We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous break. Home from home.”
other travellers have booked this property
Side View of the lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Side View of the lodge
View from another angle View of front of lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Side View of the lodge
View from another angle
View of front of lodge
tree in front of lodge, In full bloom, May 2014
Ready for a meal
Sunshine on Ying Yang tables
Fireplace, log burner
All mod cons
Main bedroom
Chair on deck
View of forest and mountains from golf course
Lodge and trees from golf course
more views from golf course
Golf course
Still lake
River
Autumn rush
A Summers d
Peace
Sitting room
view of beautiful tree from inside, blossoms in May 2014
Same tree. May 2014
Road to Aughrim
Road to Aughrim
further delights towards Aughrim
Wicklow in Spring
Gorse bushes, Spring 2014
Country side nearby Lodge
View from lodge, summer 2014
Beautiful tree in front of lodge, blossoms in May
More beauty in Wicklow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Rathdrum, County Wicklow

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Victoria...
ballymoney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous break. Home from home.”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We loved our week in the lodge. The facilities were well equipped and everything we hoped for. The kids loved it too. Not to mention the outstanding view!Angela is a fantastic host, helpful in every way.
The lodge is in an ideal location to explore Co. Wicklow. We thoroughly recommend visiting the following:
Mount Usher Gardens
Sea Life in Bray
Greenan Gardens and Maze
Glendalough
Brittas Bay Beach and the kids favourite Clara Lara Funpark. They are asking about when we can return again already!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
Thank the you again for the very positive review of your recent holiday in my lodge. I am delighted the children loved it so much, particularly their visit to Clara Lara fun park, every child's delight.You got to visit some lovely places and thank you for mentioning them in your review. That is always helpful to future visitors.I look forward to having you visit again in the not too distant future. Best wishes, Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scubadrh
Dahab, Egypt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic lodge with the most amazing views - fabulous”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The lodge is very spacious and well equipped with every home comfort possible. This has to be the best accommodation I have stayed in. The views from the lodge were amazing, absolutely stunning. We had a fabulous holiday and will definitely be returning

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
Thank you for your very positive review of your stay at my lodge. I am so pleased that you both enjoyed it and were really taken by the view. I hope you will visit again if and when you return to Ireland. Best wishes, Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
666annen
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed a week, and all loved the place.

The lodge itself is very comfortable and got everything you need, the two bathrooms are very convenient, the place is nicely heated by the electric heat and the fireplace, and the beds are nice. Maybe we just have liked more blackout blinds, but it was okay anyway, and it is very quiet so that's a nice point.
Also, the location is ideal to discover Wicklow. It's quite central and you can get around easily.
We didn't meet Angela, but she was very friendly on the phone and by email.

I would definitely recommend the place if you should stay in Wicklow !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2015
Thank you for your review and also for your kind comments on my visitors book and for leaving the lodge in such good order. Much appreciated. I'm sorry I diden't get to meet you all and that phone calls were not possible while you were in the lodge. I checked with my neighbours to call on you and they reported that all was well. So glad you also enjoyed Wicklow where there is so much to do for every age.I do hope that you will return again in the not too distant future and know that you and your family would be very welcome to stay in my lodge again. Kindest regards, Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran M
Waterford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Peace and tranquility in County Wicklow”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We've stayed here three times (Spring and late Autumn) over the last nine years. The Lodge is warm and comfortable and kept in pristine condition. It's a great place to chill out and unwind for a few days. The log stove is amazing. We were hooked on log cabins and timber houses after the first visit.
We only turned the TV for a few minutes to catch the news each evening.
Angela is a pleasure to deal with. Booking and hand over are fuss free.
We look forward to another long weekend later in the year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and tranquility
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at my Scandinavian lodge. I am delighted you both enjoyed your few days. Yes it is a great place to chill out. I look forward to having you return again in the not too distant future. Meanwhile have a lovely summer. Regards,Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B
Danielsville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything we expected and more”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Scandinavian Lodge at Glenmalure was everything we expected and more. It is always a pleasure to arrive at a lodging booked online and find that nothing has been misrepresented, but to walk in and feel the warmth of a home is an added bonus. Angela took care of our every need in advance. She wrote to me and called me before we left home to ensure that things went smoothly. The lodge was perfectly prepared, even decorated for Christmas! She has lovely neighbors that checked on us when we arrived. I could not have asked for more from this lodge or Angela.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for your positive review. I'm so pleased that you were comfortable in the lodge over Christmas and that you and your family enjoyed your holiday so much on your first trip to Ireland. I hope you will return again soon. Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing