We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
USD 211
USD 168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Beach(Playa Paraiso)(Great Value!)
USD 210
USD 168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iberostar Paraiso Maya(Playa Paraiso)
USD 276
USD 224
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 249/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 284
USD 166
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 466
USD 385
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
USD 392
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa(Playa Maroma)
USD 615
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kin Sol Soleil(Playa Maroma)
USD 417
USD 375
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (11,728)
Filter reviews
11,728 results
Traveller rating
8,217
2,080
751
422
258
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,217
2,080
751
422
258
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmartini barhealth barswim up roomsanta fesand bagscasita sectionk teamfuentes poolla isla poolour honeymoonoutdoor showerroom serviceswing bargreenhouse tourpersonal conciergewine pairingjo jos
Filter
Updating list...
1,727 - 1,732 of 11,728 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2017

A know from the title you might wonder why the 4 star, This resort is amazing it's huge and the attention to detail is incredible. Me and my now wife have been before 2 years ago and said we will come here again for our honeymoon. But with our expectations high upon arrival there was disappoint and stress. After picking a room upgrade online as this being an all out blow out honeymoon trip the rooms are placed very close to what we liked to call the ( party pool ) which is full of people on the lash and aqua aerobics with alcohol. Which means a nice chilled evening is out of the question. But beside all the noise at night the room was amazing and grounds and restaurants are on another level. I would happily go back to this resort but would not pay the extra when I feel the cheaper rooms are nicer for a romantic getaway.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Joel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear, Joel F

Thank you so much for your feedback on our hotel. Let me express my gratitude for taking the time to write about your stay at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.

Truly, we cannot thank you enough for choosing to spend this very important moment in your lives at our resort, I am so happy to hear that your experience was in line with our reputation for upscale and quality service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, We will have the champagne chilled awaiting your arrival!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Our experience at El Dorado Royale was mixed bag. We just got back from a 4-night visit in mid-August and it was our first time visiting the resort. We have stayed at seven All-Inclusive resorts (all 4+ star resorts such as the Palace resorts, Paradisus, etc.) so we have a relatively good frame of reference. One of our friends highly recommended the resort and have been several times so we were looking forward to staying at the resort. We expect members of the resort will have perks and benefits but still expect the same level of service for all guests. Since the service was inconsistent throughout our stay, we would not recommend El Dorado Royale.

Check-In – Alfonso was friendly at check-in but be prepared to spend at least an hour getting checked-in (review the resort layout, restaurant options and times, presentation pitch, etc.). He was not pushy about the presentation. We did share that we were celebrating our 15-year anniversary during check-in but we were disappointed the resort did not do anything. At other resorts we have stayed, we mentioned at check-in when celebrating birthdays and there are always special surprises in the room (birthday dessert, balloons, confetti, rice artwork, towel art, etc.).

Room – Room was clean and spacious for two people but it was a bit dark as others have mentioned. Bathroom area was spacious with double sinks and separate shower area. Some of the furniture and paint could use a little updating.

Food – We visited 4 restaurants for dinner – Kampai, D’Italia at Villas, D’Italia at Casitas, and Sante Fe and enjoyed all the restaurants except for Kampai. Unfortunately, the service at Kampai’s was not good - the server was not attentive and we had to ask for water refill several times. The food and flavors were not what we were expecting for Asian food. On the flip side, the food at D’Italia Casitas was excellent. The host was welcoming and kind. Leonardo at D’Italia Casitas was phenomenal in his service. He gave us great recommendations on the menu and was attentive throughout the meal even as he waited on more tables. At the end of our dinner, he brought out a special “anniversary” dessert. Exceptional service makes a difference and Leonardo did just that. In general, we felt that most of the restaurants were understaffed...which means longer service and the quality of service can also be impacted. As others have also mentioned, expect the meals to take 1.5 – 2 hours. It would be nice if there were options for a quick bite or snack.

TIP1: At JoJo’s for lunch, the catch of the day on the menu (fried whole fish) is not available every day. Order the day you see it is available as it may not be available the remainder of the trip.

TIP2: Avoid the Health Bar! We were curious why the Health Bar was always empty but experienced the reason why when we walked in and no one was there to greet or assist with a smoothie/juice order.

Bike Tour – We enjoyed the tour overall but the bikes were a bit out of shape and uncomfortable to ride. Diego is a wonderful guide – great energy and provided helpful information throughout the tour. We appreciate culture and the visit to the late musician’s home, but the area was SWARMING with mosquitoes. We were too busy swatting mosquitos to enjoy this part of the tour. We were not aware and did not come prepared wearing mosquito repellent.

Beach – We heard about the towel game going into the trip so we were not looking forward to it as we are not early risers. But to our surprise, there were plenty of covered cabana beds and covered loungers all along the beach. We enjoyed this aspect of the resort the most. The sandbags and stones do obstruct the view, but we enjoyed relaxing in the calm water without the waves that we would normally get on the Hotel Zone. The water was a little murky and you need to be careful of the rocks (entry into the water and in the water). We found a few spots that were not too rocky and enjoyed the beach. Kayaking was also very nice.

Pool – We did not visit the pools but they look nice and had many options throughout the resort.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Long L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Hotel Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Long L

thank you for the time taken sharing your feedback with us at Trip Advisor about your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry to read about the disappointment in the service rendered and if you we fell short of your expectations.

It is nice to know about the good service that was rendered upon your arrival; please apology the disappointment due to the lack in special amenities due to your very special wedding anniversary and for the inconvenience with insects on the bike tour. We have mentioned all information provided with our Team so that corresponding perfections can be made. I appreciate your comments about the food and service received and our Restaurants.

Please do not hesitate to contact the customer service department at customercare@karismamexico.com so that all this can be reviewed with you directly.

Warmest regards,

Gabriel Bonilla
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
El Dorado Royale by Karisma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Everyone at this resort did an absolutely awesome job and were so friendly. Our concierge team of Carolina and Wendy were truly the best. They made sure we were well taken of.

The resort itself is beautiful. We had a swim out room and only used the pool once because the lazy river going by our door was just so incredible. They even brought our drinks to us. Since we went at low season there weren't alot of people here so plenty of chairs lounges and beach beds available.

The food is incredible and the drinks were very good.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank audreysgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear, audreysgma

Thank you so much for your feedback on our hotel. Let me express my gratitude for taking the time to write about your stay at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.

It feels really good to acknowledge, through your words, that all our efforts to achieve our guests’ satisfaction have been worth it. I am sure your comments will be a very nice motivation for our staff to keep working for all future travelers when trying our destination. It is interesting to read that you enjoyed every detail of the Karisma Gourmet Inclusive Experience.

We will be waiting for your next visit at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.

Remain at your service,

Gabriel Bonilla
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

The food is definitely the star at El Dorado Royale! Every restaurant was excellent (including room service). Fuentes (the theatre/cooking show) was a fun touch. Portions are small, but beautifully plated and perfect for trying several things on the menu. I also appreciated their weekly "culinary series" events with different activities every day (beach BBQ, wine/dessert night, etc. - some were complimentary, some were not).

We stayed in the "premium" section of the resort (between the regular rooms and the casitas) and it was well worth it for a more private pool, pool butler (Jorge was amazing!), drink service, personal concierge (Arlett was also great!), dinner reservations at all restaurants, and probably other perks I'm not remembering. If we return, we will definitely stay in the premium area or casitas. Rooms were clean, serviced every day and mini bar refilled every day.

The resort itself is large. Shuttles aren't super easy to get, but we also didn't try very hard - we didn't mind walking. If you have mobility issues or can't/don't want to do lots of walking, probably not the resort for you. It was also quiet while we were there, but I understand it's their slower season. The beach was ok - the sandbags and conservation efforts didn't phase me in the least, I still thought the view was beautiful. But it's definitely not white sand beaches.

TONS of activities - we didn't even scratch the surface of everything you can do! We mostly just laid around in a beach bed.

Some things I didn't expect (this was my first time staying at an all-inclusive). The sales pitches were relentless. From the up-sell attempt when we checked in, needing to wave away a spa person every day when we were at the pool, special "steak menus" that cost more (definitely don't recommend this - the regular menu food is outstanding), excursion sales, etc. It was ridiculous.

I also was incredibly disappointed that as far as we could tell, NO WINE is included in your drinks. I was prepared for special wines and premium liquors to be extra, but thought there would still be a "house wine" or something that would be included. I never found one. Huge bummer.

Room Tip: Premium section or casitas - don't waste your time anywhere else!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Hola Jessica K,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding our hotel facilities and most of all, our staff performance.
We are sure your description of our site´s atmosphere will be a great help for future travelers when choosing their next destination.
We hope you give us the opportunity of hosting you in the near future at, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, your Mexican Home! Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Remain at your service,

Gabriel Bonilla
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Beutiful property, food was very average for the price you pay. Your "personal concierge" was more like a time share salesperson. Not much in the way of personalized service. Probably will try a different resort next time.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
10  Thank Todd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarismaHotelsResorts, Hotel Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Todd F

thank you for sharing your feedback with us at Trip Advisor. Allow me to apologize for the disappointment in the food offered and for any inconvenience with the service that was rendered by the Concierge.

Our mission is to make every stay as close to perfection as possible ensuring our guests with the most relaxing experience and I am deeply sorry to know we were not able to accomplish during your stay.

As you may know, TripAdvisor does not link your reservations, so I do invite you to contact our head of Customer services, customercare@karismamexico.com. I would like an opportunity to address the concerns that you have presented to me.

Warmest regards,

Gabriel Bonilla
Hotel Manager
gm@eldoradoroyale.com.mx
El Dorado Royale by Karisma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews