We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazzzzzing”
other travellers have booked this property
Ellie's Cottage, Cummers, Lauragh on the Beara Peninsula
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ellie's Cottage, Cummers, Lauragh on the Beara Peninsula
Canopy Bed in Ellie's Cottage. cosy and romantic. Knockatee Country Walk near cottage 1klm away
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Ellie's Cottage, Cummers, Lauragh on the Beara Peninsula
Canopy Bed in Ellie's Cottage. cosy and romantic.
Knockatee Country Walk near cottage 1klm away
A hidden spot in Derreen Gardens 1klm away
One of the many mountains in Beara close to cottage
Looking at the island in the lake at Glenmore 4klms from cottage
Looking into Rabachs Glen, 1 km from cottage
Seals on the Rocks near Garnish Island
View from the top of Knockatee Mountain 3km from cottage
knockatee mountain reflected in the water in kilmackilogue harbour
molly gallivans cottage and traditional farm visitor centre day trip from cottage
river sheen on the caha pass day trip from cottage
The light house in Bere island ( fantastic walk)
A Frequent Visitor!
Garnish island off Glengarriff.
Healy Pass Road on the Cork Side, near to Cottage
Kilmackilogue harbour. 4 klms from cottage
Our nearest restaurant. 4 klms away
Local bar serving food on the pier
Local cafe and bike hire. 2 klms from cottage
Cashelkeelty stone circle. 4 klms from cottage
Sitting room in cottage.
Lots of books to read in front of the fire.
Wetroom with shower.toilet and handbasin in cottage.
Kitchen in cottage.
Our sign. You have arrived here.
Colones lakes and kenmare bay. 7 klms from cottage
Knockatee mountain from under canteen bridge. 3 klms from cottage
Local walking park and waterfalls
Nearby harbour with knockatee mountain in the background.
Uragh stone circle with gleninchaquin in the background12 klms from cottage.
Islands in Glenmore lake.4 klms from cottage
The harbour from knockatee mountain walk.3 klms away.
Knockatee mountain from canteen bridge on way to Glenmore lake. 3 klms away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lauragh, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
AhmedUKs...
Medina, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazzzzzing”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I have stayed 3 days in this cottages me and my wife
It is very nice cottage it is in lvery good location
Also,The owner is very friendly and helpful
The cottage contains all what you need
E.g Full kchine staff , washing machine,dryer etc.
It is very clean nice view to walk around also, you can go their by any kind of cars
Defiantly I recommended and I hope I could go again
Ahmed

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Hello Ahmed. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for the lovely spices and stuff you left for us to enjoy.we also thank you for your heartfelt note you wrote in our guestbook.. best wishes. Eileen and Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean L
1 review
“Great Choice for Beara ”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A very warm welcome from both Eileen and Robert. They make a great effort to ensure you make the most of your stay, with helpful maps and guides to the local attractions. The location is perfect for exploring the beautiful surrounding areas by car. We had a great week and would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
Hello Jean and Michael. Thank you both so much for your lovely review of our cottage.we are delighted that you enjoyed the beara peninsula and surrounding areas. Best wishes always. Eileen and Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnrhain...
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location,great value for money, great people”
Reviewed 16 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Have just returned from a super weeks holiday staying at Ellies Cottage. It's the perfect location for exploring the Beara Peninsula, which is stunning and not crowded, as is the neighbouring Ring of Kerry. The cottage is cosy and very well equipped and the welcome by Eileen and Robert is amazing. They do everything they can to ensure you have a great holiday. The cottage is excellent value for money and we would certainly recommend a stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and friendliness and everyone we met
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2016
Hello John and Nina. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here in the ring of beara. Thank you for your great review of your holiday. We hope your very own piece of beara travelled back with you and that you will enjoy it long after the holiday is over. Best wishes. Eileen and Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel J
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at Ellie’s cottage for one week at the end of April. Eileen is very welcoming and friendly. She had the open fire going in the kitchen, she made us a pot of tea and gave us a gift of some chocolates and a welcome card. The cottage is in a good location and is well equipped with washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, central heating and most items you would need to make full use of the kitchen.

So, what’s not to like? A number of things actually and I hardly recognise the accommodation we stayed in from the other reviews which don’t mention the downsides. They are unfortunately, what encouraged us to book.

The first impression as you are shown around is that the decor and furniture is very dated and apart from a lick of recent paint, the place hasn’t been updated in a long time. I would also argue it’s not really a cottage, which romanticises it. It is actually just a two storey house in need of modernising. It is pretty clean but everything is quite tired looking. The washing machine, tumble dryer and central heating controls are all in a lean-to shed at the back of the house. So if you want to use any of these things it’s a trip outside.

We had great weather while we there but the place was always cold and although unlimited firewood is provided for the fires, the oil for the central heating is charged extra, based on what you’ve used. We paid €10 for electricity and €40 for oil for 7 days (seemed a lot as this would make it €2,600 for a year). The free logs are useful for heating the kitchen where there is an open fire and the lounge where there is a wood burning stove. However that doesn’t help the bedroom or bathroom which stayed resolutely chilly despite us having the heating on for 2 hours in the morning and 5 hours in the evening. Both rooms need new radiators as both had enormous cold spots – the one in the bathroom only heated up at either end. Fortunately, although only an over-the-bath type connected to the taps, the shower was nice and hot with reasonable pressure. Just chilly when you got out. There is double glazing in all the rooms except the bathroom which probably didn’t help and in fact the glass in the bathroom window was cracked as, strangely, was the glass in the doors of the sideboard in the lounge. This didn’t help the slight air of dilapidation. There was an electric blanket on the bed which did help take the chill off before getting in but you have to remember when you use this or the tumble dryer that you are paying extra for the electricity.

We were only staying on the ground floor and there is a bit of a view of the mountains out of the back lounge window, although this is partially obstructed by some shrubs/trees and the view is really dominated by the large industrial storage unit beyond the back garden. Another reviewer mentions the stunning landscaping and gardens around the ‘cottage’. I don’t understand where they were looking as there is just a small concrete area at the back next to the washing machine shed, with a low concrete block wall and at the front, apart from the feature Yucca, there are some conifers and gnomes. The evenings weren’t warm enough to sit out when we there so this did not bother us.

I have uploaded some photos which give an idea of the rooms not shown in the official description. The bedroom is actually quite a dark room and nothing like as bright as it looks in the official photo.

We wouldn’t stay at Ellie’s cottage again. Although not really expensive, even when you add in the extra costs, it was just too run down and cold. The Beara Peninsula however is stunning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The inefficient heating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2016
Lovely. Absolutely beautiful and stunning are some of the words written in my guestbook by these holidaymakers describing their time here. We asked them was their holiday alright on the morning of their departure and they said yes thank you. I read all their other reviews and I feel they were happy nowhere. Thank you .eileen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddy1912
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, great cottage”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I can't speak highly enough about this cottage and location.
Our hosts Eileen and Robert greeted us on arrival with the fire going, a pot of tea with chocolates, showed us through the cottage, and also highlighted the places of interest in County Kerry and County Cork.
Even though it is spring in Ireland at the moment we needed a fire most days and Robert provided unlimited firewood which was great.
I would recommend this cottage to all, we will be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing