We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,174)
Filter reviews
1,174 results
Traveller rating
606
363
139
36
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
606
363
139
36
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue grotto tsogo sun canopy tour kids entertainment horse riding the ground floor self catering great holiday hiking trails family holiday whole family world class heated pool dinner buffet zip lining all ages trout
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 1,174 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Beautiful location, great for walking. The hotel felt it needed some refurbishment but was good value for money. The resultant has a wide selection of options but it felt aprather mass produced. Shame there was no glasses in the bedroom.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank DFJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger P, General Manager at Drakensberg Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

It was a real pleasure having you on the Resort with us recently and I am very appreciative of the comments following your stay. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you back here again soon. Until we meet again, Best regards Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

My 1st visit in Drakensberg Sun was in November 2004. Since that visit I have been coming back almost once a year. Their service and food is world class. Their staff's friendliness makes you feel like you are the only guest. I would highly recommend it for their views and tranquility .

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank NomaniniP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger P, General Manager at Drakensberg Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

It was a real pleasure having you on the Resort with us recently and I am very appreciative of the comments following your stay. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you back here again soon. Until we meet again, Best regards Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

As a regular visitor to this beautiful resort, my wife and I are treated like family by virtually all the staff members and management. This time was no different. We spent 3 nights in an Executive Suite and 3 nights in the Presidential Suite and both suites were excellent - both had nespresso coffee machines and whilst the Presidential Suite was simply "out of this world", most visitors will probably not stay there. The resort is situated in the heart of the beautiful Drakensberg and has both beautiful views and excellent facilities. The swimming pool is heated (to a comfortable temperature) and they host daily poolside "games" like Bingo. They have their own small lake and there are daily boat cruises at around 2pm and 4pm - and you can take our their rowing boats. The lake is stocked with rainbow trout but I have it on good authority that the growing number of bass is going to make bass fishing more popular at the lake in the future. The resort also boasts numerous, safe hiking trails to satisfy most fitness and adventurous levels - including guided hikes. The dining area is spacious and airy with comfortable furnishings and they provide excellent buffet breakfasts and dinners - including a wood-fired Pizza range. They have a fairly spacious pub where they usually screen sporting events and also entertain guests with various pub-games. There is also a small, privately owned, gift shop on site as well as a spa (which we haven't tried). Note that only some of the self-catering chalets have undercover shade-port parking. The hotel parking is secure, but not undercover. We always find the management staff most accommodating and extremely friendly and helpful. This is one Drakensberg venue that we will definitely continue to visit as often as possible.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank anthonycU5115AJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger P, General Manager at Drakensberg Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

It was a real pleasure having you on the Resort with us recently and I am very appreciative of the comments following your stay. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you back here again soon. Until we meet again, Best regards Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

I stayed at the Drakensberg Sun for a conference. Nice room on the ground floor. The hotel is in a beautiful location. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was nice. It was spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank CyrusR39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger P, General Manager at Drakensberg Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

It was a real pleasure having you on the Resort with us recently and I am very appreciative of the comments following your stay. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you back here again soon. Until we meet again, Best regards Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Dear Robert

Thanks for your hospitality during our stay. We thoroughly enjoyed spending our wedding anniversary at the resort. Thanks for making it special with the surprise cake and champagne left in our room on arrival. We have been to Drakensberg Sun a few times previously and I can highly recommend this resort as we have also been to other hotels in the area , but this tops it.
Looking forward to our next getaway to the resort.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank PriscillaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger P, General Manager at Drakensberg Sun Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

It was a real pleasure having you on the Resort and made even more special that you chose to spend your anniversary with us.

Thank you for your wonderful feedback which will be shared with the Resort staff.

We look forward to seeing you back here again soon.

Until we meet again,

Best regards Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews