We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
128
6
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
6
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews her husband the owner unique experience great atmosphere for sale spent nights norway trip local food highlight of our trip great view homemade jams minute drive the barn our honeymoon stayed for one night beautiful location own garden
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017

The road to Bestebakken winds up the mountainside and ends at the beautifully kept small hotel which consists of an old farmhouse and the barn. The garden is filled with flowers, vegetables and herbs plus little surprising pieces of art everywhere and alpacas roam the steep meadows. Lindis and Odd Geir gave us a warm welcome and we were shown our cosy, beautiful room in the centre of the barn with view over the Luster Fjord. The food is made from produce from the garden and the district and is delicious. The breakfast is a feast of home made jams, sausages, cheeses and breads and Lindis explains everything with enthusiasm.
The walls and shelves are decorated with Norwegian modern art which is for sale.
Thank you Lindis for giving us such a lovely couple of days!

Room Tip: The middle room in the barn has a large window and incredible views
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Borgy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We spent 14 days on a self-drive tour of Norway and BesteBakken was one of the more memorable stays. Our room was very comfortable with a beautiful view of the lake and surrounding countryside. Our hostess, Ms Alme was very gracious and welcoming. She even prepared a special meal for us to accommodate our special dietary needs. The cuisine was outstanding and the dinner company interesting. A B&B experience not to be missed.

Room Tip: try for a room facing the lake
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We absolutely loved our stay at BesteBakken! Lindis was the perfect host, and we felt well cared for and welcomed from the moment we arrived. We were a party of 10 couples, had been traveling all day, and she made us an amazing venison dinner with only two hours notice. We loved the dinner conversations with our fellow travelers, and even got great recommendations on driving routes to Oslo. The rooms were comfortable, the views amazing, and all in our party were very satisfied. It was a very personalized and unique traveling experience. We hope to be back someday!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights, It is a family operated place, you have the feeling that you came to visit the family. The hostess, Lindis, manages it all. She puts attention to so many details, including educating the guests on the traditional breakfast and dinner experience, plus guiding you on local activities. You can have a massage, take a trip on a helicopter, etc.
It was a wonderful and unique experience!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cbenzvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

We spent 4 nights at Beste Bakken sttarting on Aug 14, 2017 and loved it. The innkeeper, Lindis, is a treasure who works hard to insure that her guests are happy. She is also a great cook and hostess. The included breakfasts are Norwegian specialties which are wonderful. We appreciated the fact that we learned so much about customs, foods, and the Norwegian way of life.
We opted for dinner each night and they too were wonderful. It is especially nice to sit around the beautifully appointed table with travelers from all over and have great unrushed conversations. The rooms are spacious, clean, and individully decorated. All in all, this is an exceptionaal inn with a truly exceptional hostess. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petrockNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews