We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
64
34
4
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
34
4
8
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We needed a weekend getaway from the cold of Nairobi and Tembo Village was perfect. They were able to give us the number of a reliable tuk-tuk driver and give us recommendations on where to go. The rooms were clean and quite comfortable and close to the very well maintained pool. Wi-fi is available now so you can stay plugged in, should you desire to. Bettina and Peter treated us very well and we would certainly come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brennan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed at Tembo Village for a couple of days before and after our trip up north. It was the first time but definetely not the last time =). Bettina and Peter's place has about 10 rooms, a cozy atmosphere and a great pool. This is definetely the place to relax when visiting Watamu!
We prefered a room without a/c (but with fan!) which are straight on when entering the area. Great bed, spotless bathroom, warm shower with (!) perfect pressure, throughout clean room, small terrace and a really nice and cozy interior. What do you need more?
The garden and the pool are nicely arranged and welcoming you as soon as you get out of your room. The breakfast was great (self made bread buns, fruits, eggs,..thank you Lara =)!) and the waitress (soo sorry but I forgot her name) was a sunshine. As we were around with our own car I can not write anything about walking distances to the beach or other places. If you need any help, no matter regarding what, you can always feel free to ask the owners, Lara or any staff member. They are all incredible friendly and helpful!! THANK YOU once again!!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kenegy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at Tembo village this easter and it was an incredible place. Home away from home. Very beautiful cozy and clean rooms and towels changed every other day. The staff are all extremely helpful and cheerful people. Lara was especially a sweetheart and always available for any inquiries. Keep up the beautiful work at the beautiful place Bettina
Thanks for having us and we had the best days there.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at Tembo back in February. It was a short break as a couple as part of a family holiday in Kenya with our baby twins.
The rooms are clean and simple making good use of local materials and furniture. The bed was huge with mossie nets and we had a fan which was perfectly adequate despite it being pretty hot (30 plus most days).
The staff were charming and helpful without being obtrusive and Bettina and her daughter Lara provided great service. It is a family run property which we really enjoyed as it made it a more personal experience than some of the bigger resorts in the area. This was my sixth visit to Watamu and having stayed both in private villas and big hotels like Turtle Bay on previous occasions I think Tembo strikes the right balance with a chilled atomsphere but good facilities like the pool and a beauty therapist.
We were full board and enjoyed the food with fresh fish, meat, fruit and vegetables. The personal style of dining in individual bandas is also a nice touch.
Overall a lovely break offering great value. I think the negative reviewers must have been staying in a different property or are expecting something for nothing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucky_meUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Having read the very positive reviews, we were amazed with the poor staff attention, state of the room and quality of food that we were served with during our 3 night stay. The room was very small, the fan in the very very hot room was not working all the time because of power cuts and lack of back-up. When the fan was working, it was doing so poorly and not relieving us of the heat. When we asked about this the owner replied that we should not have chosen a room with a fan. As a couple living in Nairobi, and travelling throughout Kenya a lot, we always prefer a fan over airconditioning so felt her reply very awkward. The solution was to remove the mosquito net to feel some breeze. We had no choice but to stay full or half board, therefore could not eat a la carte, and the food options for us were not impressive at all. Had the feeling the restaurant is losing its good name as it was not busy at all during our stay. The only positive element was the pool which was nice. Will definitely not return and not recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanV573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinakenyaWatamu, Owner at Tembo Village Resort Watamu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Hello and thank you for your review.

Mostly, we are very surprised by your feedback as we were never approached during your stay with your concerns; we would have immediately made provision for you to receive whatever was requested. Living in Nairiobi, i believe you know all about the climate at the coast in high season. You booked a room with fan and some guest are fine with it, others NOT and they go for the air conditioned rooms at a small extra charge.

As for the food not being very good, of course the appreciation of food is a personal consideration. If you had any meals at Tembo Village that you were not happy with, this was not brought to our attention for us to rectify. If it had been we would have been happy to investigate what and why the meal was not to your satisfaction and taken steps to improve the quality of your meal in particular and the dish in general. We are fairly confident that our cuisine is among the better ones in Watamu from the continually positive feedback that we receive. Yet there is always room for improvement and direct feedback at the time of a meal is the best means of achieving this.

We are very sorry to hear that you were so unhappy with your stay at Tembo Village but also wish we had been given the opportunity to address your concerns while you were here.

Thank you for the compliments about the swimming pool.

If i can assist you further and/or if you would like to give us more detailed feedback on the food items that you were unhappy with please feel free to do so. We will be happy to address them with the kitchen.

Kind regards,
Bettina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews