We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end to our safari ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Charming Lonno Lodge
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights after a safari across Kenya, we were greeted by our driver from Lonno at Malindi airport who took our luggage and provided us with cold bottles of water, as soon as we arrived at Lonno Lodge we had a great feel to this place, Sylvia and Aldo were so amazing, they've done an absolute amazing job at getting Lonno to the standard it is. It was so perfect, my partner has a fish and nut allergy and Sylvia amended the menus to ensure he was ok with the meals they would prepare. The food was so tasteful and creative, we enjoyed it all and was always very full. We spent the whole time relaxing as it was just the perfect place to relax, we spent our last evening with another guest and Sylvia and Aldo having a few limoncello's. It was so nice to get to know them both. Their dogs are also lovely. We really did not want to leave and felt so sad to leave after 2 nights. It was such a wonderful stay and we definitely won't forget it and hope to be back soon, (for longer this time)
The rooms were so clean and had everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable too. We love the decor of the whole place and would like to comment how clean and tidy everywhere is kept. Thanks for making our stay so perfect!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chloevallance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LonnoLodge, Owner at The Charming Lonno Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Chloevallance,
thank you for your nice words and your great review, we only hope it wasn't dictated by the Limoncello :-)

Aldo & Silvia
p.s. the dogs say Woof!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

After 8 days of safari we arrived during lunch time at Lonno Lodge. From this very first minute the best relaxing week started.
I was curious to see if the images on the website as well as the natural air condition will match our high expectations.
Every expectation was exceeded.
Lonno is exceptional in every aspect. The cuisine is by far the best er ever experienced anywhere in Africa. This is where the owners and managers, Aldo and Silvia, come into the picture. They are the most adorable and perfect hosts. Aldo has designed and built Lonno Lodge and this eye for charme and detail becomes visible in every room and in every corner of the lodge. Both enjoy their meals with the guests and guarantee for spectacular quality and variation. If you need a perfect white sandy beach then you will not be happy. But the Kenyan Coast in Watamu is not about its beaches. Lonno is about total relaxation, peace and quietness. To me this is all about the real luxury in todays hectic times. If you need to reboot and recharge, without compromising on stunning rooms and suites, supported by fantastic meals, dont look any further. Lonno it is.
We felt being part of the family and that is the sad part. We only left 4 days ago but already miss Aldo, Silvia, the team, San, Paco, Black and Bea, and the tranquil surroundings of this picture perfect lodge.
And Silvias Lasagne is worth to travel all the way to Lonno and another stand alone reason to go there! We hope to be back soon..

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Edgar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LonnoLodge, Owner at The Charming Lonno Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

"Lonno is about total relaxation, peace and quietness. To me this is all about the real luxury in todays hectic times. If you need to reboot and recharge, without compromising on stunning rooms and suites, supported by fantastic meals, dont look any further."

Thank you Edgar L for catching a glimpse of our tiny Lodge on the ocean, we loved every single word of your nice review :-)
We too hope to see you back one day!
Aldo & Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We are expats living in Nairobi but also have lived in S.E. Asia for a number of years and are familiar with high end beach places. Aldo and Silvia have created a very personal and polished boutique lodge. I think it has only 8 or so rooms so it is never crowded. The rooms are some of the best i have seen and attention to detail is there. They are comfortable, modern, stylish...facilities are new and nothing seems tired. It was really first class. I really loved the airflow through the rooms, which at night kept us totally comfortable.

The lodge has a large saltwater pool and a lovely terrace for food, drinks and lounging. There are a couple of other secluded shady structures around for more private relaxing.

I am a foodie and Silvia did not disappoint. It is a set menu every night but there is also flexibility with some advance notice. Homemade pastas and fish were the mainstays ...and presented much more creatively than do the popular restaurants in Nairobi.

The highlight was the hectors of low tide seashore one can wonder though during the day. Access is just out from the lodge and one only has to wonder a few meters to see crabs, little fish, star fish, snails, etc.... The expansive of it is beautiful.

As you can see, i offer little criticism and this is because for the 2-3 days i was there, i had none...and i can be quite picky!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hshrader2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LonnoLodge, Owner at The Charming Lonno Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're overjoyed we didn't give you reasons for some little criticism, that's what we aim to!
Your review is just great, let's only remember that the Malindi Airport, the closest to Watamu, is just 50/60 minutes flight away from Nairobi. Very convenient for a weekend or a short getaway ;-)

Thnx!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We spent a long weekend at Lonno Lodge with friends to celebrate a birthday. Aldo and Sylvia were extremely hospitable, even getting their dogs to "sing" happy birthday. The lodge is tucked away in a tranquil spot on the shore, with lovely gardens, shaded "beds" for relaxation, a large pool, and steps down to the water. The rooms were tastefully decorated, really comfortable, and had all we needed - even large terraces. There's lots to do, starting with walks in the tidal pools, rides on the bikes they provide, or water sports (e.g., snorkeling, kite surfing) that Also and Sylvia helped us organize. We were so busy relaxing and playing, we never got around to booking massages, but those are available, too. The food is great, just don't let Sylvia stuff you too much. All in all, a highly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vgwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LonnoLodge, Owner at The Charming Lonno Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your nice reviews, and your nice words. We apologize that Silvia tried to stuff you too much, but we're happy we've been able to keep you busy relaxing and playing :-).

Thank you again for staying with us, have great day!

Aldo & Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Awesome place, received very warm welcoming from both the owners, very polite and prompt staff. Amazing room and food. Overall, we were just in awe by the awesomeness of the place. Would come back anytime!

Thanks for the hospitality,
Sylvia and Aldo

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fatema N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LonnoLodge, Owner at The Charming Lonno Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

" .. we were just in awe by the awesomeness of the place .." I loved this, Fatema N, may I steal it for our website?
Thank you for choosing The Lonno Lodge, we truly hope to see you again!
Aldo & Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
0.7 km away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
284 reviews
2.5 km away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
830 reviews
3.7 km away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Sun Palm Beach Resort
Sun Palm Beach Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
43 reviews
5.4 km away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#3 of 26 in Watamu
357 reviews
4.4 km away
Jacaranda Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charming Lonno Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charming Lonno Lodge

Address: 390 Kanani Road, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#1 Family Hotel in Watamu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
Price Range: $373 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charming Lonno Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charming Lonno Lodge Watamu is a luxury hotel on the sea side of the Watamu Marine Park, Kenya. Its secluded structure, with nested private tiny beaches, is the optimal spot to relax and indulge on the white beach of Kenya. Despite the proximity with the sea, a huge double swimming pool with salt water is available for our guests. Guests whose presence is limited in number to provide everyone with privacy, silence and top quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Charming Lonno Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonno Hotel Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing