We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (465)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveller rating
261
122
44
20
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
122
44
20
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brittany ferries huge windows picos de europa restaurant menu enjoyed our visit rooms are big fabulous hotel local cuisine picos mountains excellent breakfast free parking hill town euros spain santander
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 465 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2016

A lovely hotel, beautiful rooms, wonderful views of the town and mountains, good food, but only one person on duty in the afternoon and evening, doing the reception on floor one, the bar on the floor below, and the restaurant another floor down! Hence on the last evening the lovely man was helping a young couple who were having their wedding reception the next day plus booking in a large number of guests, so we had to wait 25 minutes for a drink at the bar, having rung the bell three times, then wait a long time again for the same man to arrive to serve the meals! How he could remain so friendly and happy working under those conditions and on three floors, I do not know! Such a shame as it is a lovely hotel. The staff deserve a better manager!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lulubellcornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Very friendly and helpful staff especially Xavier who seemed to pop up everywhere.
The regular priced rooms are on the top floor and although very spacious the window is small and high in the room and therefore its not a room to spend much time in.
Although most rooms were occupied during our stay the public areas were deserted giving the feeling of an empty hotel.

Room tip: Pay extra for one of the rooms on a lower floor which have huge windows
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayDub397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Although this hotel is away from the town, a short walk will take you to the town and all it has to offer. We found the the hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Our room and en-suite were large, modern, clean and well kept. The breakfast was continental as you would expect but we were asked if we would like something cooked. The views from the hotel, indeed our room were stunning. To open your bedroom window first thing in the morning to a mountain view was awesome. We enjoyed our stay and would use this hotel again

Room tip: Cangas de Onis is a great starting point to tour the countryside of the region.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sral68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Good rooms, lovely views but, for a 4-star rated hotel, a baffling & irritating lack of staff.

When discovered, the staff were helpful & pleasant but it is a bad reflection on the hotel that we had to go looking for them e.g. in reception & the bar.
They have a wonderfully positioned terrace which has planters full of weeds &, for the 2 days we stayed, an area near the entrance door covered in cigarette ash & bits of paper remained uncleared, a further indication of staff shortage.

The restaurant was good, again with beautiful views, & we enjoyed 1 dinner there. Breakfast was basic. The second night we ate in the very attractive town centre (where there is a large choice of bars & restaurants), about 20 minutes walk downhill. We recommend returning by taxi !! (4 euros).

In summary, a disappointing 2-day stay & while we might return to Cangas de Onis, we will not stay at La Cepeda again.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank amo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Situated on the hillside overlooking Cangas de Onis, first impression was stunning: lovely views over town and surroundings. Staff were impressively friendly and helpful at all times. Room (on top floor) was large, spacious, clean and well-appointed, with plenty of wardrobe storage, and a thoughtfully-equipped bathroom (two hand basins!).
Dining room was semi-circular with panoramic views from tables. Food was excellent: a full locally-focused menu with a six-course tasting menu changing daily, showing off the local specialities. A festival dinner to mark the town's annual festival was superb quality. Breakfast on the terrace was a delight!
Town itself very pleasant (annual festival took place during our stay). Lives up to its claim to be "gateway to the Picos" with good access by road, and lots of tourist facilities. Only negative concerning the town was that the tourist information centre had little information, and was generally unhelpful. Hotel staff gave much better information!

Room tip: All rooms face out over the town. Lower rooms have larger windows.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teifion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews