We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood paella ”
Review of La Farola Del Mar

La Farola Del Mar
Ranked #80 of 311 Restaurants in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

This is a very smart restaurant with beautiful views of the ocean and bay. Specialised in seafood including lobster so can be expensive. We had clams for starter which came in a lovely wine and garlic sauce that was tasty. Clams were fresh and juicy. We had the sea food paella which was simply gorgeous packed with giant shrimp mussels clams and razor shells. Lots of saffron in the sauce. We tried our best to eat it all but it was so rich it defeated us eventually. The waitress was friendly and cared that we liked the food. She even helped my wife to clean her dress after dropping some paella on it. My sister n enjoyed the homemade nuggets and chips as well. Overall a very enjoyable experience and highly recommended!

1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFarolaDelMar, Manager at La Farola Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Hello Mark,

Thank you for this great and detailed opinion about your visit to our restaurant! We are very happy to know you enjoyed our speciality in seafood, both starters and the main course being the chosen paella. We are glad to know you were pleased by the service of our staff and the ambience of the restaurant as well! It was a pleasure to have and serve you, thank you for recommending us, and we hope we will see you again!

Best regards,

Team La Farola del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 186 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2017

This is a very good place to eat. It is always busy and there is usually live music. There are lovely sea views from nearly every table.
Staff are attentive and efficient. Prices aren't cheap but the quality is high.
The menu has a few specialities not found elsewhere nearby such as suckling pig and leg of lamb.
We ate two very enjoyable dinners here, both times inside and out of range of the music. That was personal choice, not a reflection on the standard , which was fine. A small mistake on the bill was deftly handled with an apology and a small discount.
Go and enjoy!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rydeb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFarolaDelMar, Manager at La Farola Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Hello Rydeboy,

Thank you very much for such a great review! We are thrilled to know you were pleased with the experience that you have had at our restaurant! It also makes us happy to know you enjoyed your visit so much that you came once again to enjoy our food and ambience. It was a pleasure to have you, and we hope we will get to see you again the next time you are in the area!

Best regards,

Team La Farola del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

Scallops were nice but over priced, mussels were over cooked, rose wine came in airplane bottle and sangria was undrinkable. Better places around

Thank Irishness_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFarolaDelMar, Manager at La Farola Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Hello Irishness Abroad,

Thank you for taking your time to share your opinion, we appreciate and take into account all of them. We are glad to know you enjoyed the scallops!
As for your mentioned wine - we offer our clients wine of better quality which actually comes in 1/5 bottles. We prefer them instead of the typical glasses of house wine that comes from opened bottles that stay opened during various days and alter all taste quality. Our Sangrias are made of Magno, Bols banana licor, Cointreau, wine Sangre de Toro, Sprite and a fruit Macedonia which is made freshly every day, preparing and cutting the following fruits: strawberries, mango, papaya, apple, pomegranate and plum.

Best regards,

Team La Farola del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

Visited this restaurant with my mother and both of us were pleasantly impressed by everything! We came in the late evening so unfortunately we could not enjoy the sea views which undoubtedly are beautiful during daytime or evening.
For starters we had fish croquettes with fresh bread and sauces - a very nice beginning to an even better main course. We had fish, salmon and sea bass in salt crust, both cooked to perfection and so flavoury. We accompanied our meal with cocktails which deserve to be praised apart - not only were they presented in an amazingly beautiful way, their taste was delicious as well.
The staff are educated and friendly, and treated us kindly making sure we felt comfortable and at ease.
We chose a table where we could talk calmly and still hear their live music arrangements so the guitar string sounds were a very nice musical background of our meal.

Definitely recommending this restaurant for those who search quality food and service in the south of Tenerife. We will definitely come back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dari_tfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFarolaDelMar, Manager at La Farola Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Hello Dariyana,

Thank you for sharing this great review about your experience! We are glad to know you enjoyed everything our restaurant provided to your that day, and we would love to see you again the next time you are in the area!

Kindest regards,

Team La Farola del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

the staff are rude!!!
The food was inedible- the fish was previously frozen- the paella was inedible made with risotto rice- if my parents were not with me I would demand a total refund!!!
Like other reviews shocked still in buisness and it has the audacity to invite reviews from here!!! Apalling

Despite the negative review the views were lovely and enjoyed watching the world go by.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gourmetdiner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFarolaDelMar, Manager at La Farola Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Hello Gourmetdiner,

Thank you for taking your time to share this opinion about your experience! We are glad to know you enjoyed the ambience and beautiful views opening from our restaurant.
We have a great variety of rice dishes, starting from authentic Italian Risotto with boletus mushrooms, Rice with octopus and saffron, mellow rice with vegetables and oyster mushrooms, mellow rice with cod, artichokes and foie, Rice with scallops and Norway lobsters, Rice in broth with lobster, Black rice with scarlet prawns and squids, and then of course our well-loved Paellas - Valencian paella and Seafood paella. As for your commentary about fish - we only work with fresh fish which can be noticed in 99% of the opinions. We are sorry that your perception was different.

We invite all our clients to leave their impressions and opinions about the experience they have had, and it does not matter positive or negative reviews which lead to providing credibility to our establishment.


Best regards,

Team La Farola del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Farola Del Mar also viewed

 
Costa Adeje, Adeje
 

Been to La Farola Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing