We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,900)
Filter reviews
9,900 results
Traveller rating
6,899
2,258
483
163
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,899
2,258
483
163
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendslighthouse bardressel diversla geishacolonial restaurantlobby bardominican republicmissing tilesla romanalight housespecialty restaurantslobsterfront rowmain buffetgourmet restaurantpaellatenderloin
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 9,900 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

2 weeks in July - hot & humid but plenty of shade available around the large pool and on the adjacent private beach.
Staff were invariably friendly and efficient, the hotel was clean and there was a daily programme of pool cleaning. The range of catering in the main restaurant provided an enormous choice at every meal, no matter what your preferences.
There was one disappointment: On arrival there was no bed in our room for our 13 year old son, and it took about 3 hours before provision was made, by which time we had been up for 20 hours and were desperate to sleep!
The only place available to sit and relax with aircon was the bedroom. If there had been just one bar with a cool area, it would have made our stay more enjoyable.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Sylvia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager Online at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for highlighting to future travelers a short description of your experience, which include the things you enjoyed the most such as our pool, beach cleaning and also our incredible staff who are always very friendly with our visitors.

On the other hand, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay, and we inform you that there is a private area called star prestige which has a bar inside with air conditioner for those like you who want a cool area, this is a with an extra charge, any ways we promise to review and analyze your comments in order to improve. We have also forwarded your comments regarding your Check in experience to the Front Desk Manager for immediate review.

Warmest Regards,

Quality Manager Online
Iberostar Dominican Republic


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

The Good…
Grounds are well maintained, variety of food was very good, pool and beach were very nice, bars were good and it’s only about 40 minutes from the airport.

The Disappointment…
We stayed here for our daughter and son-in-law’s anniversary. We are a party of 11. We had reservations for the Japanese restaurant for their anniversary and were turned away because the hotel had the reservation wrong...for a party of 3 and not 11. There was no ownership of the mistake, there were some half-hearted apologies but no one was in a hurry to make things right. Meanwhile 11 of us stood around for more than 40 minutes waiting. At one point we were even told we could go eat in the buffet – which defeated the purpose of making a reservation for a special night AND their anniversary was the reason we went to this resort in the first place. We were finally accommodated (as if they were doing us a favor) at the steak house which was 3/4 empty. It took more than an hour for that to happen.

We were also told by the manager that the remainder of our reservations, all of which were wrong would be corrected and to stop by the reservation desk at 11 the next day. Big surprise when we went there, no one had ANY IDEA as to what we were talking about and none of the reservations were corrected. Dinner reservations are not equivalent to brain surgery that is unless you try and make them here. It was unfortunate that a special evening was ruined by incompetence. (Side note - the rest of the reservations were eventually corrected late the following day after many trips to the front desk - but we were never able to eat in the Japanese restaurant).

The Creep Factor…
We had two young girls in our party (age 19) staying in their own room. At 8AM on the day of check-out they heard a knock on the door and were told to vacate their room immediately – it should be noted that check out was noon. The guy telling them to vacate (dressed in an Iberostar uniform) hung outside their room and waited for them to go. (They gathered their belongings and went to their parent’s room as they didn’t know what else to do).

Obviously with a noon check out, the parents suspected something was not right, went to the front desk to report it and then eventually returned to the girl’s room. It was evident that something was amiss – all of the beer in the fridge was consumed and the room had been trashed.

Several of us also attempted to report this to the front desk; we asked to speak to a manger but were told they were in meetings. No one really seemed to care that this happened, or that the girls and their parents were upset. We were literally told that “no one at the hotel would do that so it could not have happened”. REALLY? If he didn’t work for the hotel, how did he know when we were checking out and how did he get back in their room after he told them to leave? (These points were completely lost on the staff).

We suspected that because the girls were young there was no interest helping us, there was no offer of accommodation financial or otherwise nor was there an apology. We are also sure it was because had to leave that morning so we would eventually be out of their hair.

We have stayed at a number of Iberostar’s and this by far is the worst in terms of customer service, problem ownership and buck passing. We won’t be back.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
11  Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager Online at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus as destination for your holidays and for sharing with us your joys and disappointments while staying with us.

We would like to say sorry for anything that went wrong during your time with us mainly for the situation presented with the restaurant reservation, as explained here this was a misunderstanding and our staff did their best to fix it and compensate the bad time.

Regarding your report about the person who got in the room on the check-out day, this is the first time that we hear something similar and we inform you that after your departure we went to the room and everything was there, we mean no one drank anything from the mini bar as you claimed but any ways we will be pending of this matter.

Please note that in case you decide to give us another try we will be happy to welcome you again.

Warmest Regards,

Quality Manager Online
Iberostar Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

This was our second time in this hôtel. Everything was great .... nice service, excellent restaurants, nice beach and infrastructure, great animation team, diving club in the hôtel...wonderful holidays, we will be back...

Never forget captain America !!!

Small advice for the rooms : that would be great to add mosquito net door for the room terrace... so could sleep with fresh air instead of the airconditionning which is really bad for respiratory route (I m a diver and dont want a cold during my holidays)

Happy, Happy....David

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager Online at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear Guest,

We are so grateful that you took the time to write about your second experience at our resort. Thank you for choosing us again.

We greatly appreciate your compliments towards our staff, restaurants, beach, animation and more. Your praises are very well received.

Once again, thank you for sharing such a lovely review and we look forward to hosting you again soon for what is sure to be another spectacular holiday.

With warm regards,

Quality Manager Online
Iberostar Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

As an all around resort we thought this was great. On Caribbean sea side of island so no pesky seaweed unlike the Atlantic coast. Room was superb and resort was well laid out. Being picky, didn't think food was up to the best Iberostar 5* standards but we always managed to find something to eat. The Colonial restaurant was good though but if you have kids it is available on Mondays and Thursdays only so book it.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank intrepid-almost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager Online at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen Iberostar Costa Dorada for your vacation, and for taking the time to share your comments about it.

Even if you consider that our gastronomy is not 5 stars it’s good to read that you managed to find something every time and felt really good with room and beach.

We are looking forward to welcome you back and make every effort to exceed your expectations in every single aspect next time you come.

Warmest Regards,

Quality Manager Online
Iberostar Dominican Republic


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Firslty I would like to say we have travelled quite extensively to the DR and Cuba and have just arrived home after a two week stay, at this near perfect hotel.
Our first impressions of the hotel were wow, it was everything everybody has descibed, like a jungle paradise, the gardens were immaculate with flamingos, turkeys and all kinds of birds walking around and mixing with humans, the gardeners obviously do a great job.
Rooms
We travelled with our son and his girlfriend and they got a refurbished room, ours wasn't, even though we were two doors away this woulddn't have mattered too much, had some things not been working, the air-con didn't work the room lock broke twice, the safe broke twice and we got locked out of our bathroom. When this happened i had to request a room change, which in all fairness was handled really well by Roberto on the front desk. Our second room in a different block had been refurbished and it was excellent.
Pool
There's a lovely huge pool with different sections always being meticously cleaned all day by the cleaners, at the centre of the pool is the swim up bar expertly manned by Randy who did a super job, ably assisted by Fernando who was always laughing, smiling, singing and dancing. Fernando and a couple of others walk around the pool collecting drink orders from people, these guys do a great job with smile on their faces. We had no problem getting a sunbed around the pool.
Beach
The beach is absolutely stunning, no seaweed issues on this side of the island, it was a little wavy at times which apparently is unusual, but nothing to bother you and the crystal clear water goes out for ages before its gets deep, at the heart of the beach is the lighthouse bar run by Yan, he is a true star serving drinks fast and efficiently, again always smiling and laughing, he has Miguel helping him and hes another young man who does a great job, dancing along to the tunes and serving everyone with a smile. sunbeds were sometimes an issue on the beach so we often settled for some at the back which were fine and not far from the sea or bar !!
Food,
Food can be a subjective affair, but i think the food in this hotel is some of the best weve encountered, the buffet was great loads of choice and selection and always good quality. We stayed in the section with Alberto and Yane, who looked after us for two weeks always with a smile and a laugh. at lunchtime we were served in the beach buffet by Edwin and Genni who we also had a great laugh with.
A la Cartes,
We used the steakhouse and the Japenese twice and the Gourmet once all were excellent with good service, we didnt use the Mexican.
Animation and staff,
This is were the hotel really excels the staff are amazing everyone has the time to say Hola and whilst sometimes there is a bit of an English language barrier, we often comuncated well, particularly with Tsnuamai, Chocolate, Big Papi, Julian ( who came and sat and talked with us in the lobby bar one night ) Vanessa my Spanish teacher, Halanna ( who sat with us at the beach snack bar ) DJ Sammy and of course Mamajuana. I've mentioned the staff who we dealt with and whose name I caught, there were many others who always had time for a smile and a cheery Hola, they all deserve a mention too.
It would appear not many people from the UK come here, so if you are from the UK and reading this just go and enjoy it you wont be diasappointed.
Like i said at the top this hotel is near perfect, what would make it truly perfect for us would be the addition of maybe an indoor cocktail or piano bar for regular guests which is air conditioned, just somewhere to escape the heat and humidity, would i come back, in a heartbeat, ive been home for three days and miss the place and the friendly staff, hope to see you all soon. Love from England

Room Tip: Try to get a refurbished room, i guess in time they'll all be refurbished.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank Gytone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager Online at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations.

We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the food, pool, restaurants, beach and more, we love to create great memories to those who visit us.

Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and please note that those you mentioned are very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Quality Manager Online
Iberostar Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews