direct view to the ocean. It is like waking up in paradise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your kind review. It was also a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your holidays among us so much. We hope that you will not hesitate to visit with us again in the near future as we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Ideally I would give the Iberostar Grand Paraiso 4.5 stars, but since I can only do whole I rounded up.

Hotel Room
The room was great. We had an ocean view corner suite on the third floor with a jacuzzi. It was very windy while we were there but still managed to spend time on the balcony and in the jacuzzi. Everything was clean and the bar restocked to our liking daily.

Hotel Amenities
We spent most of our time at the activity pool since the beach was too windy. The pool area was nice. One word of note. People come down at 7:00 am and put blankets and books to reserve the cabanas even if they will not use them until noon. So by 7:00 am all the cabanas are spoken for. While we were not fans of this practice we ended up doing the same thing so we had somewhere to sit. The pool water and hot tubs were a bit cool but not so much you could not go in. The bar was well serviced as well as the servers walking around.

The gym is good as well. We worked out twice most days moving between the cardio and weight equipment. A couple of items to note. The spin bikes are not in the gym but out by the indoor pool. By mid day this area was very hot and humid making it hard to stay on the bikes for any length of time. Also, they turn the AC off in the gym, so if you get there and it is really hot just call or ask and they will turn it on for you.

We did a 50 minute couple sports message. The message was what I would expect and the price comparable.

Food
We had never done an all-inclusive and were a bit apprehensive about the food. What we received at the Grand as a very nice surprise. The food was very high quality at the buffets. If you wanted to eat healthy there was plenty of fruits and greens. Almost every meal had a quality cheese platter. The beefs and cooked food was very flavorful. We ate at the Japanese and Chop House. Both were very good with three course meals and full of flavor.

The drinks including water were plentiful. I asked for a glass of wine with my dinner and they gave me a bottle. We ordered margaritas to go and there was no problem. We had room service bring us a pitcher of margaritas to our room for the jacuzzi. The bar and servers at the pool would provide you with whatever you needed.

Service
Overall the service was great. There were a few exceptions noted below, but for the most part everyone was very friendly, provided great service. In most cases we tipped, but it was clearly not expected and did not really provide a better quality of service. In fact, on several occasions we had to ask the server to wait while we got the tip out as they were not expecting it and ready to walk away.

Cons:
On some of the sites it noted wireless in the room for a fee. There is no wireless anywhere in the hotel other than the lobby. There is landlines in the room. The wireless in the lobby was so terrible it was almost unusable. We tried to use it for Skype or FaceTime and it could not stay connected for more than a minute or two. Had we known there was no wireless in the room I would have brought a laptop or pocket router.

We requested a scale for our room to keep the buffet's in check. We had to ask several times and it did not get there until half way through our trip.

No one could tell us if the laundry services was in pesos or USD. We needed to wash our workout clothes and had to just go for it. Luckily it was in pesos.

We request our jacuzzi be filled one night after our dinner. When we got to our room it was not filled and we were told it was because the do not disturb sign. The sign was on the room next door and not ours. They promptly filled it but we had to wait of 25 minutes and it would have been nice to have it ready right after dinner.

Summary
Overall we were very pleased with the Iberostar grand Paraiso and would go back again and recommend. The hotel room, amenities, food were all top notch. The service in general was very good, but a few exceptions earn it a 4.5 more than a 5.0 start.

Room Tip: Don't plan on wireless in the hotel. We also brought a lot of cash and could easily exchange fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JSmith2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the time you dedicated to let us know a very valuable feedback about your stay at Iberostar Grand Paraíso, your review will allow us to continuously improve the excellent services our guests deserve.

Indeed, we are committed to offer a luxurious accommodation and the best quality of food and beverages. For sure we will do our best effort working hardly on the aspects you mentioned.

We will be very glad if you give us the opportunity to host you again in the near future!

Warmest regards,

Quality manager- Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

~Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso ~ April 9 – 14, 2012

Arrival

We spent our first 6 days at Secrets Maroma Beach and our last 5 days at Iberostar Grand Paraiso. We took a taxi between resorts for $12 and arrived at Iberostar approx. 9am. We were welcomed by Jorge, who we found very professional and extremely friendly! What a nice man. We were also greeted with a cold cloth and a cold drink and a friendly “welcome home”.

Check-In

We were given our wristbands; and told our room was ready. We booked a standard Junior Suite but upgraded to the Oceanfront room to take advantage of the April special they offered ($80 more per night). We were given a Resort booklet were driven to our beautiful room by Jorge in his “limo” aka golf cart . After arriving in the lobby of Building 71, our Butler, Trinidad, welcomed us and escorted us up the elevator to our room on the 3rd floor. We opened our door to Room 7155 to the most beautiful ocean view!! What a beautiful room! Trinidad explained everything you would need to know about your room and then left us to enjoy that fabulous room and view. Our bags arrived within 5 minutes.

Room

Our suite was absolutely beautiful and looked exactly like all the pictures. It was large, bright and extremely clean. The bathroom had a great layout with his and her sinks on opposite sides of the room, large soaker Jacuzzi, separate shower and separate toilet area. One great feature was the nightlights…which were not available in some previous resorts. This makes a great difference in the middle of the night when you are trying to find the bathroom without turning on lights! There was a basket containing bottles of shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, body lotion, shower cap, etc. There is excellent storage under the sinks for makeup, hair accessories, etc. Another nice feature was having the lights to your room automatically turn on when you opened your door. Awesome!!
The living area had a chaise lounge, coffee table, desk area. The room also had a coffee-maker, ice-bucket, as well as an alarm clock and iPod station, TV with a lot of English stations and a DVD player.
There are two closets with ample room for hanging, ironing board and iron, and umbrella. There is a combination in-room safe, at no extra charge. Maid service was incredible!!! The concierges were aware when we left our room and had the maid and turndown service done when we were out. Air-conditioning worked great and was set at 21. Perfect for us. There is an extra blanket provided in the closet as well as a pillow menu. Turn-down service is provided every evening. They also wipe down the shower, leave clean towels, take away dirty dishes and leave you chocolates. The maids cleaned every inch of our room. We were so totally impressed!! We noticed they even dusted everything. They must spend at least 1 hour in each room. Very impressive service!!!

Balcony

We were thrilled with the view of the ocean as well as the size of the balcony (10’x14’). It contained a swing (which I napped in one day), a comfy sofa, coffee table, side table and laundry drying rack tucked discretely in one corner.

Service

Fantastic! Other than Secrets Maroma (which is tops in our books), the service at Iberostar Grand was great. Our butler, Trinidad greeted us by name each day. The service at all restaurants and most bars was great. Entertainment Staff extremely friendly and made a point of recalling our names. They work long hours and do a great job. We had a complimentary photo session with Alberto and he was FABULOUS! He is awesome at capturing those special moments. I highly recommend him.
We ordered a pot of coffee from room service a few mornings about 6am and it was delivered within 15 minutes.
I have to share this story…. Not only did most staff remember our names, but they also remembered our favorite drinks. We sat down to the lunch buffet one afternoon and before we got back to our table from filling our plates, our favorite drinks were already waiting for us. THAT is excellent service.

Currency

It you don’t have pesos, U.S. currency works fine. If you pay for something in US money, they will give you pesos in change. We find it best to bring small bills for this reason. Most services are charged to your room.

Grounds, Beach and Pools

The Resort is breathtakingly Grand from the moment you drive through the security gate. It is not a huge resort and we found it very easy to find our way around. We had a long walk to the restaurants each night as our room was located on the beach….but that was a small price to pay for such an incredible view. The pathways are beautiful and all covered in the event of rain. There is a picture waiting at every corner of this resort. Impeccably clean! The area around the main salt water pool can be slippery when wet. We did see a few people slip and fall. We were very conscious of this during our stay.
The beach area is soft white sand with plenty of chairs and palapas for shade. We never had to reserve early in the morning like we had to do at other resorts. While walking up the beach to the other Iberostar properties, you could easily see how busy and crowded the beach front was there in comparison to our little slice of heaven. The water is lovely and a mixture of blue and turquoise colors. There is coral and rocks directly in front but you can move to either side of the front area to swim. The main salt-water pool is large and has a swim up bar with lots of loungers in the shallow water (no shade). There are a limited amount of shaded loungers and these were usually reserved by 10am. The resort was only at 40% capacity when we were there, so it wasn’t an issue. When we left, the resort was at 70% and you could tell the difference. In my opinion, they could provide a few more shaded areas. Beach towels are laid out on the chairs each morning. Towels are readily available any time of day and they never once ran out. No towel keys are necessary so people are using 2 per person (one for a head rest) and there were still plenty to go around. We found the towels very small in comparison to other resorts…..even the other Iberostar resorts had nice thick blue towels. The towels at the Grand are thin and small. The lounge cushions are also thin and we found the loungers quite uncomfortable around the pool. Not thick and comfy like the ones at Secrets Maroma. The pools and hot tubs are all very clean and warm.

Restaurants

We booked dinners at each of the 4 ala carte restaurants. We had early sittings (6:30 and 7) and found it a long time between finishing dinner and waiting for the entertainment to start at 10. Next time we will reserve our times later. All meals had FANTASTIC service. Our favorite was at Haiku, the Japanese restaurant. We were seated at the show table and had a wonderful meal. I highly recommend it. Each meal we had was cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. All wait staff were wonderful and friendly.
Breakfast was awesome with many choices at the Buffet in the main building. Lunch only had 1 option at the Beach Buffet. We were somewhat disappointed that the main buffet was not open for lunch during our stay.
Also we should point out that Dinner Buffet was only open 1 night out of our 5 night stay. This was due to low capacity. We noticed some people arriving back from a full day excursion, hungry and tired, only to find out they had no dinner reservations and there was no buffet. I assume they either had to order room service, or their concierge would try to find them a table in one of the restaurants. I realize it is a fact of life that low capacity occurs and these adjustments are necessary, but it is still a disappointment when you don’t get the service you read about in your booking brochure. Men are required to wear long pants and shoes at indoor settings. Women can get away with just about anything other than beachwear.
Room Service is available 24 hours.

Bars

The service was great at most bars. They had top shelf liquor and we were told a variety of 14 different types of beer. This made my husband very happy!

Internet

No wifi in the rooms! We found this very strange for such a high end luxury resort. There was wifi in the lobby and you could also request a hard wired connection for your room. I would like to see Iberostar offer free wifi in each room…even if it meant they increase the cost of the room. Just my opinion.

Nightly Entertainment

We went to the different shows each night and enjoyed the Rock Concert and Las Vegas shows the best. Show time was 10pm, which we found a bit late. The Disco is located in the main building but we never made it (too late for us). The theatre was absolutely beautiful and fully air conditioned. Truly enjoyable.

Shopping

There are shops in the main lobby that carry many souvenirs, cigars and jewelry. There are also many shops in the Shopping Plaza, which is a short walk or a quick golf cart ride away. Concierge are more than happy to drive you anywhere within the complex and pick you up after.

Spa/Sports

The Spa facility looked lovely but we didn’t use any of the facility. There are a few treadmills within the spa. I chose to run on the beach each morning and enjoy the fresh air. The Entertainment Staff offer many fun games around the pool each day and also on the beach. Shout out to the friendly staff – Daniel, Veronica, Edwardo, Agustin, Alberto or maybe it was Roberto….I know I’m missing more. There were also fantastic waiters in each of the restaurants and I can’t remember their names!!
We took advantage of the Couples Massage at the Spa located in the Shopping complex. We didn’t need to make a reservation and just decided at the last minute. It was lovely but not a deep-tissue massage like we are accustomed to at home. It was lovely nonetheless. Charges were applied to our room.

Bike Tour

I took the bike tour with Daniel, along with another very nice couple we met from England. (Hi Emma and Tim). We toured through the other Iberostar resorts and also through the Shopping Plaza. This was the perfect way to become familiar with what the plaza had to offer – such as a Crepe/Ice Cream shop, beautiful Spa (which we enjoyed a couples massage later in the week), church, disco and many shops. This area is not very busy during the day but I’m sure it is busier in the evening and later hours.

Golf

My husband golfed twice at Iberostar Pariaiso located across the street from the resort. He golfed alone once and I joined him as a ride along the second round. He finished in 4 hours (18 holes) each time. He described the course as well manicured and a nice challenge. Green fees were free for 1 day only.
Weather and Bugs
We vacationed during April and we had perfect sunshine all 11 days. We couldn’t have ordered better weather! As far as bugs, there were a few at night. They offer bug repellent in the rooms.

Summary

As an adults-only resort, Iberostar Grand is the perfect choice for those who want exceptional service, outstanding facility and excellent food and drinks. At the same time, a full range of activities are also available to you, so you can be as busy or as sedate as you choose.
We found the food choices very good, and but would prefer resorts that do not require dinner reservations. If asked to compare our stay at Iberostar Grand to other all inclusives, I vote Iberostar as my favorite overall, whereas my husband chooses Excellence Playa Mujeres. We don’t usually return to resorts so we can enjoy other places, but I would not hesitate to return to Iberostar and would highly recommend this resort to others. We hope to try Iberostar Grand Bavaro and Iberostar Grand Rose Hall in the coming months. The nice part about comparing resorts is finding the “wow factor” that each resort offers. I love them all!! IMHO, in comparison to other luxury 5* all-inclusive resorts, Iberostar Grand receives the Most Outstanding Award for: Accommodations, Service and overall Luxury.

Photos can be viewed at http://community.webshots.com/user/annabandana

Room Tip: Oceanfront has beautiful views but there really is no bad room in this entire resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank AnnaBandana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarMexico, Quality manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Staff and the Management at Iberostar Grand we would like to thank you for your detailed review.

The Management cheked your review and they would make the necessary arrangements to surprise you on your next visit, all the staff will be also more than glad to make your vacations unforgettable.

We look forward to welcoming you to Iberostar Grand, your home away from home.

Best regards,

Quality manager - Iberostar Mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
11.1 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
3,188 reviews
2.2 km away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
2.0 km away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#22 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
8,687 reviews
21.0 km away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4,202 reviews
0.3 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

Property: Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price range (per night): $508 - $1,083
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the long, fine, sandy beach of Playa Paraiso in Mexico's Riviera Maya. Top 5-star luxury. Quiet and relaxing. Personal butler and concierge service. 24 hour all inclusive service. 4 a la carte restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Hotelopia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Playa Paraiso Iberostar
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso Playa Paraiso, Mexico - Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing