We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
18
6
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
6
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews separate kitchen bedroom unit oven roomy beds units motel home
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Chose this motel from the NZ AA Guide book and we were very happy with our stay. It looks very ordinary from the driveway but the rooms are spacious and the beds look new and were really comfortable. Kitchen had all we needed except for a freezer so manager took our items and stowed them in his own freezer. Great value for $115/night double. Ate at the Thomas Gore Hotel- what a surprise- it has been renovated and it very grand for such a rural town. Plenty of breakfast options in town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

we were looking for a place to stay for a night and saw this motel. looks are very deceiving as it looks old but when you get into unit they are lovely. Plenty room 2 comphy leather lounge chairs to sit in.When couldn't figure out the Tv went to office and got help by cheerful manager. Were met by lady boss and she was lovely. Would recommend this place and we will deffinatly stay again. When checking out even got the race results we had missed Thanks a lot

Room Tip: get the new rooms
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggieharty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed here on our way from Dunedin to Invercargill. The motel is quiet and clean and comfortable. We were dealt with quickly and efficiently at the office. We had a 2 bedroom unit which was nice and roomy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Charlton was initially chosen because it was pet friendly, which on this occasion was necessary. It was also very conveniently located close to the A&P Grounds, which is where I was required to be for most of the day over a weekend. So, it is located a little outside of the town centre, but if staying here, you are most likely to have a vehicle anyway.
Welcome was very friendly, and informative regards local information. Room was spacious, and included some comfortable furnishings. Separate Kitchen and bathroom also added to an at home feel. If I had to be negative about anything, I would say the bed was a little too soft (for me).
Given the price we were charged, I did have to look again to make sure I was not paying more than being asked for. Absolute excellent value for money.
Already planning on a return trip next year, and Gore is usually a place I always avoid. That is how good it is.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

It has been a long week and one more night away before heading home.. Stayed again at the Charlton. Really friendly and helpful. They have expresso machine in their reception now also. This time I stayed in the new units and very comfortable . Very warm. Everything you need. Great rates and book in advance asking for the new units if you can. Aquatic centre just down the road.

Room Tip: Ask for new units
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews