We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
24
31
11
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
31
11
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslow tidebumpy rideunpaved roadboat tourthe hustle and bustleguimaras islandnight staymuch needed restglass doormobile phone signal iscommune with naturea bit priceythree nightssunsetportjordanmangroves
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

My family and I went there for a much needed rest and relaxation one weekend last September 2017. The place is quite far - around 1-2hrs. drive from roro port in Jordan. We came from Iloilo so we are able to drive our way to the resort. Good thing that our vehicles are built for offroads because really the road approaching the resort around 1-2kms. is still unpaved (DPWH is still in the process of paving the road), the way was muddy (it rained several days before that day we went to the resort and we were lucky the weather was so sunny when we went there). When we got there, you could immediately see the resort is as exclusive as it is and quite off the grid. We had no cell network signals at all. The receptionist was very gracious and had a very soft voice. She was also helpful in giving us recommendations. In fact, we get to choose our rooms. There is only 1 guest - a couple aside from my family in the resort that weekend so we had pretty much the resort to ourselves even their restaurant. We got to choose which rooms we would check in to and all rooms were overlooking the water! Which I when i saw the water, went ahead of the others and gleefully went to the beach which is pure white sand and very crystal clear water but full of sea plants amidst a backdrop of islets! The rooms are beautiful although some amenities are missing like toiletries and water/coffee in the room and no tv but that's okay because the concept is to commune with nature being unplugged. When you eat for lunch and dinner, you order at their restaurant, they had a menu which for me is reasonably priced..order fishes because they are fresh and you can order in advance for your dinner and breakfast. We were a family of 6 and we spent around 1,300 for dinner and breakfast while we spent 2,200 for lunch (we were hungry from the drive/trip). The overnight stay for 2 rooms we reserved is also reasonable at 2,900-3,500 per night. Note that the resort does not open for walk-ins and you need to have reservations minimum 1 night stay. They can also arrange for a boat tour to nearby Taklong Island but it is quite expensive, we paid 500 for 1 hr. You need to bring at least 10K cash for your entire stay. They have contact numbers but do not expect they would reply immediately because of the unavailability of network coverage perhaps but they do reply right as soon as they are able to have signal i guess. Overall I love the place and would have wanted to spend more time although they are strict in checking out at 10am the next day. Still if you want a piece of paradise to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of the city, La Puerta Al Paraizo is one of the best resorts I've been to. Thank you so much La Puerta Al Paraizo. Hope to book again someday.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Rohan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

☀️-poor
☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️-excellent
Accommodation:
Room quality: ☀️☀️☀️☀️. Beds are big. The room is spacious and clean. Linens are clean and soft. The shower room is also big and clean. The view from the room is awesome! All the villas face the beach area. No TV or any form of entertainment.
Food: ☀️☀️☀️☀️. It tastes good but a bit pricey for a "provincial rate".
Beach: ☀️☀️☀️☀️. the shoreline is short but the sand's quality is comparable to boracay though sea grasses/weeds are plenty. The view of the sunset is awesome! No beach beds available (I wish there was). I could have enjoyed watching the sunset more if beach beds were available.
Pool: ☀️. Non functional at the time of our visit. We asked the reception but they told me that they syill have to fill it with water when the tide is high. Yes, they will be using salt water for the pool.
Price: ☀️☀️. not recommended for solo travellers or those traveling on a tight budget. Everything is pricey.
Accesability: ☀️☀️. To far from the mainroad. About 40 kms away from the main port (Jordan).
Communication: ☀️. No phone signal! But if you enjoy remote stuff, you'd prolly enjoy it.

Overall: ☀️☀️☀️. Breakfast was not included in the accommodation. The room is quite expensive and I think that at least breakfast should be included in the package. Nevertheless, you will feel the resort's exclusivity because there are only a few guests, maybe because of the price.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Resty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

It was a really bumpy ride on the way to the hotel, the road really needs improvement but that goes to the city officials of course. Our stay was short, but it was a pleasant one. Overall it was good, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Room is clean, great view of the beach, love the veranda and the small huts near the beach. Food is just okay, need more options for afternoon snacks. Some points of improvement if I may... I think we were the only family staying in the resort that day so there was a shortage of staff. It takes a while before you get served. I also remember asking our ordered coffee and ice cream to be delivered in our room but they charge 15% service charge for every delivery, and I was not very happy with that. Pool needs cleaning, a lot! We weren't able to enjoy the low tide beach, you can see jellyfish and sea urchins everywhere, it was probably because it's low tide and it's nature of course, so not the resort's fault at all. Good side is you can turn it to a wonderful walk and just explore the place (from one big rock to another, and cross the beach by just walking). My advise for guests - Make sure to carry your aqua shoes. Bring snorkeling equipment, you will love it there (get a complete suit though and put on anti jelly fish sting lotion or something). Bring snacks with you, and water too :)

Room Tip: Explore the beach when it's low tide, you can see amazing creatures there
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chinkee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

we stayed three nights in this resort during the low season, so we had the whole place pretty much to our group of five. upon our request, the staff set up a dining table by the beach so we had our meals al fresco. food was so-so, but it being low season, inventory was limited. the staff was very helpful and friendly. mobile phone signal is weak and spotty.the rooms could stand better cleaning and maintenance, though. island tours were arranged efficiently from the resort, and we had a very enjoyable and restful three days there.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank millety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

The resort DOESN'T accept credit cards so be ready with enough cash even before getting to Guimaras Island. All they asked for a 2-night stay for 2 rooms was a 1,500-peso reservation fee (deductible from actual fees).

They DON'T ALLOW non-check in guests nor those who wish to have a day tour (or meals) which makes the place more private. We were checked in to the family rooms (good for 4) but 1 had a shower problem. We asked them to repair the loose shower knob and they asked us to wait for them to call for the maintenance guy who ended his shift at 5pm. After a while, a staff informed us that they can't fix it as of the moment and asked us to just use the shower from the other family room which should put the ratio to 1 shower:: 8 people. Absurd. Thankfully the maintenance staff came back and fixed the problem with just a telfon tape. Well, that's pretty easy!

Our AC worked but it made so much noise I barely had a good night sleep. Also, the other room's glass door doesn't lock. Both our refrigerators don't work well. The island experiences POWER INTERRUPTIONS and one night at 7pm the power was out for 15 mins. A local told us that it happens several times a day for every single day.

They DON'T allow guests to bring in food. Meals are PRE ORDERED and not a single pork dish in the menu. Fortunately we had a car to use so for the 2-night stay we just had 1 meal from the resort and the rest at Raymen resort, Pitstop, talabahan in Jordan, etc.

We didn't use the sea water pool as the water is stagnant and obviously unmaintained.

Beach side is only good when the tide is high. For low tide times, the rocks get exposed and we are more prone to stepping on sea urchins buried in a bed of sea weed.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Grecedes N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews