We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 302
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 199
USD 186
BestDay.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Alkquimia Hotel(Bayahibe)
USD 90
USD 85
Booking.com
View Deal
USD 129
Booking.com
View Deal
Cabana Elke(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
USD 106
USD 77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayahibe Guesthouse(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
USD 41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Villa Luna(Bayahibe)
USD 50
Travelocity
View Deal
USD 177
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cabana Paolina(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (6,924)
Filter reviews
6,924 results
Traveller rating
3,038
2,676
776
263
171
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,038
2,676
776
263
171
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivilege roommain baranimation teamprivileged sectioncentral barprivileged guestsrodeo steak housela romanabeautiful beachconcierge officedominican republicyucaitalian restaurantenglish speakerssanto domingoother resortshoneymoon suite
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 6,924 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Having been here several times before, I know enough to upgrade to a Privileged room when booking. Great service from front desk as our flight arrived in Punta Cana at 5:00 am and we were at the hotel by 6:30 am. They were nice enough to let us check-in early, even though one couple had to return in the afternoon for their privileged room. I love the beach here, even though some of the sand has eroded. The waters are extremely clear, the sand soft and a wonderful combination of shallow and deep water access. Having walked up/down the beach many times over my stays, I prefer this hotel's beach over that of the neighboring hotels. The wifi service has vastly improved from our last stays. What was new this trip was the new Royal Catalonia next door, whose guests somehow seemed to prefer the beach that supposedly is reserved for privilege room guests at Gran Domincus. With the building of the new property, there are MANY more beach chairs which makes for a very crowded beach. I also did not understand the section on the beach reserved for owners??? Food was a little better than okay. Kudos to the pleasant young lady who makes the crepes in the morning (and who arrives to hordes of folks waiting for their crepes), and the pizza maker at the Italian restaurant. The only real negatives were the super-slow service at the buffet (for clean tables, coffee refills) and a hot tub that was lukewarm at best. Love the smiles I saw on nearly every staff person I encountered. Sure, the clientele is mostly Europeans and English is not always understood but I don't find that a problem given this resort's many other strengths.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your comments with the involved department. Thanks for your observations. This is your home and we hope to welcome you back anytime soon.

Best regards.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We are currently 4 days into a 2 week holiday.
Thank you TUI for ruining my 50th wedding Anniversary, we chose the Dominion Republic as we had not been here before. We decided on Catalonia Gran Dominicus, as on the travel website it looked just the perfect place to be. HOW WRONG WE WERE. The hotel has 3 sections (which we were not informed about), Exclusive, Privileged and we must be Slum Section! the rooms are out dated and had several things that were not working, we had booked 6 double rooms all with no power in the showers all just a little trickle some had no hairdryer, in the room they allocated for us as well as the shower the toilet seat was broken the air con didn’t work and a shelf fell down in the bathroom, after complaining to the rep they gave us another room that had no plug in the basin and the handle on the toilet door was broken, the tiles in the bathroom when a little wet are very slippery, this hotel is supposed to be disabled friendly NO IT Isn’t, we were so disgusted with all we asked the rep to move us to a different hotel ( we are still waiting to hear about that as it was the Easter break). This should have been a so special holiday that will never be repeated, but instead it’s hell on earth
So again thank you TUI

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank 67spacemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We strive to deliver a great service to our guests and this do not represent our standards in any way for that reason we have sent your comments with the involved departments to prevent this situation in the future. Thanks for your observations. This is your home and we hope to welcome you back anytime to enjoy the improvements.

Best regards.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

we stayed at the Catalonia Royal La Romana but had access to this resort which was attached next door. The food was horrible & service was slow. we thought being from the privileged club we would get extra treatment. We went to the buffet & the tables in this area were dirty, they attempted to clean it off but the food was all over the seats & table matts were dirty. Not where I would want to eat. Ate at the steak place with another couple we met. the service was horrible & one of us never even received our meal. This is Un-expectable the staff was rude & ignored us when we sat down. it took over an hour to get the food which was then cold. The bar needs help as we tried to order drinks & never were waited on. The bathrooms were dirty, this place is Run down. I would NOT recommend staying here. Pay the extra money if you are not bringing kids & stay at the Catalonia Royal next door.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank sunnyocono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We strive to deliver a great service to our guests and this do not represent our standards in any way for that reason we have sent your comments with the involved departments to prevent this situation in the future. Thanks for your observations. This is your home and we hope to welcome you back anytime to enjoy the improvements.

Kind regards.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

HORRIBLE AND DISGUSTING ROOMS, horrible management, food not too bad, very nice beach but only on the privilege side. Basically you have to pay more to be at what a standard should be at any other AI resort in a Caribbean

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
8  Thank Maksim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We strive to deliver a great service to our guests and this do not represent our standards in any way for that reason we have sent your comments with the involved department to prevent this situation in the future. Thanks for your observations. This is your home and we hope to welcome you back anytime to enjoy the improvements.

Best regards.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

The resort is like heaven - gardens , rooms , everything is very well maintained, clean and nice. Staff is just fenomenal, super friendly and caring plus everyone looks relaxed and ok with their job. Definitely a place to call home and a place to come back again and again. Also price - quality is really good so definitely recommend the property

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank eema2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Director General at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful words, it was great to bring you the best service possible.

We are very glad that we met your expectations and you left with the feeling of satisfaction and happiness, that's our main goal! We would love to see have you back very soon, you are Catalonia family!

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews