We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
15
1
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
1
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscouple runningbeautiful locationamazing viewsthe ownerbeara peninsulasitecamperspitchesfacilitiesfarmdogshowermarycookingweathersheepfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2018

Hi my wife and I spent a week here in a cottage called Angela's Farmhouse the owner Mrs Moriarty was a lovely lady and could not do enough for us she gave us scones and tea on arrival and was delightful to chat too our week was so quiet and relaxing. We went out and about to see sites and boy we were not disappointed Healy pass was stunning and so beautiful in the sunlight, we also went to Castleberetown witch is a very nice small place with a bank and SuperValu for groceries and the fuel prices were reasonable too. We headed to Durnsey bay to see the old wooden cable car built in 1969 which was so intrepid looking lol. Later on we explored eyeries a small village with great character and wonderfully coloured houses a bit like Balamory well worth a photo or two. We also went over to county cork via Healy pass to a gorgeous parkland called gGlengarriff a must for walkers and children. We also made a trip to a lovely village called Sneem which was nice and pretty all in all a great holiday. Now my doesn't comments...we took our dog as it was dog friendly and she loved it as it was all fenced off from the farm sheep in the fields but the gate to the cottage four have been wired too to stop the owners 4 dogs coming up to seek our dog for attention. We also after paying for the cottage had to pay for the gas for cooking which was 7 euro for the week and the electricity was 18c per unit and the oil if used was 1.50 per hour also provided was coal for the open fire and wood for the wood burner which my wife and I used anyway it was more cost and romantic. All in all we did not mind paying that little extra for the great week we had and it came to 12 euro's but would highly recommend it if you want a remote quiet break away and again the owner was so lovely Roland asked us to email her so she knew we got home safely.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Owner at Creveen Lodge Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Thank you very much and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the area. It was lovely having you and hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We spent a few glorious nights at this campsite, firstly in our tent and then in one of the guest houses. It is a spectacular location, brilliantly situated to see Beara Peninsula and the Ring of kerry. The views are a wonder, wild and intense: yet kenmare is just up the road for supermarket etc.

The owners are amazingly kind and generous, with a light touch. The toilet block and shared kitchen area are immaculately clean, well kept and thoughtful. There is a lovely and safe small playground, ideal for younger kids. Our children were really happy on the campsite, and the owners' dogs were a happy friendly bunch.

This is a special place. We loved the guest house/cottage and feel we've found a treasure. We're coming back! Thank you for a great holiday Creveen... Ellen and Stephen and the girls

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Stephen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Owner at Creveen Lodge Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thank you very much Stephen for taking the time to give us a review. It is nice for us when our guests really enjoy the lodge, campsite and surrounding area. Thanks again and we hope you return to us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Nice campsite in the heart of Beara peninsula with great view - perfect spot for hiking, trekking and discovering the area's secrets off the beaten track...
The farmer couple running the campground is very kind and helpful.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank philipp k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Owner at Creveen Lodge Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you very much and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Old fashioned but tidy sums up this rare site on the Healy Pass road. There are about 6 or so hard pitches with EHUs but they are not very level and are all on hillside platforms.
We arrived in a motorhome but noted that the camping type facilities looked homely, complete with an unlit peat fire, and from a previous era!
We enjoyed a quiet night here and have no complaints but were not happy that several dogs are allowed to roam the site.
The lack of any alternative sites in the area allows us to be generous with our rating.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Roganroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Owner at Creveen Lodge Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

thank you for your comments. As it happened I gave you the best pitch on the site. Sorry you were not happy with our dogs but they are friendly sheep dogs and we need them as they are working dogs for our farm and our guests have no problem with them. My husband and I work very hard to keep the site in order and have done so for the last forty five years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We love this campsite, for the amazing views, the large pitches, the peace and quiet, the resident dogs and the friendliness of the owners.

The campsite is set in a beautiful location and owners are more than happy to explain what's what around the place and then let you get on with things.

The shower/ toilet block is clean and central to the site, the washing up area is outside, undercover at the end of the toilet block where Mary provides cloths and washing up liquid. There is also a kitchen area for cooking, which we didn't use but other campers did, on a wet morning as they were in a small tent.
The showers are run by tokens, 1euro gets you 7 minutes - loads of time to wash your hair and have a shower.

On our large pitche, we had access to electric and our own water tap, plus they provided a bin.

What's nice here is the feeling about the place, it has an amazing atmosphere and very relaxing with it.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MinnieWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M, Owner at Creveen Lodge Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Thank you so much for your review and we appreciate all the details regarding the facilities and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews