We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hands down!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at many resorts in the Caribbean and this one is my absolute favorite. The staff is beyond amazing and recognized us by name. Staff leaves out no detail whether it be meticulously cleaning the grounds, preparing the best food EVER, and simply going the extra mile to make sure customers are beyond satisfied. This property is connected to both the Casitas and Generations so the grounds are HUGE! Food choices are beyond anything I imagined and there is always something to do both on and off the grounds. Planning many return visits as we are Exotic Travelers members!

Room Tip: All are perfect. We stayed at the swim up jacuzzi junior suite
Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear, Jennifer D

Thank you so much for rating us with the 5 stars award and for taking the time to write such a nice review of your experience at our premises.

It feels really good to acknowledge, through your words, that all our efforts to achieve our guests’ satisfaction have been worth it.
We are sure your description of our site´s atmosphere will be a great help for future travelers when choosing their next destination.

It is interesting to read that you enjoyed every detail of the Karisma Gourmet Inclusive Experience.

We hope you give us the opportunity of hosting you in the near future at, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, your Mexican Home! Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Remain at your service,

Gabriel Bonilla
Hotel Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10,051)
There are newer reviews for El Dorado Royale, by Karisma
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 124 of 10,051 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A know from the title you might wonder why the 4 star, This resort is amazing it's huge and the attention to detail is incredible. Me and my now wife have been before 2 years ago and said we will come here again for our honeymoon. But with our expectations high upon arrival there was disappoint and stress. After picking a room upgrade online as this being an all out blow out honeymoon trip the rooms are placed very close to what we liked to call the ( party pool ) which is full of people on the lash and aqua aerobics with alcohol. Which means a nice chilled evening is out of the question. But beside all the noise at night the room was amazing and grounds and restaurants are on another level. I would happily go back to this resort but would not pay the extra when I feel the cheaper rooms are nicer for a romantic getaway.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Joel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear, Joel F

Thank you so much for your feedback on our hotel. Let me express my gratitude for taking the time to write about your stay at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.

Truly, we cannot thank you enough for choosing to spend this very important moment in your lives at our resort, I am so happy to hear that your experience was in line with our reputation for upscale and quality service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, We will have the champagne chilled awaiting your arrival!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our experience at El Dorado Royale was mixed bag. We just got back from a 4-night visit in mid-August and it was our first time visiting the resort. We have stayed at seven All-Inclusive resorts (all 4+ star resorts such as the Palace resorts, Paradisus, etc.) so we have a relatively good frame of reference. One of our friends highly recommended the resort and have been several times so we were looking forward to staying at the resort. We expect members of the resort will have perks and benefits but still expect the same level of service for all guests. Since the service was inconsistent throughout our stay, we would not recommend El Dorado Royale.

Check-In – Alfonso was friendly at check-in but be prepared to spend at least an hour getting checked-in (review the resort layout, restaurant options and times, presentation pitch, etc.). He was not pushy about the presentation. We did share that we were celebrating our 15-year anniversary during check-in but we were disappointed the resort did not do anything. At other resorts we have stayed, we mentioned at check-in when celebrating birthdays and there are always special surprises in the room (birthday dessert, balloons, confetti, rice artwork, towel art, etc.).

Room – Room was clean and spacious for two people but it was a bit dark as others have mentioned. Bathroom area was spacious with double sinks and separate shower area. Some of the furniture and paint could use a little updating.

Food – We visited 4 restaurants for dinner – Kampai, D’Italia at Villas, D’Italia at Casitas, and Sante Fe and enjoyed all the restaurants except for Kampai. Unfortunately, the service at Kampai’s was not good - the server was not attentive and we had to ask for water refill several times. The food and flavors were not what we were expecting for Asian food. On the flip side, the food at D’Italia Casitas was excellent. The host was welcoming and kind. Leonardo at D’Italia Casitas was phenomenal in his service. He gave us great recommendations on the menu and was attentive throughout the meal even as he waited on more tables. At the end of our dinner, he brought out a special “anniversary” dessert. Exceptional service makes a difference and Leonardo did just that. In general, we felt that most of the restaurants were understaffed...which means longer service and the quality of service can also be impacted. As others have also mentioned, expect the meals to take 1.5 – 2 hours. It would be nice if there were options for a quick bite or snack.

TIP1: At JoJo’s for lunch, the catch of the day on the menu (fried whole fish) is not available every day. Order the day you see it is available as it may not be available the remainder of the trip.

TIP2: Avoid the Health Bar! We were curious why the Health Bar was always empty but experienced the reason why when we walked in and no one was there to greet or assist with a smoothie/juice order.

Bike Tour – We enjoyed the tour overall but the bikes were a bit out of shape and uncomfortable to ride. Diego is a wonderful guide – great energy and provided helpful information throughout the tour. We appreciate culture and the visit to the late musician’s home, but the area was SWARMING with mosquitoes. We were too busy swatting mosquitos to enjoy this part of the tour. We were not aware and did not come prepared wearing mosquito repellent.

Beach – We heard about the towel game going into the trip so we were not looking forward to it as we are not early risers. But to our surprise, there were plenty of covered cabana beds and covered loungers all along the beach. We enjoyed this aspect of the resort the most. The sandbags and stones do obstruct the view, but we enjoyed relaxing in the calm water without the waves that we would normally get on the Hotel Zone. The water was a little murky and you need to be careful of the rocks (entry into the water and in the water). We found a few spots that were not too rocky and enjoyed the beach. Kayaking was also very nice.

Pool – We did not visit the pools but they look nice and had many options throughout the resort.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Long L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Hotel Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Long L

thank you for the time taken sharing your feedback with us at Trip Advisor about your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry to read about the disappointment in the service rendered and if you we fell short of your expectations.

It is nice to know about the good service that was rendered upon your arrival; please apology the disappointment due to the lack in special amenities due to your very special wedding anniversary and for the inconvenience with insects on the bike tour. We have mentioned all information provided with our Team so that corresponding perfections can be made. I appreciate your comments about the food and service received and our Restaurants.

Please do not hesitate to contact the customer service department at customercare@karismamexico.com so that all this can be reviewed with you directly.

Warmest regards,

Gabriel Bonilla
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
El Dorado Royale by Karisma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Everyone at this resort did an absolutely awesome job and were so friendly. Our concierge team of Carolina and Wendy were truly the best. They made sure we were well taken of.

The resort itself is beautiful. We had a swim out room and only used the pool once because the lazy river going by our door was just so incredible. They even brought our drinks to us. Since we went at low season there weren't alot of people here so plenty of chairs lounges and beach beds available.

The food is incredible and the drinks were very good.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank audreysgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear, audreysgma

Thank you so much for your feedback on our hotel. Let me express my gratitude for taking the time to write about your stay at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.

It feels really good to acknowledge, through your words, that all our efforts to achieve our guests’ satisfaction have been worth it. I am sure your comments will be a very nice motivation for our staff to keep working for all future travelers when trying our destination. It is interesting to read that you enjoyed every detail of the Karisma Gourmet Inclusive Experience.

We will be waiting for your next visit at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.

Remain at your service,

Gabriel Bonilla
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food is definitely the star at El Dorado Royale! Every restaurant was excellent (including room service). Fuentes (the theatre/cooking show) was a fun touch. Portions are small, but beautifully plated and perfect for trying several things on the menu. I also appreciated their weekly "culinary series" events with different activities every day (beach BBQ, wine/dessert night, etc. - some were complimentary, some were not).

We stayed in the "premium" section of the resort (between the regular rooms and the casitas) and it was well worth it for a more private pool, pool butler (Jorge was amazing!), drink service, personal concierge (Arlett was also great!), dinner reservations at all restaurants, and probably other perks I'm not remembering. If we return, we will definitely stay in the premium area or casitas. Rooms were clean, serviced every day and mini bar refilled every day.

The resort itself is large. Shuttles aren't super easy to get, but we also didn't try very hard - we didn't mind walking. If you have mobility issues or can't/don't want to do lots of walking, probably not the resort for you. It was also quiet while we were there, but I understand it's their slower season. The beach was ok - the sandbags and conservation efforts didn't phase me in the least, I still thought the view was beautiful. But it's definitely not white sand beaches.

TONS of activities - we didn't even scratch the surface of everything you can do! We mostly just laid around in a beach bed.

Some things I didn't expect (this was my first time staying at an all-inclusive). The sales pitches were relentless. From the up-sell attempt when we checked in, needing to wave away a spa person every day when we were at the pool, special "steak menus" that cost more (definitely don't recommend this - the regular menu food is outstanding), excursion sales, etc. It was ridiculous.

I also was incredibly disappointed that as far as we could tell, NO WINE is included in your drinks. I was prepared for special wines and premium liquors to be extra, but thought there would still be a "house wine" or something that would be included. I never found one. Huge bummer.

Room Tip: Premium section or casitas - don't waste your time anywhere else!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hola Jessica K,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding our hotel facilities and most of all, our staff performance.
We are sure your description of our site´s atmosphere will be a great help for future travelers when choosing their next destination.
We hope you give us the opportunity of hosting you in the near future at, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, your Mexican Home! Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Remain at your service,

Gabriel Bonilla
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
0.0 km away
El Dorado Casitas Royale, by Karisma
8.8 km away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
2.8 km away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,915 reviews
22.7 km away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,202 reviews
6.9 km away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Royale, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Royale, by Karisma

Address: Carretera Cancun - Tulum Km. 45, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly El Dorado Royale)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price Range: $369 - $1,110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Dorado Royale, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Conde Nast Traveler Readers’Top 100 Hotels in the world and a AAA Four Diamond Resort, El Dorado Royale is an adults-only destination that provides the ultimate in service in the ultimate setting.With more than a mile of sandy beach in Mexico's Riviera Maya, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort, by Karisma offers an escape which no other destination can match. All the luxuries you can dream of, combined with an emphasis on personal attention to your every whim, make this an ideal location for a getaway. Travelers join us from around the world for romantic outdoor beach weddings or ceremonies in our intimate beachfront chapel, relaxing honeymoons, anniversary celebrations, or just much needed time off. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your El Dorado Royale, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Royale Hotel Riviera Maya
El Dorado Royale Mexico
El Dorado Royale Cancun
El Dorado Royale Spa Resort
El Dorado Royale Resort
Eldorado Royale
El Dorado Royale, By Karisma Playa Paraiso, Mexico - Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing