We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets Our expectations Again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watamu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tembo Village Resort Watamu
Ranked #11 of 25 Watamu B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 October 2013

After I stayed at Tembo Village in April with my friend, we had such a grand time that I decide to go aback again with my partner and another couple.
Bertina was her usual charming self and after just a short call all was booked.
We had the whole place to ourselves and we went partying in Watamu and came back later in the night.
All in all we had a total blast and I will recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice place to staying without having to go broke over a holiday.
Thank you Bertina!

Room Tip: There is a beautiful beach just a walk away and a snake park a minute away for those interested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel is unpretentious from outside, but inside the rooms are set in beautiful gardens. The rooms are comfortable and have lovely character symptomatic of the coastal region. However, the fans are not adequate to keep the rooms cool (particularly when there is a power value) and you do need air conditioning. Unfortunately, we did not realise that air conditioning was not included in the tariff and an additional charge was payable. I did try to arrange for air conditioning on the second night but the management was unable to locate the remote control! Finally, air conditioning was provided on our third and final night, so at last we enjoyed a good night's sleep (despite a power value during the night that lasted for about an hour).

Breakfasts are adequate if not spectacular and the swimming pool is a nice place to cool off.

The hotel offers excellent value. It was a pity though that we could not get air conditioning from the outset though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrDuncanBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We needed a weekend getaway from the cold of Nairobi and Tembo Village was perfect. They were able to give us the number of a reliable tuk-tuk driver and give us recommendations on where to go. The rooms were clean and quite comfortable and close to the very well maintained pool. Wi-fi is available now so you can stay plugged in, should you desire to. Bettina and Peter treated us very well and we would certainly come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brennan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed at Tembo Village for a couple of days before and after our trip up north. It was the first time but definetely not the last time =). Bettina and Peter's place has about 10 rooms, a cozy atmosphere and a great pool. This is definetely the place to relax when visiting Watamu!
We prefered a room without a/c (but with fan!) which are straight on when entering the area. Great bed, spotless bathroom, warm shower with (!) perfect pressure, throughout clean room, small terrace and a really nice and cozy interior. What do you need more?
The garden and the pool are nicely arranged and welcoming you as soon as you get out of your room. The breakfast was great (self made bread buns, fruits, eggs,..thank you Lara =)!) and the waitress (soo sorry but I forgot her name) was a sunshine. As we were around with our own car I can not write anything about walking distances to the beach or other places. If you need any help, no matter regarding what, you can always feel free to ask the owners, Lara or any staff member. They are all incredible friendly and helpful!! THANK YOU once again!!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kenegy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at Tembo village this easter and it was an incredible place. Home away from home. Very beautiful cozy and clean rooms and towels changed every other day. The staff are all extremely helpful and cheerful people. Lara was especially a sweetheart and always available for any inquiries. Keep up the beautiful work at the beautiful place Bettina
Thanks for having us and we had the best days there.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
7.8 km away
Jacaranda Beach Resort
0.6 km away
Barracuda Inn
Barracuda Inn
#9 of 26 in Watamu
1,036 reviews
2 km away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#14 of 26 in Watamu
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#3 of 26 in Watamu
357 reviews
7.5 km away
Tishi's Farm
Tishi's Farm
#9 of 31 in Watamu
31 reviews
2.8 km away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tembo Village Resort Watamu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembo Village Resort Watamu

Address: Jacaranda Road | P.O. Box 504, Watamu 504, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Watamu
Price Range: $67 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tembo Village is a family-run boutique Hotel with 11 rooms and self catering apartments. The small Hotel is build in Swahili style on one acre of property, set in beautifully landscabed gardens, second road to Kenya`s internationally acclaimed Watamu National Marine Park. It offers guests an atmosphere of quality comfort, tranquility and privacy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing