We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shearings 5 day holiday”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chollerford
Reviewed 24 September 2017

This hotel is situated in a very stunning location- right next to the river. Hotel gardens are very pretty and landscaped. A walk here is so relaxing, the views are wonderful. All the staff are friendly and helpful. Restaurant is a pleasant dining area. Must say that the food could be more imaginative and varied- especially the vegetables. For 2 nights I had green beans, carrots and corn. My room looked onto the river and bridge. Clean and comfortable. Special mention for our driver, Brian who is a real credit to Shearings. A visit to the hotel spa is a must. All amenities in here, clean , with instructions for steam room, jacuzzi & sauna. Pool is clean, clear warm water. Hope to return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: no lift, anyone with mobility problems should ask for a low room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank geminileeds2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hi geminileeds2017,

Thank you for posting this nice review.
I will pass your lovely comments to Ian our gardener, he will be delighted to hear that people appreciate his work to make the garden beautiful.
Regarding the veg at night, I will pass this to the chef and he can look into variable options.
The leisure club is a great facility we have and we always try to encourage people to go down and enjoy free of charge.
If I see Brian again I will mention that he made your stay even better.
Wish you all the best and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017

Stayed here as part of The Wall walk. Good location for Chesters Roman Fort and for the onward journey. Nice welcome at the reception, we were abit early to check in, so they let us leave our bags, whilst we went to Chesters a short walk away. When we checked in , we had a large room with a great view of the river and bridge. Very comfy bed, had all that you needed, kettle, hair drier, etc and even a trouser press. The bathroom was nice and bright, but the shower not very powerful.
We never had a drink in the bar, as The Crown Inn was a 20 min walk up the road.
Breakfast was a buffet, so not very filling for a long walk.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hi John a,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.
This is a lovely place indeed and we are fortunate enough to be this close to these locations.
I am glad you liked the bedroom and the facilities. Regarding the breakfast, this is a buffet so you can eat as much as you like so if you come the next time, you could have it all :)
Wish you all the best and hopefully see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

The location of this hotel is very nice. It's by the river and has an excellent grounds and public area. The rooms are fairly modern, very clean, and the hotel is quiet. The food was a bit of disappointment. Not bad, but not notable. I can't say I even remember what I had that night. I know it wasn't bad but... It is close to some of the Wall locations.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JohntheLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hi JohntheLast,

Thank you for your review.
Thank you for the nice comments, I will pass it on the staff and the chef.
Wish you all the best for the future, and hope I can welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

What a fabulous location for a hotel, looks amazing when you approach from the bridge. When you get inside it all changes, very outdated and the toilets are way over-due a make over. Cleaning has a lot to be desired as the chairs in the bar are filthy and need a good hoover and shampoo. A lot of the staff are friendly but they don't all understand what you say and when ordering from the menu you have to point to what you want. The room is large enough with a massive uncomfortable bed that joins down the middle with bedding that is too small and with holes in! Cleaners need to realise you need to clean everything as the dirt and dust on skirting boards etc looks dreadful and I wasn't really looking for it! Food tasted good in restaurant and apart from the scrambled eggs that looked microwaved the breakfast was good.
To sum up the hotel I would rate it as 2* at 5* prices.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 865kizzy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hi 865kizzy01,

Thank you for taking your time to post this review.
The hotel is undergoing some refurbishment in the near future, we do work hard behind the scenes to make this place beautiful and comfortable.
I have raised your concerns with my Head Housekeeper who will look into the cleaning standards you mention, I do apologise if this was not acceptable for you, I am sure if you came to the desk and mention it to reception we could have done something for you.
I wish you al the best for the future and I hope we can have you at the hotel again to change your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Swift check in, pleasant reception staff. Large clean room with very comfortable bed. The gardens and outlook were very beautiful and just minutes walk from Hadrians Wall.

I don't agree with others comments concerning the food, we found it to be very nice with adequate portion sizes and very efficient service in the restaurant both for evening meal and breakfast.

My only gripe is that the barman kept disappearing as he seemed to have several jobs so this could cause a long wait at the bar and associated queues for drinks.

I would definitely recommend for a couple of nights and would return again if passing that way.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JKN101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Hi JKN101

Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review.

I will pass your comments to the staff, they will be delighted to see that they are appreciated.
I will look into the issue you mention with the bar and I am sorry if you had to wait a long time to get served.
Again, thank you for posting this review and hope to see you not in the distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chollerford
6.8 km away
The Beaumont Hexham, Hotel
11.8 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,206 reviews
25.2 km away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Battlesteads Hotel
11.2 km away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,598 reviews
8.7 km away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Hexham, Chollerford, Hexham NE46 4EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Chollerford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chollerford
Price Range: $106 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a beautiful river front location, just five miles from the market town of Hexham, the George at Chollerford is a historic building dating back to the 1700's renowned for its fine food and hospitality. It is great to have such a history behind the hotel as we feel we are doing an excellent job of keeping the tradition going, but we have also spent a lot of money upgrading a number of facilities in the hotel including the leisure club, with its swimming pool and gym, situated west of Newcastle we are in ideal spot for walkers, history buffs and gardeners alike - you will be spoilt for choice. The hotel is a perfect retreat in a location that we consider to be one of the most relaxing in Northumbria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Chollerford
George Hotel Hexham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing