We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,360)
Filter reviews
1,360 results
Traveller rating
804
400
97
46
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
804
400
97
46
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews champagne region cheese trolley main building wine list cheese board champagne breakfast small village an excellent restaurant local champagne set menu glass of champagne no lift charming hotel beautiful room en route champagne houses stayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,360 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

On our “cool climate wines” tour of France, we were determined to stay off the beaten path and out of the main towns.

Etoges got the bill perfectly. The chateau was, among other things, a way station for the French Kings when they travelled east.

Our room was in the adjunct building, the Orangerie, and the room was quite comfortable. The property is quiet and dark at night - magical in a way which we really appreciated.

The hotel features an excellent restaurant with a substantial wine list. We had dinner there the first night and would highly recommend it for the food, the ambiance and the service.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jamespA2946HN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

This is a lovely chateau set in a champagne village. The food was exceptional and of course the wine was too! We had the sampler menu in the evening which was delicious and the champagne breakfast was out of this world.
The roomas are spacious and have high ceilings, decorated tio a very high standard and are very comfortable.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank cgou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

This is an impressive chateau in the middle of the small town of Etoges, close to the 'Champagne Tourist Route'.
The building is moated but unfortunately during our visit the moat had been drained for maintenance purposes. There is more than adequate off-road parking, and the opportunity to drop luggage close to reception before parking.
There are several acres of garden but, being in the centre of town, this is overlooked by adjacent houses. There are some planted areas but most is laid to grass.
Chateau d'Etoges offers accommodation and gastronomic package deals, of which we enjoyed a 2-night stay with 2 truly superb dinners comprising 7 or 8 courses.
Breakfast was also superb including smoked salmon and champagne.
Rooms are all in the main chateau building, and ours was of good size and very comfortable, albeit we would have preferred 2 pillows per person instead of 1.
There was unfortunately no fridge allowing us to chill our own champagne, but the room was otherwise nicely furnished and decorated in period style.
Not cheap, but good value and a wonderful venue for a 'big birthday' or other couples celebration.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJTandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaudetoges, Manager at Chateau D'Etoges, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018


Dear guest from East Sussex,

it is such a pleasure to read this kind review with good detail. All the team and I are very happy when we see our guest satisfied with what we do.

For information, usually, there are extra pillows in the wardrobe, Please feel free to ask some more extra pillow to the reception.

Tips & good plan:

Enjoy our special discount of -10 % on room rates: make your reservation directly on our website (etoges°c0m) & benefit of the best price available.

Furthermore, we read carefully all the reviews sent by travellers: know that it motivate the chateau's team and be assured that your reviews influence directly our future decisions. Thank for your help.

Very best regards

Eric Himmesoete
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Beautiful chateau nestled in Etoges with gorgeous ground, excellent restaurant, well equipment spa and top notch customer service. The chateau is in easy walking distance to numerous champagne wineries as well as a short drive to Epernay. The food selection, preparation, and presentation was excellent with a cheese selection of over 20 different varieties!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Les Collectionneurs
Thank RobertB11012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

I wanted to go to champagne on our way back home and we decided to use the opportunity to stop over on our way back from Provence.
We booked direct with the hotel after seeing reviews on trip advisor.
It is a wonderful building. So vast and so full of history. A magnificent chateau. Our room was one of the lower grade rooms but was very nice. Huge bed, a lovely bath with separate shower and also a separate room for toilet. tea and coffee facilities-although no milk only cream (which is horrid in tea) and no biscuits-disappointing as I was a little peckish after our champagne tasting In Epernay.
The welcome to the hotel was good. The tour of the chateau also incredibly useful and good to get a feel for your whereabouts eg where breakfast is served and dinner too.
We had opted for a package that afforded us use of the spa and a gourmet dinner. We didn’t get to the spa but did enjoy dressing for dinner and making our way to the restaurant.
Our meal was very good-perhaps in parts wasted on us as particularly fancy and only two choices-sea bass or pork. The pudding was amazing as were the petit fours.
The wine list is extensive-and expensive! Two glasses of champagne were 30 euros although as we read the menu we could have had half a bottle of champagne for 24 euros which I would have preferred. We were charged 7 euros for a bottle of water and 11 euros for a tea and coffee after our meal. Tea wasn’t great to be honest although I should know by now that it never is.
Not much option for less than 40 euros for a bottle of wine which is fine as you are staying in a 5 star hotel although it would have been good to have seen some house selections-maybe they are in the wine menu and we missed them-it’s like a book and we were keen to talk to each other
We slept really well in the most amazing bed!
Breakfast was excellent. Champagne included (always a winner for me) the choice was great and I really enjoyed it.
The hotel is dog friendly-although not in the restaurant-which suits us as it’s easier to relax. The grounds are great for a dog walk.
I’ve stayed in lots of lovely hotels, it’s good but it wasn’t the best. All in all though we enjoyed it and had a great time.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SarahBee32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews