We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”
Review of Charlton Motel

Charlton Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charlton Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gore
Reviewed 29 December 2013

we were looking for a place to stay for a night and saw this motel. looks are very deceiving as it looks old but when you get into unit they are lovely. Plenty room 2 comphy leather lounge chairs to sit in.When couldn't figure out the Tv went to office and got help by cheerful manager. Were met by lady boss and she was lovely. Would recommend this place and we will deffinatly stay again. When checking out even got the race results we had missed Thanks a lot

Room Tip: get the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggieharty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed here on our way from Dunedin to Invercargill. The motel is quiet and clean and comfortable. We were dealt with quickly and efficiently at the office. We had a 2 bedroom unit which was nice and roomy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Charlton was initially chosen because it was pet friendly, which on this occasion was necessary. It was also very conveniently located close to the A&P Grounds, which is where I was required to be for most of the day over a weekend. So, it is located a little outside of the town centre, but if staying here, you are most likely to have a vehicle anyway.
Welcome was very friendly, and informative regards local information. Room was spacious, and included some comfortable furnishings. Separate Kitchen and bathroom also added to an at home feel. If I had to be negative about anything, I would say the bed was a little too soft (for me).
Given the price we were charged, I did have to look again to make sure I was not paying more than being asked for. Absolute excellent value for money.
Already planning on a return trip next year, and Gore is usually a place I always avoid. That is how good it is.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

It has been a long week and one more night away before heading home.. Stayed again at the Charlton. Really friendly and helpful. They have expresso machine in their reception now also. This time I stayed in the new units and very comfortable . Very warm. Everything you need. Great rates and book in advance asking for the new units if you can. Aquatic centre just down the road.

Room Tip: Ask for new units
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My husband & I spent 2 weeks at this motel, using it as a base for research we were doing locally for a book we are writing. The unit allocated to us was at the back and therefore quiet and safe for our small dog who was welcomed. The unit had a full stove with 4 rings & a very good full size oven, so we were able to cook for ourselves. It was also well equipped with kitchen utensils etc, a microwave, & a fridge. It snowed while we were staying and we asked for another heater as the wall mounted unit wasn't quite enough, but this was provided promptly and willingly. The bed was fantastically comfortable & the 3 single beds in the separate bedroom meant we could keep all our belongings well ordered. The hosts were pleasant and helpful at all times. We used the laundry facilities several times, for a small fee. Overall this was a terrific place to stay and we would recommend it highly to other travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beemull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gore hotels
3.4 km away
Heartland Hotel Croydon
2.3 km away
Riverlea Motel
Riverlea Motel
#3 of 5 in Gore
35 reviews
3.1 km away
Esplanade Motels
Esplanade Motels
#2 of 5 in Gore
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Hokonui Bed and Breakfast
1.8 km away
The Reservation B & B
2.6 km away
ASURE Oakleigh Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton Motel

Address: 9 Charlton Road, Gore 9710, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Gore
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gore
Price Range: $109 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charlton Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Charlton Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing