We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm reception”
other travellers have booked this property
Ellie's Cottage, Cummers, Lauragh on the Beara Peninsula
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ellie's Cottage, Cummers, Lauragh on the Beara Peninsula
Canopy Bed in Ellie's Cottage. cosy and romantic. Knockatee Country Walk near cottage 1klm away
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Ellie's Cottage, Cummers, Lauragh on the Beara Peninsula
Canopy Bed in Ellie's Cottage. cosy and romantic.
Knockatee Country Walk near cottage 1klm away
A hidden spot in Derreen Gardens 1klm away
One of the many mountains in Beara close to cottage
Looking at the island in the lake at Glenmore 4klms from cottage
Looking into Rabachs Glen, 1 km from cottage
Seals on the Rocks near Garnish Island
View from the top of Knockatee Mountain 3km from cottage
Lighthouse at tip of Mizen Head. Day trip from cottage (spectacular walking area)
A young deer in the field next to the cottage
knockatee mountain reflected in the water in kilmackilogue harbour
molly gallivans cottage and traditional farm visitor centre day trip from cottage
river sheen on the caha pass day trip from cottage
Looking towards Bantry Bay from the Priest's leap road
The light house in Bere island ( fantastic walk)
A Frequent Visitor!
Garnish island off Glengarriff.
Healy Pass Road on the Cork Side, near to Cottage
Kilmackilogue harbour. 4 klms from cottage
Our nearest restaurant. 4 klms away
Local bar serving food on the pier
Local cafe and bike hire. 2 klms from cottage
Cashelkeelty stone circle. 4 klms from cottage
Sitting room in cottage.
Lots of books to read in front of the fire.
Wetroom with shower.toilet and handbasin in cottage.
Kitchen in cottage.
Our sign. You have arrived here.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lauragh, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
abcdefgro...
1 review
“Warm reception”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed here for two weeks and had a lovely time. Eileen and Robert are very warm and hospitable and make a big effort to make it as comfortable as possible. The cottage is spacious and bright and cosy and the locale is magnificent. Beara is really worth a visit and this is a great option.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The people and the place both
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan F
Hico, WV
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful Little Cottage”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Ellie's Cottage for 5 nights and I didn't want to leave! The cottage has two wood stoves, big windows in the living room with beautiful views, and a full kitchen. We had packed light, and also found the washer and dryer very helpful! The landscaping and gardens around the cottage are stunning.

Ellie and Robert are just genuinely kindhearted people who can offer a lot of helpful insight into things to see and do on the Beara Peninsula.

In the 5 days we were there, we visited the Cashelkeelty Stone Circle, the Healy Pass, went horseback riding in Blackwater, strolled through Kenmare a couple times, drove most of the 3 Rings of Beara, and spent time at Killarney National Park. Ellie's cottage was the perfect place to cook a meal, relax by the fire at night, sip tea and watch sheep in the morning, and wake up well rested and ready to go. If I could do anything differently - I would have just stayed longer!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jolanta Z
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful first time in Ireland.”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

First time in Ireland and such a wonderful experience. We spent three days in this lovely place, but really wanted to stay much longer. First surprise - very warm welcome from Eileen and Robert, cup of tea, biscuits, a log fire...it felt great! They also provided us with lots of useful information about the area, as well as leaving many brochures and books of Beara peninsula. The location of a cottage is perfect, allows you to walk or drive to many beautiful places, even when the weather is not perfect. The cottage is well equipped, spacious, sunny and comfortable. Thank you Eileen and thank you Robert. You made our stay difficult to forget, so we hope to came back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donna n
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“summers holiday cottage”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We arrived on Friday 10th July to a lovely log fire tea and chocolates The owner Eileen and her husband Robert made us very welcome The cottage is in a very tranquil area with breathtakingl surrounding We were able to take our dog with us which was a bonus We would definitely recommend the cottage to anyone .Donna Jacky and Buttons the dog .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peacefulness and the scenry
Liked least: nothing everything was fantastic
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neoqueav1...
1 review
“best time ever in ireland”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

It was a last minute decision to spend our winter break in cummers cottage and it worth every single mile we didi to get there. At first I didnt believe my eyes the bearra scenery, specially (for me) the hyle pass, is just breathtaking. I have no words to describe eileen and robert reception is just over the top, make you want to stay forever! The kitchen has EVERYTHING you need, living room and bedroom are just really cosy. Plenty walks, drives and hikink routes gardens, parks and forest to explore and eileen provide you with a lot of extra information. Lovely place, lovely people I will be back for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing