We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,129)
Filter reviews
4,129 results
Traveller rating
1,798
1,492
604
147
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,798
1,492
604
147
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar asian restaurant main restaurant entertainment team patio heaters on tap large hotel soft drinks quiet side mattress topper room in the main hotel quiet pool the main block thomson reps evening entertainment plenty of choice reception area
Filter
Updating list...
1,577 - 1,582 of 4,129 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2015

What a nice place this is. Great staff all round. Slightly cool in the evening as the tables are outside, but loads of gas heaters and always getting new containers when required.
Brilliant entertainment on New Years eve. We would certainly go back if we stayed in Puerto del Carmen.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank HarryfromHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2015

We can only think the less than perfect weather made some people grumpy! We had a great time last week (Jan 11/18) with our daughter and grandchildren: all the staff are so friendly and welcoming,and must commend especially Mohamed and Carlos in the restaurant who were so kind to all the small children. The main pool was heated so good even in cloudy weather. Patio heaters in the comfy bar area meant we could sit outside in the evenings. The food is excellent, plenty of choice: hard to believe some couldn't find anything palatable. Our children obviously loved the Disney characters, as did many of the grownups in the restaurant! Snack bars between meals meant we could feed the children at suitable times for them, and again, staff friendly and very helpful. Managers very visible and the staff seem to enjoy working there. The wi fi seems to work outside reception area, by the restaurant. We accompanied the 3 year old to Mini Club and whilst well intentioned it seemed a little disorganised on our visits. When children are painting an apron would be a good idea!! Overall, a great holiday break and we will be back.

Room Tip: This was originally two hotels, now joined by a bridge or a longish walk on the flat. We've stayed in both, and for small children or those with mobility problems would recommend the main building because that is where the main restaurants are. The lifts are also faster in the main building!
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IanandFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2015

We chose this hotel for the price and the location. We were very happy with the hotel in general but were surprised that our room wasn't ready at 3.30pm, although we do understand that guests are allowed to keep their room after the mandatory 11am checkout, so this can create a delay. We were given a room which saw no sun on the balcony but they changed it asap when we asked. We still needed blankets on the bed at night. The room had plenty of hangers and drawer space which was a bonus.
We've been to other Canary Islands (La Palma and Tenerife) in January and this was the coldest out of the three so we were lucky we took warmer clothes for the evenings.
The Staff were great throughout, from the hard working lady who cleaned our room impeccably right down to the management (hope the boss has a sense of humour).
The food was perfect for us with lots of fish and meat along with the ubiquitous salad selection. Desserts were fab also. We ate in the Asian and Mexican restaurants; we preferred the former, nothing against Mexican food, we just preferred the Asian.
The Animation team is the hardest working we have encountered on our many trips, we wondered whether it had anything to do with the average age of the team, older than the norm with a good mix of ages. Bar Staff were very good also, they were patient when I tried to speak Spanish and they didn't laugh when I made a pig's ear of it - gracias.
Puerta del Carmen is only 10-15 minutes away on foot and we enjoyed using the local bus to visit Playa Blanca, Puerto Calero, Arrecife and Costa Teguise.
If we look to revisit Lanzarote we will consider this hotel again.
In truth, our only real negative was the cooler evening weather, which we cannot control.

Room Tip: Some rooms are north or north-east facing so little or no sun on the balcony after 10am (January)
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2015

Cannot believe we were at the same hotel as the previous reviews. Just returned from a 7 day stay. The cleanliness was second to none and the food was excellent but just too much of it. The amount of food these all inclusive serve is obscene when we are trying to reduce waste. We had meals at the other two restaurants on site, the Chinese was excellent and the Mexican good but was more of a meat restaurant than Mexican. We did eat out one night for a change. We were fortunate as our room was not too far from the reception, but would not have been a problem if it was, as we are not elderly and capable of walking but did spill most of our drinks as we were carrying them back!! The room was warm, comfy and spotless and plenty of hot water. Cannot comment on the entertainment as we chose to sit in the comfy bar area, but the room was ways full. The location is good, 15 mins walk into Puerto del Carmen and the other way, a flat and partly pedestrianised walk or cycle to the airport to watch the planes. This is the first time I have ever wrote a review as detailed as this, but felt I had too to support the hotel.will certain recommend and be back.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2015

Just returned from a week at this hotel and after 2 days we would have returned home if we could. The place is like a rabbit warren nothing is convenient you have to walk considerable distances to everywhere. The food is absolutely shocking. its tinned carrots and peas, mushy pasta in thin sauces, everyday its cremated veiny pork and frazzled fried fish that doesnt taste very nice. chicken when they actually put some on is stringy and over done. everything is pre cooked, frozen or out of a tin, sauces are watered down, fruit juices are watered down, cola is more often than not flat. most people at this time of year who visit the hotel are fairly elderly, which is to be expected and most thought the food was very good, but you would if all you were used to in the war was powdered egg and spam. I cant stress enough how poor the food was. The drinks that they actually used were all well hidden behind the bar, there was no problem in ordering them as long as you had an idea of what you wanted and then you went through the same game as to whether they had it or not. Its 20 euros to secure the bat and ball for ping pong and the entertainment on an evening consisted of the animation team dressing up every night in a different costume and miming to similar sort of songs, the old dears loved it but am afraid we did not, One evening they all dressed up as disney characters to greet us at dinner, bearing in mind there was about 10 children out of at least 1500 guests I thought this was ridiculous. The rooms, we were allocated a standard room which was shabby and you could smell sewage from the grates outside, not to mention that when i opened the curtains people could see straight in the room using the walk way. we complained and were given an upgrade to a lovely room which saved the holiday to be fair. there are also two other restaurants within the hotel complex, one features chicken covered in chocolate sauce every night. I would say avoid at all costs,

Room Tip: complain politely if you have a bad room, we got upgraded to a suite.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank alysia1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews