We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RELAXING 2 WEEKS”
Review of Charlton Motel

Charlton Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charlton Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gore
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Had not been to a Motel before, but we very pleased with what we had, a lovely large room with bedroom, which was very nice as we were their for 2 weeks. FIONA the owner was very nice
and any problems we had she sorted them out for us.
Also if i wanted a lift into town it was not a problem, also to pick me back up.
the place was very clean and was cleaned everyday.

We would go back again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back , which was lovely for sitting outside in the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 627sarah1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Chose this motel from the NZ AA Guide book and we were very happy with our stay. It looks very ordinary from the driveway but the rooms are spacious and the beds look new and were really comfortable. Kitchen had all we needed except for a freezer so manager took our items and stowed them in his own freezer. Great value for $115/night double. Ate at the Thomas Gore Hotel- what a surprise- it has been renovated and it very grand for such a rural town. Plenty of breakfast options in town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

we were looking for a place to stay for a night and saw this motel. looks are very deceiving as it looks old but when you get into unit they are lovely. Plenty room 2 comphy leather lounge chairs to sit in.When couldn't figure out the Tv went to office and got help by cheerful manager. Were met by lady boss and she was lovely. Would recommend this place and we will deffinatly stay again. When checking out even got the race results we had missed Thanks a lot

Room Tip: get the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggieharty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed here on our way from Dunedin to Invercargill. The motel is quiet and clean and comfortable. We were dealt with quickly and efficiently at the office. We had a 2 bedroom unit which was nice and roomy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Charlton was initially chosen because it was pet friendly, which on this occasion was necessary. It was also very conveniently located close to the A&P Grounds, which is where I was required to be for most of the day over a weekend. So, it is located a little outside of the town centre, but if staying here, you are most likely to have a vehicle anyway.
Welcome was very friendly, and informative regards local information. Room was spacious, and included some comfortable furnishings. Separate Kitchen and bathroom also added to an at home feel. If I had to be negative about anything, I would say the bed was a little too soft (for me).
Given the price we were charged, I did have to look again to make sure I was not paying more than being asked for. Absolute excellent value for money.
Already planning on a return trip next year, and Gore is usually a place I always avoid. That is how good it is.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gore hotels
3.4 km away
Heartland Hotel Croydon
2.3 km away
Riverlea Motel
Riverlea Motel
#3 of 5 in Gore
35 reviews
3.1 km away
Esplanade Motels
Esplanade Motels
#2 of 5 in Gore
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
The Reservation B & B
4.3 km away
Hokonui Bed and Breakfast
2.6 km away
ASURE Oakleigh Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton Motel

Address: 9 Charlton Road, Gore 9710, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Gore
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gore
Price Range: $114 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charlton Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Charlton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing