We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Margaree Riverview Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Margaree Forks
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A really good choice”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We have stayed at the Inn 3 times over the past 4 years and strongly support the views expressed by the 'sometime professor', who has really captured our opinion of the Inn. As a keen salmon fisherman I find the location to be ideal and the rooms are clean and comfortable, with wonderful views, all at very reasonable prices. The location is also ideal for those wishing to explore beautiful Cape Breton and the Cabot Trail. Restaurants to suit a wide variety of tastes are to be found within a half hour drive and the home cooking in Cheticamp is excellent. Mine host Werner was most helpful and accommodating when we were making our reservations and during our stay. We look forward to revisiting the Inn.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Salarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    67
    33
    11
    13
See reviews for
55
51
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
yarker, ontario
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Having had to adjust our travel plans due to a horrific storm that just wouldn't quit, we reserved our room the night before our planned arrival.
Upon arrival, the office was closed and we rang the doorbell and waited in the wind/rain/sleet. Not a good start.
The owner arrived from his quarters on the property quite promptly and we checked in. He forgot to tell us where our room was (several buildings on the property) and we forgot to ask. He said/apologized that he had not received our booking, he had been away, and there was some confusion as to the room we required. From the other positive reviews, I think our difficulties stemmed from this 'last minute' juggling to get our deluxe room.
The room was spotless, and the more I experience composite floors, the more I appreciate them. The room was freezing and there was sleet in the air!
We discovered that while there was a coffee maker, there were no cups/glasses in the room. We left the heat cranked up and stopped to ask about glasses and the 'satellite' tv (more on that later). The owner said there was TV and that he would get us foam cups for the coffee maker - which were in our room when we came back. We left for dinner and to give the furniture and walls a chance to thaw.
A major disappointment was the 'satellite' tv. There were 5 stations available. There was no receiver in the room, so I assume the stations were somehow pre selected for us and fed to the room from elsewhere. We were offered one network station (CTV from Calgary) and 4 entertainment type stations with movies. Not much use when you wanted to follow the Ontario elections that were occurring that day. Also not much use to turn on in the morning to see the overnight news and get the weather reports and discover that at 4am Calgary time, they have paid advertising for some sort of new fitness machine that will give me rock hard abs!!
Fortunately the WiFi worked, and I was able to follow the elections back in Ontario that interested me so much. The speed was not enough for video, but the CBC Canada Votes site allowed me to at least see the results as they were posted.
Not sure what a fair review is - there were extenuating circumstances! Maybe the storm was affecting the satellite reception - but the picture quality of the stations available was good??
What I can say is that the rooms are clean. Although dated, there were no obvious signs of overuse and neglect. That is all a big plus! The grounds appear well cared for and I think this might be a great place in the summer months as a base for fishing and visiting the local area. There was all sorts of fishing equipment in the motel office available, and the owner appears to be an enthusiast.
He was also as accommodating and as friendly as one could be in the teeth of a nor'easter!
http://www.margareeriverviewinn.com/

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are well worth it if you value not having carpets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ken_dYarker_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

i had looked up this hotel online, and decided to stay there on thursday nite, sept. 29/11. i really liked the place. it sits on a hill with wonderful views. i took the $99 room and was totally satisfied. hardwood floors, a good heating and cooling system, and windows you can open. i find hotels with sealed windows to have stuffy/stale air. everything was clean and orderly.
it is not the "lap of luxury". who cares. if you are on cape breton to fish, hike, or just tool around in your car this place is great. the only negative i had was no icemaker on site. not a big deal. i found the owner werner to be a considerate and interesting man. so two thumbs up!

Room Tip: take the hardwood floor king-sized bed room. i was in "23"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dt400blows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towson, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The Riverview Inn is situated ideally for starting a tour of the Cabot Trail or for fishing the Margaree River. If you're concerned with luxurious accomodations, this is probably not the hotel for you, but if you just want a clean, comfortable room to come back to after a day of enjoying the lovely Margaree Valley or nearby Cheticamp, you should be happy here. The Margaree Visitors Center is immediately across the road from the Riverview, and the staff there offered us excellent information and advice about places to visit. And if you're an angler, the manager of the Riverview, Mr. Bochhofer, is an experienced and knowledgable fisherman himself and very generous with his time. Furthermore, the price can't be beaten (as you'll know if you've done some comparison shopping in the area). You'll be able to save some money for renting fishing equipment or for paying the Highland National Park entrance fee . . . .

Room Tip: We were in a room quite far from the pool area, but the sound of children's play still carried i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SometimeProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I read some of the negative reviews on this site about this motel and I can only surmise they stayed in a different motel!

The Hotel was very clean and the grounds were well kept. The room was simple but nice. I have stayed in places costing twice as much that gave me the same facilities as here.

A big plus for me was the wifi net access available in every room, very useful for uploading pics and keeping in touch with the unfortunates you have left at home

The owner is a nice German guy, who was more than happy to suggest places to go and things to see.

The motel is in a quiet area right on the Cabot Trail, a short drive to Cheticamp to the north and maybe 40 minutes to Baddeck.

I will be back again next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul_m001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaree Forks
10.9 km away
Duck Cove Inn
Duck Cove Inn
#1 of 1 in Margaree Harbour
48 reviews
39.8 km away
Fair Isle Motel
Fair Isle Motel
#1 of 2 in Whycocomagh
72 reviews
36.8 km away
Cornerstone Motel
Cornerstone Motel
#1 of 7 in Cheticamp
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Salmon Pool Inn
Salmon Pool Inn
#1 of 5 in Margaree Harbour
7 reviews
36.4 km away
Cabot Trail Motel
Cabot Trail Motel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
115 reviews
15.7 km away
Big Intervale Fishing Lodge
Big Intervale Fishing Lodge
#2 of 4 in Margaree Valley
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaree Riverview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaree Riverview Inn

Property: Margaree Riverview Inn
Address: 21045 Route 19 | Junction Cabot Trail, Margaree Forks, Nova Scotia B0E 2A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Margaree Forks
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Margaree Forks
Price range (per night): $75 - $126
Hotel Class:2 star — Margaree Riverview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Baddeck and Cheticamp on the Cabot Trail our Inn is ideally situated to explore Cape Breton Island. Only minutes to the coastline of the Cabot Trail. Daytrips to Fort Louisbourg, golfing in Cheticamp, Baddeck, Dundee or Ingonish. Close to the entrance of the Cape Breton National Highland Park. Our property is situated on a hill overlooking the two rivers South West Margaree and North East Margaree joining in Margaree Forks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Margaree Riverview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margaree Hotel Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing