We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
64
34
4
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
34
4
8
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel is unpretentious from outside, but inside the rooms are set in beautiful gardens. The rooms are comfortable and have lovely character symptomatic of the coastal region. However, the fans are not adequate to keep the rooms cool (particularly when there is a power value) and you do need air conditioning. Unfortunately, we did not realise that air conditioning was not included in the tariff and an additional charge was payable. I did try to arrange for air conditioning on the second night but the management was unable to locate the remote control! Finally, air conditioning was provided on our third and final night, so at last we enjoyed a good night's sleep (despite a power value during the night that lasted for about an hour).

Breakfasts are adequate if not spectacular and the swimming pool is a nice place to cool off.

The hotel offers excellent value. It was a pity though that we could not get air conditioning from the outset though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrDuncanBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We needed a weekend getaway from the cold of Nairobi and Tembo Village was perfect. They were able to give us the number of a reliable tuk-tuk driver and give us recommendations on where to go. The rooms were clean and quite comfortable and close to the very well maintained pool. Wi-fi is available now so you can stay plugged in, should you desire to. Bettina and Peter treated us very well and we would certainly come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brennan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed at Tembo Village for a couple of days before and after our trip up north. It was the first time but definetely not the last time =). Bettina and Peter's place has about 10 rooms, a cozy atmosphere and a great pool. This is definetely the place to relax when visiting Watamu!
We prefered a room without a/c (but with fan!) which are straight on when entering the area. Great bed, spotless bathroom, warm shower with (!) perfect pressure, throughout clean room, small terrace and a really nice and cozy interior. What do you need more?
The garden and the pool are nicely arranged and welcoming you as soon as you get out of your room. The breakfast was great (self made bread buns, fruits, eggs,..thank you Lara =)!) and the waitress (soo sorry but I forgot her name) was a sunshine. As we were around with our own car I can not write anything about walking distances to the beach or other places. If you need any help, no matter regarding what, you can always feel free to ask the owners, Lara or any staff member. They are all incredible friendly and helpful!! THANK YOU once again!!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kenegy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at Tembo village this easter and it was an incredible place. Home away from home. Very beautiful cozy and clean rooms and towels changed every other day. The staff are all extremely helpful and cheerful people. Lara was especially a sweetheart and always available for any inquiries. Keep up the beautiful work at the beautiful place Bettina
Thanks for having us and we had the best days there.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at Tembo back in February. It was a short break as a couple as part of a family holiday in Kenya with our baby twins.
The rooms are clean and simple making good use of local materials and furniture. The bed was huge with mossie nets and we had a fan which was perfectly adequate despite it being pretty hot (30 plus most days).
The staff were charming and helpful without being obtrusive and Bettina and her daughter Lara provided great service. It is a family run property which we really enjoyed as it made it a more personal experience than some of the bigger resorts in the area. This was my sixth visit to Watamu and having stayed both in private villas and big hotels like Turtle Bay on previous occasions I think Tembo strikes the right balance with a chilled atomsphere but good facilities like the pool and a beauty therapist.
We were full board and enjoyed the food with fresh fish, meat, fruit and vegetables. The personal style of dining in individual bandas is also a nice touch.
Overall a lovely break offering great value. I think the negative reviewers must have been staying in a different property or are expecting something for nothing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucky_meUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews