We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
M0i26
Greater London, United Kingdom

Lovely place, lovely people

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Sept 2016via mobile
We made a last-minute booking here in August and had a lovely 5-day break. It's a very nice, small family-run hotel. The staff are all friendly and helpful (Paula deserves a special mention!) and the whole place was absolutely immaculate. The architecture of the building itself doesn't inspire, but it is situated in a huge plot and the gardens are beautiful. It's a bit dated decor-wise, but they are doing full renovations this winter, installing a lift etc. The rooms were perfectly comfortable (I think they will be bigger after the renovations). We didn't actually have an evening meal there as we liked to explore other restaurants but we did eat lunch on site (in the garden) on a couple of occasions and there was a great choice of light salad dishes, pasta of the day etc. The swimming pool is stunning - I was tempted to spend all my time there but the beach is a short walk away (just across the road). There are a few areas of public beach but it is overwhelmingly beach club after beach club. Prices for sun loungers differ quite widely so check first.
I found it expensive for a 3* hotel, but I guess that's Tuscany in August.
Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RobertoVillaElsa, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Elsa, responded to this review
Responded 14 Dec 2016
Dear M0i26,
We are glad to hear your beautiful words. If I am not wrong you have mentioned those compliments many time during your stay and that's even more valuable to us. As you said we are definetly under renovation this winter so you and your family will find many news if you get the chance to visit us next summer from June 2017. Villa Elsa will have new and more spacious rooms, new elevator also leading to a rooftop terrace for a relaxing aperitivo, new reception area much more. Our service and the attention for our guests will always be the same, so we really look forward to seeing you and your family next summer. All the best from, Roberto, Alessandro, Emiliano, Paola and the rest of the staff!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Hotel Villa Elsa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$354
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Hotel Villa Elsa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$320
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Hotel Villa Elsa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$201
  • Hotels.com
3.0 km from Hotel Villa Elsa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
3.1 km from Hotel Villa Elsa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$1,065
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Hotel Villa Elsa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
4.4 km from Hotel Villa Elsa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$255
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.5 km from Hotel Villa Elsa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ristorante
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$209
  • Hotels.com
2.4 km from Hotel Villa Elsa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Massa
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
104
32
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
104
32
5
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Nice family hotel and paradise for kids. Roberto and his staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are very clean. This is our 4th vacation at Villa Elsa and we would recommend it. The pool is fantastic and has a nice temperature. The hotel is surrounded by a large garden. The food is excellent and breakfast is splendid.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RobertoVillaElsa, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Elsa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Thank you so much Carl for your beautiful words! We are so glad to be appreciated once again for our daily work here at Villa Elsa. It means a lot to us when our guests return year after year and this is what gives us even more energy to improve. Thak you again for your appreciation and we really look forward to seeing you next year.
Best Regards, Roberto&Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We would not hesitate to recommend this well run hotel. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the grounds were beautiful. The pool was fantastic as well as the views. All the staff were very helpful.We were even provided with complimentary towels and our own flip flops, a lovely touch.
We were also served the best breakfast at this hotel compared to others during our month long stay travelling around Italy. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne-Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

Hotel room could be bigger, but overall it is good. Staff was very nice and friendly. Breakfast very rich. Pool was good but a bit too cold. Lovely beavh nearby. Restaurant did not work, but staff recommended a good restaurant for eating. Nice parking for car and lovely garden. Would visit again with of season prices.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank progys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 October 2015

We've spent 3 summer vacations at Hotel Villa Elsa, and every time it's fantastic. Roberto and his staff are super helpful and kind. The food is great and it's very clean! The hotel is further away from the center, but close enough to shops and restaurants. They have an incredible pool. But if you just cross the road you're on the beach. If you like hanging out on the beach, make sure to pass at 'Bagno Ennio'.
We love going to Villa Elsa because of its relaxing ambiance. It's more of a family hotel, and great if you have kids (or love kids). If you're looking for a trendy, quiet and child free hotel, this is not your thing.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RominaMauro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Perfectly placed across the main road from the long sandy beach, this wonderful hotel has a lovely swimming pool and surround, a huge park like garden, table tennis and bicycles. The owner and his staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help their customers. The food is really good - on a half board basis we had a substantial 4 course meal every night with lots of variety. Breakfast was plentiful, buffet style.
Our room was very comfortable ,if a little on the small side, with great sea and pool views. The hotel was extremely clean and well maintained and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday.

Room tip: 2nd floor room with sea and pool views - superb !
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patrick t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews