We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
56
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews b bs great hosts brian home country farming fishing nz
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2017

we stumbled across this place after long internet searches and it was a great find.
We were welcomed by the very lovely hosts Shona and Brian and felt at home immediately ,
The house is gorgeous with an immaculate lawn and a country view reaching for miles.The tranquillity is amazing and you feel very relaxed.
If you are into golf there is course 200m away.
Our room upstairs was a little warm at fist but quite nice and the price more than reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gianluca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShonaGore, Owner at Hokonui Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Thank you Gianluca
It was our pleasure to meet you and Paola and hear all about Italy.
It was very warm weather while you stayed with us which was great
Enjoy the rest of your NZ holiday and if you ever return to NZ be sure to give us a call
Regards Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

This really is a 5 star B&B.
Great location on a hill top over looking Gore which is just five minutes away. The outlook over the green paddocks is special.
The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable.
The breakfast is terrific.
And the hosts are wonderful people. Would definitely go back to stay again !

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShonaGore, Owner at Hokonui Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Thank you Ron for posting your review.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to you next trip down south
Regards
Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely huge house a few kilometers out of Gore with great views over the country. Loved the cooked breakfast, the tea, the biscuits - pretty much everything! A couple cute little talkative lambs out the back were fun too.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShonaGore, Owner at Hokonui Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Thanks so much for posting your review - its much appreciated.
It was great to meet and that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hokonui B&B
Regards
Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

My wife and I spent one night with Brian and Shona and were blown away with this beautiful place. We had the upstairs room which was spacious, well appointed and with great views. Brian and Shona made us feel so very welcome their home. The breakfast was fantastic and we all enjoyed it sitting around their dining room table -still laughing about the decoy Canada Geese on their lawn which I mistook for real!

We would go back to stay in a heartbeat and highly recommend the stay to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OB1ONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShonaGore, Owner at Hokonui Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Hello OBIONE
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us its very much appreciated.
Look forward to your return sometime
Regards Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Wonderful location, beautiful house, lovely room, and spectacular garden and views. A very rural landscape but within a few minutes of Gore.
Very quiet with great but unobtrusive hosts. Excellent service and lovely food.
We would love to visit again.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank c_anstey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShonaGore, Owner at Hokonui Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2016

Thank you Clive for taking the time to review.
We enjoyed your stay very much and great conversations
Regards Brian & Shona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews