We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our unforgetable country holiday in the majestic...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Eymet, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
betty d
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
“Our unforgetable country holiday in the majestic Dordogne at lovely Lauzanac”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We spent April and May watching spring morph into summer at Lauzanac. As "city folk" we loved the country atmosphere and our many unique experiences: the birthing of calves and their move to pasture, the shearing of sheep, and the harvesting of crops. We laughed at Isabelle's farm pets who would greet us from their position at the fence as we drove up the lane. Our hosts, Isabelle and Thierry are wonderful kind people who are genuinely concerned about making their guests happy and comfortable. They were attentive yet allowed us our privacy. The Gîte is spacious and comfortable and for the most part well appointed. (We had 2 sets of sheets and towels for each bedroom and some were beginning to show their wear. As well ,the kitchen could have used some trays for transporting food to the patio and platters for entertaining, which I am sure Isabelle would have obtained for us if I had mentioned it at the time). The large bedrooms, each with its own ensuite, are fantastic and afforded our visiting guests and family members their privacy. The parking is convenient and the private outdoor pool, ping pong table, and patio make it the perfect place to relax. The entire area is seeped in beauty and history and Lauzanac is perfectly located for discovering the Dordogne. We found it to be an ideal location for hiking and cycling as well as taking numerous side-trips. Eymet, three kilometers away, is a charming bastide village with all amenities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sitting by the fire on the cooler nights/ the donkey braying/walking through Cogulot into Eymet for a café au lait and pastery
Liked least: kitchen could have been a little better stocked ie there were no trays to carry items back and forth to the patio, a few more bowls
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2015
Betty, Greg, thank you very much for such a kind an honest review. It's very important for us and we know now the positive and less positive points of our house. This is very important and very helpful.
You were perfect guests as well. Thank you very much for your visit to Lauzanac.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mick232
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Hosts Perfect Location Perfect Holiday”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just returned from a Wonderful relaxing holiday at Isabelle and Thierry's Gite in Lauzanac. Our hosts are warm and friendly couple who go out of their way to make sure you have a good holiday nothing is too much trouble. We were greeted warmly on arrival by Thierry and son Adam (who speaks a little English) and later by Isabelle who is very fluent in English she proved to be a great asset , informing us when needed with places to eat and sites to visit. There was a bottle of wine and fresh flowers in the Gite which is full of French charm with a huge fireplace and a rustic kitchen equipped with everything you need Washer, Cooker, microwave, toaster pans cups etc. We had 3 en-suites and there is a downstairs toilet with a shower toilet and sink outside next to the decent sized Pool. There are games for Children inside and out a swing and plenty of spaces to play hide and seek or kick a ball about. There is outside space for Adults too with a BBQ area and herbs in the garden lots of Rosemary and Sage which we could use Basil and Thyme too. The men enjoyed feeding the animals with leftovers some of them are very funny you just have to Laugh. We were very Lucky with the weather it was hot and sunny most of the time and we walked to the River at the bottom of the road and to a nearby Reservoir, Eymet is a Lovely Bastide Town with some nice places to eat , it is near Bergerac and close by 3 or 4 Chateau's which are a must Chateau Bridoire is full of games for children inside there is a Punch and Judy theatre and a small fort with little tents inside, and lot's of other games but outside is full of games too. even though we are pensioners we had a go too. I can't praise the Gite Isabelle and Thierry highly enough, we were sorry to leave and would love to go back again, with Choupinette ( the family dog) we seem to have made a friend for life. You can also go fishing, rods are provided and we had the use of a Bicycle which Thierry made road worthy. We all felt very lucky to have picked this Gite and would recomend to all our Family and Friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: We Can't fault it
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyWMelbo...
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise where three families met.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This place was recommended to us by a friend that had stayed in the other cottage some years back.
On the basis of that recommendation we booked Le Pigeonnier, which has recently been refurbished.
This was an ideal place for three part of my family to meet up. I flew in from Australia, my parents flew over from England and my sister and her family flew in from Scotland!
Quite simply this place was all we expected it to be and more! The quality and value for money were excellent, there was plenty of space for all guests (useful given we had Grandparents, 'Children' and teenage Grandchildren.
The pool was a sure fire hit coupled with the perfect weather for the week meant they stayed in there until late into the evening.
The hosts were perfect, friendly, accommodating, without being in any way instrusive.
The farm was fabulous and all ages enjoyed feeding the horses, mules, pigs, sheep, rabbits, and of course the star hit, Chopinette the dog!
Thanks to Isabelle and Thierry for making an excellent week possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and views of countryside.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davetheno...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had simply the BEST holiday here at Lauzanac. We stayed for almost two months and we felt at home from the moment we arrived and were welcomed by Isabelle and Thierry. Ideally situated just outside Eymet, the gite comprises three queen sized bedrooms all of which have generous ensuite bathrooms. A renovated barn, the gite still managed to look traditional but afford all modern conveniences. The kitchen was really well equipped and I loved sitting by the wood fire of a chilly evening with a glass of local red. (Try Domaine D'Eybro - it's really good!). When the weather brightened up, we were able to take advantage of our own private swimming pool or play table tennis. Oh and the big kid in me fell in love with all the animals; the goats, the sheep, the donkeys, horses and cows. Not forgetting all the bunny rabbits! And since it was spring there were plenty of baby animals to cuddle. I would go back in a heartbeat!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angie c
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“The most spacious gite we have found”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had simply the BEST holiday here at Lauzanac. We stayed for almost two months and we felt at home from the moment we arrived and were welcomed by Isabelle and Thierry. Ideally situated just outside Eymet, the gite comprises three queen sized bedrooms all of which have generous ensuite bathrooms. A renovated barn, the gite still managed to look traditional but afford all modern conveniences. The kitchen was really well equipped and I loved sitting by the wood fire of a chilly evening with a glass of local red. (Try Domaine D'Eybro - it's really good!). When the weather brightened up, we were able to take advantage of our own private swimming pool or play table tennis. Oh and the big kid in me fell in love with all the animals; the goats, the sheep, the donkeys, horses and cows. Not forgetting all the bunny rabbits! And since it was spring there were plenty of baby animals to cuddle. I would go back in a heartbeat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing