We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,120)
Filter reviews
1,120 results
Traveller rating
692
328
74
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
692
328
74
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animal farm lunch and dinner mountain facing room scones wellness centre drakensberg mountains self catering buffet style horse riding dining room deluxe room underfloor heating rooms are large public areas guided walk hiking trails morning and afternoon tea
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 1,120 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2018

We had a two night stay, in a very comfortable well appointed room overlooking the mountains.The food served buffet style was well cooked and well presented.
We went here to break the journey between Durban and JNB airport, nice break but next time we will fly!

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank Brewersfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georges_Romarin, General Manager at Champagne Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, Brewersfriend

I'm so glad you decided to break your journey with a stay at Champagne Castle Hotel. Hopefully as time goes on, you'll reconsider your decision to fly and we'll be able to welcome you back for another stop over.

Thank you for staying with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

The Champagne Castle Hotel is in a breathtaking part of the world and the despite, unbelievable thunderstorms and rain, we had an amazing time. The rooms are comfortable with wonderful views of the mountains, the staff were helpful and friendly and the food, excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have good views, 1st flor probably slightly bette
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ged h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georges_Romarin, General Manager at Champagne Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, ged h

The thunderstorms can be very dramatic in this part of the Drakensberg. They create a completely different experience for our guests. Of course being so close to the mountains does mean that the weather is both difficult to predict and can change through all 4 seasons in one day.

I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to this part of the Drakensberg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Champagne Castle surpassed all our expectations! The hotel is excellent the setting just magical. Our rooms very spotless and the staff were efficient, friendly and nothing was too much trouble they even packed us "padkos" for our journey home. The food was delicious with so much variety and the service impeccable. Our walk was well signposted and the scenery just beautiful. We had a wonderful stay, they certainly know how to run a hotel in a time when service is really neglected. We will be back every year! Well done guys and keep up your standards.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but mountain facing rooms were superb.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georges_Romarin, General Manager at Champagne Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, Elaine

We are fortunate to be located in this World Heritage Site, tucked in beneath such incredibly beautiful mountains. I'm glad to hear that you were able to walk out onto the mountain. It is difficult to describe how beautiful it is, until you've been there yourself.

Thank you for your feedback, I have passed it on to the Management Team. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to this part of the Drakensberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

People were great,rooms excellent,food spectacular,staff helpfull and friendly
Venue once in a lifetime. If you like to experience the drakensberg and enjoy the hospitality from days gone by then tis is the place to go.tranquil,grate walks,lovely fresh air. You wont find better

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Mountain views are best
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Klaus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georges_Romarin, General Manager at Champagne Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, Klaus

It sounds like you had an incredible stay with us. I'm so glad to hear that you were able to go on a walk. The mountains are beautiful, and I'm sure you discovered that the further you walked, the more beautiful it became.

I have passed your feedback on to the team at our daily management meeting.

Thank you for staying at Champagne Castle Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to this pat of the Drakensberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

We had a very nice stay at the Champagne Castle Hotel in the beautiful Champagne Valley. We never visited this part of South Africa before but certainly plan to come again and stay at this hotel.
The setting is very nice, Good comfortable rooms and delicious food. If we can have WIFI in the rooms it would be perfect.. Staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are very nice.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daff_200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georges_Romarin, General Manager at Champagne Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, Anfra_12

Welcome to the Champagne Valley. I'm so glad you visited the area and stayed with us at Champagne Castle Hotel. We are fortunate to be located in such a beautiful part of the Drakensberg.

WiFi continues to be a problem for us. We're ready to put it in every room, but are unable to get a large enough connection this far out of town. It's really a case of being so remote. Our free WiFi in the main buildings ensure the best solution.

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews