We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Nainital
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The room was a good size and was very clean as was the bathroom , Their amicable staff were consistently helpful and friendly throughout our 2 nights stay.
Mr. & Mrs Vij

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meghak_mehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    33
    25
    10
    25
See reviews for
74
22
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

to be honest this was supposed to be more of a stopover for an overnight stay at Nainital since we had spent a quality time at Naukuchiatal. Booked the place based on the few reviews which were OK so to say.
Still the expectation was one of the old charm and personalized service. On the first part we were in for a shock since the property is overdue for renovation. if you have children with you then it can be almost like a ghost house. so if you are not looking for an eerie kind of experience then avoid this property. the service though is pretty good since the owners personally see to it and if you have any issue they at least make an attempt.

Room Tip: Overall bad and within that ground floor can be even worse, so choose first floor only if u r hell b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunil_Davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nainital hotels

Pune
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Guys,I visited Nainital recently on 08th Jun and based on some of the feedback checked in at Hotel Royal - to the worst of my experience room given to me didn't have proper door lock - it was of 19th century used during our grandfather type.Thus I could not lock door with key.Bathroom was not cleaned and room has pathetic ambience and dirty smell.When I tried to find electrical point for charging my phone I discovered broken point and when I turned on light I found that switch was hanging.The worst was not over when I found that water was not coming in tap - for asking for water in bucket I had to go to reception as phone was not working (was worst then MTNL phone which was used in 1960s).To my surprise person told me that they do not have buckets.I decided to meet Managing director of hotel and staff politely told me that he is sleeping.I insisted meeting him and gave my feedback - BUT he was adamant and not ready to listen and had many excuses against Nainital municipal authority for everything.MY WORST NIGHTMARE was over when I checked out next day morning and checked in another hotel just walkable from Royal that also at 35% cheaper then hotel royal :-(- NEVER EVER THINK OF STAYING IN HOTEL ROYAL IN YOUR DREAM - the worst of the worst

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShreejiPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2011

I have been to Nainital with my family from 27th May- 29th May. The Hotel is in so much crowdy area. Not value for money. It was found too coslty. Room are also not good. Bathroom was not clean. The first we have given room is like we are in Chawl. bathroom was dirty. smelling. rooms are like we are in Village. Than i ask for new room. Even then i got smaller room for that i have paid it tooo much. Telephone not working. Lights are old and damage. In short charges are more than what they give.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Yagnesh g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2011

The most common but nessary thing every body want is water. they have local cleanning water purifier, they store water in aluminium contaner in open area, its very harm full for health its invited to gastro problem. & the atitude of Manager/owner is not good.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cool032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Chevron Fairhavens
Hotel Chevron Fairhavens
#18 of 49 in Nainital
161 reviews
3.4 km away
Dynasty Resort
Dynasty Resort
#20 of 49 in Nainital
210 reviews
1.3 km away
Treebo Lake Side Inn
Treebo Lake Side Inn
#19 of 49 in Nainital
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#6 of 49 in Nainital
295 reviews
0.3 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#12 of 49 in Nainital
334 reviews
0.4 km away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#15 of 49 in Nainital
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Bara Bazar, Mallital, Nainital 263001, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Nainital
Price range (per night): $57 - $117
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the very days when the the British arrived and settled in Nainital, the Royal Hotel has been a defining landmark of this quaint lake town. Established in 1906 by Colonel George Edward Bridge, an officer in the East India Company, the hotel was a hill retreat catering to officers, policy makers and nobility during the British Raj. After the colonial years however, the hotel was taken over by the Indian Government and subsequently sold to the Punvani family which runs it to this day. During the early post-colonial period, the hotel witnessed its renaissance, when it was revived from the ghosthouse that it had become, and transformed into a disco/night club, Nainital’s first and only for a long time. While it may seem ironic, over the decades gone by, the Royal has undergone a complete metamorphosis, but maintains its nostalgic charm notwithstanding. After the decade of the swinging seventies, the hotel was renovated and expanded. Six new rooms were built and others renovated to meet modern standards. It was during this time that the Royal was the set for “Masoom,” the Shekhar Kapur directed classic. In addition, the hotel was officially recognized as a heritage hotel by the Indian Goverment. But perhaps the greatest honour bestowed upon the hotel was its recognition in the book of the “Leading Hotels of the British Commonwealth.” To date, it is the only hotel in Nainital to have ever acheived this noteworthy distinction. From British noblemen to Indian businessmen, the Royal Hotel has been a home away from home for visitors since over a hundred years. With its quintessentially British architecture, when one walks the corridors at the Royal Hotel it becomes abundantly evident that history and heritage is all around. Formidable bay windows, wood-burning fireplaces, stone walls, rustic walkways and impressive sculptures echo an old world charm that is seldom recreated in these modern times. It is no surprise then, that guests at the Royal Hotel often describe their stay as unique, nostalgic and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing