We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED the Paraiso Maya”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Playa Paraiso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boiling Springs, PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“LOVED the Paraiso Maya”
Reviewed 9 March 2009

My husband and I traveled to Iberostar Paraiso Maya with our two sons (young adults).
We chose this resort because it seemed to have something for everyone - It did not disappoint us.
As others have written the Iberostar complex is huge. It is made up of four hotels, each having it's own level of service. Staying at the "Maya" you have no restrictions on where you can dine or activities you can use. It took a a few days to get to know our way around and we were still finding new things our last day there.
I think the biggest thing someone may question at this time is safety. Before we left, the US State Department was not recommending travel to Mexico. This of course was disconserting to us but our travel agent assured us that the major problem that the state department was commenting on was the drug problem at the border towns. The Yucatan resort areas are no where near this activitity but caution should always be used while traveling. I must tell you we never felt unsafe. Security was very high and the resort takes very good care of their guests. We have traveled to Jamaica a number of times and I can say I probably felt more safe in Mexico. Don't get me wrong though - I still love Jamaica.
Now the fun stuff:
Food: Always excellent, especially in the specialty restaurants (again, if you are staying at the Maya you have no restriction on how often you eat at a specialty restaruant). We loved the Japanese and the Seafood. I have read many reviews commenting negatively on the food. We travel and eat out on a regular basis. We appreciate good food and good service - we got both at the Maya. I must say if there is something you do not like, ask for something else. The staff goes out of there way to keep you happy - I also understand there are some who like to complain - get over it.
Accommodations: Lovely, well appointed suites with fantastic bathrooms. lovely patio/balcony with beautiful views all around. I appreciate having nice accomodations even though we were not in our rooms much. I do agree with the hairdryers being less than desirable. Thanks to tripadvisor I was prepared for that - and the hard beds (we happen to prefer a firm mattress anyway).
Grounds: What can I say - they are spectacular. Lush greenery and water everywhere. We were amazed and in awe of the beautiful surroundings. The pool(s) literally go from one end of the resort to the other!
Beach: Beautiful blue water but windy. I kept asking if it is normally this windy (never saw a green flag). All the staff said it was unusual - just this week it was windy. But reading the reviews and talking with others who have stayed numerous times at the resort, I am beginning to believe windy may be normal for this time of year (it was so windy the harbor closed - canceling a deep sea fishing trip my husband and son were signed up for).
Staff/Personal Service: The absolute best rating I could give to the wonderful/ kind staff. I was amazed at how they would go from speaking Spanish, to English, to French without missing a syllable. Before you go check out the "before you go" section on the trip advisor page and brush up on a few Spanish terms. Be able to exchange some common courtesies i.e. hello, thank you, please (Hola,Gracias,Por favor). Everyone who works with guests can speak English but making an effort would certainly be appreciated.
Would I go back? Manana!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank crin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,728
    1,373
    482
    175
    114
See reviews for
2,810
1,055
42
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (941)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2009

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Iberostar Parisio Maya. Was there with my 7 year old and 16 year old. After reading a lot of reviews wasn't sure what to expect. The place is huge it takes a while to figure out where you are going especially at night (if it is your first night) We didn't have any problem getting dinner reservations, although only ate at the Italian restaurant. Most of meals were at one of the buffets, where there was a large selection of food. Our favorite place to eat was over at the shopping complex at the Crepe and Ice Cream shop. The ice cream is too die for we had ice cream probably 4 times a day if not more. The kids loved to have the crepes and put the ice cream in them that was the best! Room service menu if a bit limited but you can get 24 hours.
The pools are cold and there wasn't many people swimming in them, but once you got past the inital shock it really wasn't that cold. The lazy river was fun and the wave pool was also a hit. Finding a spot at the pool to sit is a bit hard and the towel stands close fairly early, best to trade in wet towels for dry ones before going back to your room. The beach is amazing, there are a lot of chairs and it is a very large beach. It was very windy the whole time there which made playing in the waves so much more fun. There were only a few places in the water where there were some rocks. We didn't go to any shows. The room was very large and clean. We swam with the dolphins in Puerto Adventouras and went extreme zipling in Selvatica would reccommend both. I would reccommend staying at the Iberostar Maya or Lindo.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kcagnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, B.C.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2009

Terrific service, beach, pools, food, drinks, entertainment, grounds, architecture and room. Very clean complex and very friendly and helpful staff. NO complaints about the Iberostar. We are in our early 60's and we had a blast. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone. It has it all.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mauime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2009

We travelled to the Iberostar Maya as a group of 10 for two weeks in February. Ages ranged from mid 20s to mid 50s.
Food seems to be a mixed review at this hotel, and of course opinions are subjective, but We all thought the food was good to excellent, and ate ala cartes every night for supper, and NO one got sick. The Gourmet restaurant reserved only for Maya guests and the Italian were the group favourites! The Japanese is also a good show! If you enjoy seafood, this is a great place to stay, there is salmon, grouper, shrimp, or lobster in some form on almost every supper menu (and of course options for those who do not like seafood as well). And I honestly dont see how you could not like breakfast, they have EVERYTHING you could ever want! Also, we never had ANY problem booking ala cartes for our large group. We didn't even book them all at once, and even got a reservation two hours before dinner on the first night we were there. However, they do have SET TIMES for each restaurant reservation. Some have 6:30, 8, or 9, some have 6, 7:30 or 8:30, etc. That is just the way they do it!

The resort itself is more beautiful than any picture could ever give justice to. The main lobby bar is fantastic. There is so much detail put into everything and beauty everywhere you look! Yes, it is a huge property, so if you dont like to walk, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to you. But we all enjoyed the walk to the pool/beach each day, as we were located closest to the lobby. However, you can always ask the concierge to call the shuttlebus to get you around the property if you wish.

As for drinks, we found most to be fairly strong, and if you think your drink is too weak, just ask the bartender for more booze, they definitely dont have a problem with it! They make mohito's with fresh mint and lime, and they are fantastic! Another favourite of mine is the coco loco. Neither of these are tooo sweet. Also, just ask for 'top shelf' and you will receive.

There are a LOT of waves at the beach, and somewhat of an undertow current most days, in the two weeks we were there, 13 of 14 days were 'red flag' days, but there were always tons of people in the water anyway, jumping through the waves, including kids (red flag means strong caution, black flag means 'do not swim') On red flag days I just wouldnt recommend letting weak swimmers or kids go in unsupervised, or make sure they only go in waist deep. However, the white sand on the beach is very soft and beautiful, and there are plenty of loungers in sun or shade (although the shady palpas get taken earlier). The pool is beautiful, swim up bar is a lot of fun, but we spent the majority of our time at the beach.

We also loved the spa area, and the 'hot tub pools' there, for only Maya and Grand guests, and are definitely worth checking out...especially if you have a rainy afternoon (in the shopping center at the hotel). The gof course beside the shopping center is also terriffic...and hard!

The service was for the most part fantastic!!! The concierge in each building was amazing, and would do almost anything for you. We had no complaints about the maid service, although sometimes we got 4 bottles of water, sometimes 6, and sometimes got extra towels, sometimes did not (not based on tips because we tipped the same every day, and others in our group who tipped the same said the same thing). But the room was always clean, and if you need more water, or need anything at all just ask the concierge and they will make sure it gets delivered. Our first night there, our tv wouldnt turn on, for some reason (breaker, possibly?) we let the concierge know, and we went out for dinner, and came back 2 hours later to find a working television.
We also took a couple tours to xel-ha and coba ruins, both were a lot of fun. And we ate at ALUX restaurant, (pronounced ay-loosh) which I highly recommend you research before going because it was an AMAZING experience. (It is in a natural cave, and is so beautiful!), but is in a different area of playa, so you would need to take a cab, to ensure you dont get lost. Again, we let our concierge know we wanted to go, and he made a reservation there for us, and arranged for our transportation in a 10 person van there and back.

I am happy to answer any questions you may have. I could have probably wrote an entire book about this resort, but had to narrow it down, so please feel free to ask away!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank canadiangirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duxbury,ma
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2009

We stayed at the Iberostar during Feb break along with many other people. The hotel was immaculate, the staff fairly helpful, the food in one word terrible (we are food people). The teenagers enjoyed the Maya for all that it has to offer, games, pools, shows and nightlife. The beach was crowded and you had to get up at the crack of dawn to get a chair or place in the shade. The drinks were below average,everything was tasteless but if you asked they would give you the top shelf. We went on one of the various excursions to Cozumal snorkling and the overall trip was well run. We experienced a powerful storm and rough seas on the ferry going home. Beware of renting a car because our friends were pulled over for speeding with young children in the car and they were given a choice of either paying the amount to the officer or going to the jail. There was no ticket given and all their money was taken about 170.00 us dollars. Overall if you don't care about eating good food and don't mind the crowds of people around the pool and beaches this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaty00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Paraiso
29.3 km away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#22 of 175 in Cancun
21,226 reviews
15.5 km away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,924 reviews
0.5 km away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,770 reviews
0.1 km away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,929 reviews
10.6 km away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Paraiso Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Paraiso Maya

Property: Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Address: Carretera Chetumal - P. Juarez Km 309, Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Paraiso
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#4 Green Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Paraiso
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Paraiso
Price range (per night): $342 - $1,291
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Paraiso Maya 4*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beautiful beach of Playa Paraiso (Mexico). All junior suites with Jacuzzi, DVD player, upgraded amenities. Exclusive dining plus dine around privileges at over 16 restaurants, 17 full service bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Iberostar Paraiso Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Hotel Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Playa Paraiso
Iberostar Riviera Maya
Iberostar Hotel Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Maya
Iberostar Grand Paraiso
Iberostar Paraiso Maya Playa Paraiso, Mexico - Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing