We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,011)
Filter reviews
7,011 results
Traveller rating
3,086
2,701
784
266
174
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,086
2,701
784
266
174
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivilege roommain baranimation teamprivileged sectioncentral barprivileged guestsrodeo steak housela romanaconcierge officebeautiful beachdominican republicitalian restaurantenglish speakerssanto domingolanguage barrierother resortshoneymoon suite
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 7,011 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2018

We are a family of 6 & had 2 rooms from June 17 to June 27 2018. Everything went well upon arrival with early check in and so forth. On the third day our A/C in one room, was not properly cooling the room. I contacted Concierge Darotry who introduced me to Guest Service Manager Reyna Rodriguez who had them move us to another room & compensated all 6 of us with a special dinner.
The resort is beautiful, well kept & clean with very pleasant workers. Food was very good, well prepared and served, Specialty Restaurants were easy to enter provided you went early and going as a Privileged Guest was an advantage. It is definitely a resort I would return to.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BillMary507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Director General at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Dear Mary,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our hotel. I am glad to read that; despite the inconveniences, you had a pleasant stay. We appreciate your kind words regarding our service and clean surroundings, our staff works really hard and goes out their way to make you feel like all your needs are met. We really appreciate the opportunity you gave us to serve you and it is our hope to host you again soon.

Best regards,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

As far as the room comfort goes I strongly suggest the upgrade to Privilege because the standard rooms are a total disappointment. The food is average nothing more than you would expect from a buffet including the Alla Carte restaurants. The bars had barely any brand drinks (even with the upgrade). This in comparison with Punta Cana resorts or Mexico - Rivera Maya. Suggestions to the owners: 1) In a resort dominated by Italians, French, Dutch, Americans you need to upgrade your standard rooms or shut them down all together. 2) Add at least 8-10 brand drinks to your bar's for all of your guests. 3) Spend a little more on food options. If you change these people would want to come back again and again. The reason I am giving you 4 stars is simply the entertainment, specifically the Animacion Excellente team (Sileni (aka Disiplina, aka Great person, aka Excellente..Animacion excellente), Santos, Jesse, Reynaldo, Massimo and all of the rest of the team. You guys are great! Professionals, talented, tireless, always smiling, friendly, helpful and funny..."Oh my Gada" (#Jesse bandido...lol). Anyway, I can write about these guys nonstop simply because they made our stay wonderful. Without them Catalonia would just be a place where you can eat, drink, swim in the sea...get bored...You guys are the spirit and the best that Catalonia has to offer.

Room Tip: Go with the Privilege and you'll be fine.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank platoon30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Director General at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Dear guest,

My warmest thanks for your fantastic and kind comment, we're very grateful to hear that you had a pleasant and gratifying experience with us before. Thank you very much for recommending us!

We really appreciated your compliments to our awesome staff. Be assured that your presence at our resort has left a warm impression on our staff, and they are motivated by your excellent comment.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

The whole experience was a great Pleasure. Christelle at the front desk was amazing! We were offered an upgrade in their exclusive suites and we had a great stay. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. The facilities are very well maintained and the beaches are great.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Director General at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear George,

We are very grateful to hear that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed the services and facilities. Thank you again for the comments; we certainly look forward to your returning trip in the near future.

Best regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Lovely place, beautiful beaches, friendly people. Unfortunately people hardly speak English. Don’t think I would pay extra money for Privilege rooms... Steak House restaurant was just amazing but Dominican style restaurant was just poor...

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your observations. We will share your comments with the involved department. This is your home and we hope to welcome you back anytime soon.

Best regards.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

the hotel are old, rooms and the location at all. However, you pay what you receive. the service are good, the food is excellent taste. the beach is one of the best in DR. perfect location for a quick vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank richardelpapadeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your observations. We will share your comments with the involved department. This is your home and we hope to welcome you back anytime soon.

Best regards.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews