We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream vacaton in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Whitby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A dream vacaton in paradise”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

It was our second visit to Playa Bayahibe.First at Catalonia and now at Iberostar.We knew that the beach is one of the best in Dominican,but the resort made it to be our best vacation ever.The people there are so friendly and do their best to entretain their guests.The food is great lots of seafood, salads and great fruits.Bars are all over the resort and never a line up for more than a few minutes.If you dont like the domestic brands then the international ones are for free and the coctails made from fresh juices and mint leafs for Mohito.The resort is like a big spanish mansion with great ladscaing,lots of exotic birds.The beds are very confortable and clean.The entertainment is good and after that the show the dancers ivitie you to the theathre stage to dance with them.The disco is very good to and had music videos.I hope that my review will help many travelers to get there and have the same great time that we had.Love to return in the future.

Room Tip: Any building and any room is great,they are all centerly located but you can ask for a pool vew room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank casanova154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear guest casanova154,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo and his team, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus as your destination for you holiday vacations and for taking the time to write a note on your experience with us.
We are very pleased to read that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel premises and facilities. In Iberostar part of our guiding principles are to provide the best service, to upkeep our grounds, be in the best beaches and to serve a unique gastronomy. We are glad to hear your positive valuation about our work.
We kindly invite you to contact us before your next visit; we welcome you with a great joy.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,219
    2,030
    438
    147
    81
See reviews for
3,267
3,783
131
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We travelled to this resort in late March. We were very very pleased at the beauty of the resort grounds, very green and lush and well maintained. It felt like it was quite a large resort, but after the first day we didn't mind a little walking to get from the beach to the buffet, for example. The room was nice and the housekeeping did a wonderful job each day getting it clean, and always leaving us "art" towels and flowers. The 3 a la cartes that we chose (steakhouse, japenese, and colonial) were all excellent. The colonial restaraunt offered grilled lobster at no extra charge. Delicious! I did feel, however, that the main buffet at dinner was not that great, pretty much the same every night. Food at the buffet was good but not really good. At lunch there was a buffet by the pool and beach (became steakhouse at night) which was really convinient and nice.
It stated that you could not "reserve" chairs on the beach or by the pool in the morning. People did anyways, and if you didn't get to the beach by 7am you could forget about getting a shady spot. Always lots of chairs by the pool, shade or sun.
All in all, we had a very nice holiday at this resort. Staff was friendly. Beach and water were beautiful. We came across no major problems. We would go back.
Oh ya, no clocks in the room so bring your own!

Room Tip: Block one is right by the entertainment area, which could be loud. We had a nice garden view room, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Mrs. Amy,
First at all, thank you for electing Iberostar Hotels and Resorts to spend your holiday vacations, and for posting a review about your experience among us.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo and his team, we want to express how pleased we are to read that you had enjoyed an excellent holiday in our hotel Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus. We are very glad to hear that you appreciated the beauty of our premises and facilities, the well stocked bars, the exquisite gastronomy and the best service provided by our staff members.
We hope to welcome you again next year, please contact us to help you enjoy your next visit.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed at the resort during the April spring break and of course, it was crowded with the same "towel game" I have seen at all other resorts, be it Mexico, DR, Jamaica during this very popular week. Other than that, we had an excellent stay and I will highlight a few details here:
1. Buildings 3, 4, and 7 are closest to the pool and beach, we were lucky to stay in 7, but on the side that faced the gardens, meaning, we were close to the beach and pool, yet it was very quiet. The room is nicely sized, not huge, but adequate, with a large bathroom and a shower. There is no bathtub, though. It was cleaned spotless every day before we came back from the beach around lunch time.
2. Food at the buffet was very good. Don't expect lobsters overload, however, there is an excellent variety. Breakfast is eggs cooked to order with various fillings, donuts, muffins, pastries, cheeses, fruits, smoothies, pacakes, waffles, yogurts, I mean, it's impossible not to find something to eat. Lunch had a few kinds of meat and fish, very good roasted chicken, homemade mashed potatoes, vegetables to create your own salad with tons of dressings, pastas made to order, pizzas, etc. Dinner had more choices-seafood paella, duck l'orange, international themes such as Chinese, Italian, etc, seafood platters, etc. The best testament to the quality and variety of the food are my two kids who usually would stick to pasta and pizza at all inclusives-here, they are like crazy, trying various things, I was shocked! The specialty restaurants we went to were the steakhouse, Colonial and Japanese. The steakhouse was OK, nothing to rave about, the Colonial was very elegant, great food and service, and the Japanese was fantastic-while the sushi appetizer was nothing to rave about, the hibachi portion of the dinner was fantastic and the chef was very friendly.
3. The beach is gorgeous, with calm, shallow water, almost no waves. There are varius activities at the beach such as archery, contests, water aerobics, but it's not like you will be bothered by the noise from it if you just like to relax. The pool is very large with its own swim-up bar, and there is a shallow portion for little kids and deeper portion for jumping.
4. We have not seen too much nightly entertainment because it seemed that the shows were somewhat repetitive from what we have seen in other Iberostar resorts, most of them involve several dance numbers which are not very interesting to the kids. But, Michael Jackson show was great.
5. The staff at the resort is very friendly, and make sure you have good time. Just smile, say, "hola" and you should be fine. I was very impressed by the cleanliness of the facilities, we have stayed once at a resort in Punta Cana where the flies were all over the buffet food-not the case here, I have not seen a single fly, which means they are taking care of the facilities and making sure the guests are comfortable.
I definitely will bring my family back to this resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank babysladkaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear guest babysladkaya,
Thank you for having chosen Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus as the destination for your vacations, also for taking the time to post a review about your stay among us. In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, and his team, I would like to express how thankful we are to read that you were very pleased with your experience in our hotel premises.
We are very happy to read you enjoyed the exquisite quality of food served in our nightly themed buffet and four specialty restaurants. The Colonial Restaurant is the most favorite of our guests, thanks for highlighting its excellent gastronomy and excellent service. The kindness of our staff is one of our principles in Iberostar and one of our strengths. We work hard to remain so.
We are already waiting for your next visit, please contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The trip was fantastic. Great food. Not too crowded. The drinks were perfect. Scuba diving crew were very professional and felt totally safe.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phlash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guest phlash1,
In the name of Mr. Amando Pozo, Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Hotel Manager, we thank you for your positive comments about your experience at our hotel premises and facilities. Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your holidays. We are pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay. That is our goal in Iberostar.
We are looking forward to welcome you back, please contact us before your next visit,
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I just spent nine days here with my wife and teenage son and daughter. It was a wonderful vacation. This was the first time we went to an all-inclusive resort and the freedom it gave us, especially my kids, to just eat when they wanted to (and what they wanted to) was really liberating for all of us. The specialty restaurants are good, not great (I thought the Mexican restaurant was the best-- highly recommend the tacos al pastor) but the buffet offers plentiful, fresh and healthy food choices. They even had gluten free bread for my wife. I personally didn't experience the "towel wars" mentioned in other reviews, though my wife witnessed a towel- and shoe-throwing, sand-kicking screaming match while my son and I were diving. It seemed to me we could always find unreserved chairs on the beach or by the pool when we wanted them. There are enough activities to keep fidgety kids busy while you get plenty of pool or beach time. I also highly recommend the dive shop.

Room Tip: Stay away from Building 1-- too close to the theater, which can be loud in the evenings. We had gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guest Matt052,
In the name of Mr. Amando Pozo, Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Hotel Manager, and his team, we would like to thank you for your comments about your experience at our hotel and for choosing us for your family vacation.
We would like to express how satisfied we are to acknowledge that you had experienced especially thanks to the beauty of our hotel beach, the variety of our gastronomy and the amount of activities proposed by our Star Friends. Those are very important aspects for us in Iberostar and the key of our success.
We kindly invite you to contact us before your next visit,
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
15.8 km away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
4.1 km away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
0.3 km away
Catalonia Gran Dominicus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
56.6 km away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
57.1 km away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus

Property: Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
Address: Playa Bayahibe, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Family Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
Price range (per night): $196 - $585
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on a fantastically beautiful, fine sandy beach. Around 5 km from the finish village of Bayahibe. Top 5-star luxury. Tropical gardens. Varied gastronomy. Water sports galore. Spa & Health Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotelopia, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Hotel Bayahibe
Iberostar Hotel Bayahibe
Iberostar Hotel Hacienda Dominicus
Iberostar La Romana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing