We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wales”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wern Las

Main Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Bedroom
Kitchen Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Main Bedroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
Bedroom two
Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Patio area
Front of the cottage
The back garden
Caernarfon Airport
Caernarfon Castle
Porthmadog train station
Snowdonia
Inland lagoon
Electric Mountain
Zip world
Cycle path
Horse riding
Ingo Jones slate museum
Dinning area
Living Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Penygroes, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SIMON A
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wales”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Property was very comfortable, clean and very cosy. The location was excellent as a base to see everything that Snowdonia etc has to offer. The owner was very friendly and thoughtful and we very much enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Thank you for your positive review. It was lovely to speak to a guest instead of texting.
Wishing you all the best.
Kind Regards Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiv7448
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage, great location, would stay again”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The cottage itself is really lovely, no bad smells, very clean, big kitchen with all necessary accessories, one of the double bedrooms had a double bed which was comfy but the second double bedroom with the bunk bed was not the best - hard to get on the top bed and get back down again, Location is fantastic. The Dinas Dinlle beach is just a few mins drive - the end part near the airport has a great sandy beach. The co-op down the street from the cottage was great for all our food needs - fresh baguettes for breakfast every morning was fantastic. We stayed for 5 nights and it was just not enough, North Wales is amazing to explore and the cottage is a great place to stay and do so. Will be staying again, hopefully. The only downside was that there was no wi-fi and the no signal to use our own internet either. It is only bad if like us, you need internet to search for places to visit and things to do in the area... We were not well prepared as it was a last minute trip. But all the booklets with things to do were a big help. Thank you, Leslie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review my neighbours told me they loved the cooking smells coming from the kitchen. If you would like to stay at the cottage again please do get In Touch.
Kind Regards Lesley Copeland
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
435bonnie
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I had an excellence stay with my parents and boyfriend at Wern Las for 8 nights this August. First, I was impressed by the clean and tidy environment of the house. Although the house was not huge it was very cosy and in my opinion that's all your need for a hiking/beach/forest/nature/history holiday.
The kitchen was very well equipped with everything we need to cook the meals ourselves (microwave, oven, hobs, kettle, bowls, cups, dishes, various cooking utensils, sufficient cutlery, washing liquid, towels etc). There are a few takeaways in Penygroes and Caernarfon is just 15-min drive away, but we preferred cooking ourselves which the house had fulfilled our needs. There was also a washing machine available for use.
The beds and duvets were nice, pillows were a bit flat but that's okay, the headroom for the double-deck bed was a bit too low for adults (judging from the decoration it is a kids' room), but we can live with it, just mind your head when you visit:) Towels were provided for us.
The double bed room, described by my parents, was brilliant and the bed was so comfy.
The bathroom was very spacious and clean, shower was hot and powerful which is always nice after a full-day activity.
My parents are always cold (even the weather was really good during our stay! not usual in Wales!), the heating in the house was sufficient, so I guess if you prefer coming in the winter, this house can keep you warm.
TV was available in the dining room for entertainment.
There is on-street parking just outside the house, on a first come first serve basis. We managed to get a parking space every night which was a relief.
Its location is excellent for exploring the Snowdonia, the peninsula and the Isle of Anglesey, Snowdonia really is a good choice of holiday if you would like a mixture of activities, from serious hiking/ watersports to leisure beach/forest day out, wildlife watching to historic castles visit.

I think the only down side is there is no wifi and the reception is quite bad. Not sure if the owner can do something about it? Otherwise it is a perfect holiday home!

*P.S. the owner Leslie was really nice. We chatted over the phone and texted a few times to clarify things and she was always very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy home, everything is clean and tidy
Liked least: no wifi and reception is poor
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review the subjects that you have raised, WiFi we can not get at the moment and the reception is because of the surrounding areas that we are located.
Regards Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calvin333
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location excellent pricing”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here in February of this year , really enjoyed the stay for the location to get out into the mountains , found the prices to be excellent and would highly recommend staying here if you love walking or going to the beach ! Can't wait to stay again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review. Calvin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M
1 review
“Great for me ”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Booked for a long weekend and was excellent for me to go climbing not far away, facilities were excellent, in a really nice little town not to far from the beach, can't wait to book again for another short stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
Thanks you Mr Mason
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing