We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
342
19
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
19
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstower roomlow tidefantastic hoststhe salt water poolfriendly dogsboutique hotelslice of paradisesmall hotelsand beachbeautiful poolhome away from homea wonderful staymalindi airportevery mealthis wonderful placesea lifefood was amazing
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

After 8 days of safari we arrived during lunch time at Lonno Lodge. From this very first minute the best relaxing week started.
I was curious to see if the images on the website as well as the natural air condition will match our high expectations.
Every expectation was exceeded.
Lonno is exceptional in every aspect. The cuisine is by far the best er ever experienced anywhere in Africa. This is where the owners and managers, Aldo and Silvia, come into the picture. They are the most adorable and perfect hosts. Aldo has designed and built Lonno Lodge and this eye for charme and detail becomes visible in every room and in every corner of the lodge. Both enjoy their meals with the guests and guarantee for spectacular quality and variation. If you need a perfect white sandy beach then you will not be happy. But the Kenyan Coast in Watamu is not about its beaches. Lonno is about total relaxation, peace and quietness. To me this is all about the real luxury in todays hectic times. If you need to reboot and recharge, without compromising on stunning rooms and suites, supported by fantastic meals, dont look any further. Lonno it is.
We felt being part of the family and that is the sad part. We only left 4 days ago but already miss Aldo, Silvia, the team, San, Paco, Black and Bea, and the tranquil surroundings of this picture perfect lodge.
And Silvias Lasagne is worth to travel all the way to Lonno and another stand alone reason to go there! We hope to be back soon..

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Edgar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LonnoLodge, Owner at The Charming Lonno Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

"Lonno is about total relaxation, peace and quietness. To me this is all about the real luxury in todays hectic times. If you need to reboot and recharge, without compromising on stunning rooms and suites, supported by fantastic meals, dont look any further."

Thank you Edgar L for catching a glimpse of our tiny Lodge on the ocean, we loved every single word of your nice review :-)
We too hope to see you back one day!
Aldo & Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We are expats living in Nairobi but also have lived in S.E. Asia for a number of years and are familiar with high end beach places. Aldo and Silvia have created a very personal and polished boutique lodge. I think it has only 8 or so rooms so it is never crowded. The rooms are some of the best i have seen and attention to detail is there. They are comfortable, modern, stylish...facilities are new and nothing seems tired. It was really first class. I really loved the airflow through the rooms, which at night kept us totally comfortable.

The lodge has a large saltwater pool and a lovely terrace for food, drinks and lounging. There are a couple of other secluded shady structures around for more private relaxing.

I am a foodie and Silvia did not disappoint. It is a set menu every night but there is also flexibility with some advance notice. Homemade pastas and fish were the mainstays ...and presented much more creatively than do the popular restaurants in Nairobi.

The highlight was the hectors of low tide seashore one can wonder though during the day. Access is just out from the lodge and one only has to wonder a few meters to see crabs, little fish, star fish, snails, etc.... The expansive of it is beautiful.

As you can see, i offer little criticism and this is because for the 2-3 days i was there, i had none...and i can be quite picky!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hshrader2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LonnoLodge, Owner at The Charming Lonno Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

We're overjoyed we didn't give you reasons for some little criticism, that's what we aim to!
Your review is just great, let's only remember that the Malindi Airport, the closest to Watamu, is just 50/60 minutes flight away from Nairobi. Very convenient for a weekend or a short getaway ;-)

Thnx!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We spent a long weekend at Lonno Lodge with friends to celebrate a birthday. Aldo and Sylvia were extremely hospitable, even getting their dogs to "sing" happy birthday. The lodge is tucked away in a tranquil spot on the shore, with lovely gardens, shaded "beds" for relaxation, a large pool, and steps down to the water. The rooms were tastefully decorated, really comfortable, and had all we needed - even large terraces. There's lots to do, starting with walks in the tidal pools, rides on the bikes they provide, or water sports (e.g., snorkeling, kite surfing) that Also and Sylvia helped us organize. We were so busy relaxing and playing, we never got around to booking massages, but those are available, too. The food is great, just don't let Sylvia stuff you too much. All in all, a highly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vgwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LonnoLodge, Owner at The Charming Lonno Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for your nice reviews, and your nice words. We apologize that Silvia tried to stuff you too much, but we're happy we've been able to keep you busy relaxing and playing :-).

Thank you again for staying with us, have great day!

Aldo & Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Awesome place, received very warm welcoming from both the owners, very polite and prompt staff. Amazing room and food. Overall, we were just in awe by the awesomeness of the place. Would come back anytime!

Thanks for the hospitality,
Sylvia and Aldo

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FatemaN18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LonnoLodge, Owner at The Charming Lonno Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

" .. we were just in awe by the awesomeness of the place .." I loved this, Fatema N, may I steal it for our website?
Thank you for choosing The Lonno Lodge, we truly hope to see you again!
Aldo & Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Aldo and Sylvia were awesome. From the moment we arrived until we left, we were treated like family Their staff were some of the nicest people I met on my trip. The food was off the charts. They all made the Lonno Lodge feel like home.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LonnoLodge, Owner at The Charming Lonno Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you Bret W for your review, we loved your stay at our lodge, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Thank you!
Aldo & Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews