We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not a 4 star hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Ranked #19 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“not a 4 star hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Spent a week here 25march to 1 april. THE POSITIVE POINTS!
Can not fault the staff well most of them some of the bar staff can be a little rude but reception, housekeeping and grounds staff were faultless.Rooms kept very clean with nicely folded towels left on bed swans, flowers etc.We were in the second half of the hotel its ok but quite a walk from the main block with only the snack bar and small bar to hand,both of these are only open from noon until 5 pm. the main block houses the restaurant,bar and snackbar also the entertainment room.Pools are good but you can only get towels from 9am to 12 noon so people just get their towels and grab a sun bed and if you cant beat them you just have to join the. Good location well worth turning left when you come out of the hotel into los pocillso some nice bars and restaurants in that direction.Turn right into puerto del carmen its a 10-15 minute walk or 2-3 euros in a taxi. Try top gun bar cheap and cheerful bingo monday wednesday and friday nights.Avoid cafe la ola food lousy!!!!
ONTO THE NEGATIVE!
Food was lousy poor quality and even worse choice.Its repetetive with the same things every day.The snack bar and main restaurant serve the same things burgers ,burgers and burgers.Salad bar was lacking meat and cheese with just lettuce tomato etc to choose from.The hot foods to speak of are served in small dishes holding 4-5 portions so they are always empty and the staff are never in a rush to top them up they are also in the same location as the so called show cooking so endless queues.The ala carte restaurants are not what i would class as ala carte they are just a buffet extention of the main restaurant. Mexican was edible,. Asian is well worth a visit but passed on the canarian when i saw snails and rabbit on the menu.
The drinks are adequate but yiou will be given cheap tasteless spirits at the bar,there are better quality options but you have to ask for them. Thank goodenss for the self serve beer ,soft drink pumps and coffee machines as if you had to queue for these at the bar you would never get served although they are often empty and again nobody seems to want to fill them up.
Cant comment on the enttertainment as we never watched it the room it was in put us off somewhat it is cinema style with no where to put your drinks and if you wanted to get out you would have to disturb everybody sat around you.
On the whole cant give this hotel 4 star think 3 at best would be more appropriate ,its too big for what facilities it has to offer and just feel they are trying to do too much.
Hope this helps but if your like me you have to try it for yourself and draw your own conclusions.

Room Tip: higher floors get the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,441
    1,190
    480
    119
    71
See reviews for
957
1,829
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (985)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable , Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Been to several different Riu hotels over the last few years, this has to be one of the best for value for the price we paid.
We stayed in the old palace sjde, across the bridge,had a great pool and sea view, If you go make sure to go to the themed menu a la'carte restaurants, the maid service was excellent our room was cleaned every day to a high standard.
The reception staff spoke many languages, were very friendly and helpful, thank you Pilar you should be extremely proud of your staff at the desk.
One deputy manager , Raul Garcia , had only been at the Paraiso for three weeks , he was always talking to guests , assisting in the restaurants and as my wife and my friends wife say evidently very handsome . He is the type of manager that makes a great holiday and I wish him every success in his career with the Riu chain.
The animacion team were always on the go but never too forceful.
Finally the bar staff.....excellent, great fun, thanks guys far too many to name you all but exceptional service from Francisco (Deniz) ,Julio, Torren and Jenny.
Would I return? yes but it would have to be two weeks next time.

Room Tip: I'd love to tell you the great rooms we had but you may be going the next time I do. :))
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I would love to give this hotel more than 3 stars as it has so many plus points which i will begin with:

Great location
Great rooms (albeit the pool view was somewhat misleading but we got over that....)
Staff very friendly - nothing was too much trouble
Exceptionally Clean
Great Entertainment for Children
Pools were good
Parks for children
Great family holiday
Drink not bad and readily available (although the juices were quite poor)

BUT..... and this is a big BUT so if you like your food then PLEASE LISTEN:

This is an All Inclusive Hotel so you are stuck with eating here... and the eating experience is not good. The restuarant (or canteen as we called it) is overcrowded and the food is very very poor. Certainly not worthy of its 4 star rating. It is very repetitive but what is worse, it is poor quality. Obviously bought in bulk and bought cheap. The meat is fatty and tasteless, the salad bar is dry and all tastes the same, the breakfast is poor - the "chefs" could barely fry an egg. Also, there are pool bars which serve food all day. Again, this food is very poor. It tastes cheap and poor quality. Put it this way, I am a huge meat eater and I couldn't stomach the burgers or the hot dogs as they were awful.

So, if food is not a big part of your holiday then go to this hotel in a heartbeat. However, if you enjoy decent food and if you don't like standing in line with your plate then go elsewhere!

Also, there are lots of comments about Germans. There are lots of Germans at this hotel and they can be a little rude. If that bothers you, again, don't go! As I said, I wish I could give it more than 3 stars although it would be misleading as the food really is poor.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying for a pool view - we could barely see it and paid £200!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Spent a week at this hotel with my sister and it was hard to find fault. The hotel is split into two main areas so you have a choice of whether you want to be near the activities or prefer the peace and quiet. Food was excellent with plenty to choose from. Can also book Canarian/Mexican or Asian restaurants which were fab, though still a buffet and need to be booked early on, particularly if you want the late sitting. Room was spotlessly clean, staff were always helpful and friendly. Could do with a comfy bar area to sit if weather a lilttle chilly as main area is open air, though covered. Would definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Old part of the hotel is probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank patsypud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I would love to give this hotel more than 3 stars as it has so many plus points which i will begin with:

Great location
Great rooms (albeit the pool view was somewhat misleading but we got over that....)
Staff very friendly - nothing was too much trouble
Exceptionally Clean
Great Entertainment for Children
Pools were good
Parks for children
Great family holiday
Drink not bad and readily available (although the juices were quite poor)

BUT..... and this is a big BUT so if you like your food then PLEASE LISTEN:

This is an All Inclusive Hotel so you are stuck with eating here... and the eating experience is not good. The restuarant (or canteen as we called it) is overcrowded and the food is very very poor. Certainly not worthy of its 4 star rating. It is very repetitive but what is worse, it is poor quality. Obviously bought in bulk and bought cheap. The meat is fatty and tasteless, the salad bar is dry and all tastes the same, the breakfast is poor - the "chefs" could barely fry an egg. Also, there are pool bars which serve food all day. Again, this food is very poor. It tastes cheap and poor quality. Put it this way, I am a huge meat eater and I couldn't stomach the burgers or the hot dogs as they were awful.

So, if food is not a big part of your holiday then go to this hotel in a heartbeat. However, if you enjoy decent food and if you don't like standing in line with your plate then go elsewhere!

Also, there are lots of comments about Germans. There are lots of Germans at this hotel and they can be a little rude. If that bothers you, again, don't go! As I said, I wish I could give it more than 3 stars although it would be misleading as the food really is poor.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on a pool view - we could barely see it and paid £200!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
1.6 km away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,179 reviews
1.2 km away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,434 reviews
0.8 km away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#10 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#20 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
0.6 km away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#21 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort

Property: ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort
Address: Suiza, 4 | Playa de los Pocillos, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price range (per night): $188 - $425
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 30 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach * Two 2-story main buildings and 1 or 2-story annexes * 2 km from Puerto del Carmen * 400 m from various shops * 8 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Hotel
Riu Paraiso Lanzarote
ClubHotel Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing