We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
118
86
21
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
86
21
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsolive treespool barcorfu townair consteep hillrelaxing holidaylarge balconystayed on a b b basisput towels on sunbedsrooms are spaciousmeat eatersguests returnset in lovely gardenspeaceful hotelsun or shadebusy dual carriagewaychoice of restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Hotel is about 30 min in taxi from airport and approached to via a hi way and 400m hill, but is in a pleasent quiet location, staff are polite and helpful and hotel and rooms cleaned daily as is pool, breakfast was ok continental but same every day, negotiating hill both up and down is not for the faint hearted as there are local dogs that are not under manors (one scared my son to death almost) there are also a lot of wild cats and unsightly over flowing bins which is much the case in this small town.
From the bottom of hill to the left is a small local shop and to the right a bus stop, bus every 20 min to take you in to Corfu town for € 2.70 (tickets from shop and worth. a visit) far right is a local super market with every thing you need including fresh fruit and well priced drinks in comparison to bars and town shops.

You need to cross the high way to get to the small town and beach, there is a crossing next to the bus stop I recommend you use as these guys drive around like whacky racers, go to right of petrol station then down some steps into town were there are gift shops and restaurant bars, town is only small and a sign can be seen directing you to beach (actually gravel man made but pleasant enough).

Went in several restaurants / eateries cheapest evening meal €20.00 BQ art and place opposite Flip pas dearest was Flip pas and Moffeta on sea front €45.00 but Fresh is a must for light lunch or home made ice-cream and the Owner and staff fantastic hosts.

Thats about it really, i never go on holiday to the same place allthough I had a good week In Gouvia and Saint Nicholas Hotel a week was enough.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

Visited and stayed at the hotel for a week very relaxing and quite place with a nice pool and good pool bar nice size room with balcony menu at hotel very typical of Greek restaurants friendly staff and do a very good breakfast

Room Tip: Most rooms very easy to get to with your own garden view with a.c. units
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sterencewoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

If you are looking for peace and quiet in the Corfu countryside yet not too far from Gouvia itself and only a ten minute drive into old Corfu town then this is perfect. The hotel rooms are spacious, the pool is adequate and the bar and taverna excellent, all within the private grounds.

HOWEVER, if you are looking for a comfortable night's sleep you might want to think again. Our advice to the owners is to invest in top quality mattresses to ensure your guests return again and again.

One other point relates to breakfast. For most people breakfast is the most important meal of the day, it sets you up for the day. However, once upon a time breakfast could be had at the taverna by the pool but now it is to be had indoors, clinical and it could be anywhere ... but not Corfu. We can understand the practical need for the management to do this, but for holidaymakers the atmosphere has gone. Also a lot of tourists come from the UK and they want a hearty good old fashioned "FULL ENGLISH", not a salad.

If these two points could be guaranteed to change and be proudly advertised on the hotel's website then guests that know and loved the hotel would return in their droves.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool and taverna tend not to have the sun in the afternoon, which if you've been out in it all day is a welcome relief.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Singaporedreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Just returned from an 11 night stay. We have thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and Saint Nicholas hotel met our needs & we were happy with our stay but could be better. We were in room 308, facing pool with nice balcony so that was a bonus . Room is definitely in need of update and I think some tlc when cleaners come in. Just a kettle fridge & toaster provided in this room .. kettle lead did not quite reach plug socket which made us laugh ! Bathroom was very worn shower head too low so uncomfortable to shower and bathroom as a whole is a bit grubby with limescale & grubby shower curtain , few pounds could improve this easily. Beds were hardish, but slept really well even with a very loud air conditioning unit which needs an upgrade too. Pool and garden area very well tended to , no need to be up early to put towels on sunbeds unless you need a parasol as there are very few, though you can get shade under trees if necessary. Pool lovely and clean spent plenty of time in it as so hot . Not on top of each other round the pool either plenty of space.All staff friendly , bar good good with reasonable prices . The walk up and down steep hill to town was manageable but some may struggle , the heat made it worse than it really is, we didn’t really notice it by the end . The included buffet breakfast had plenty of choice & so nothing to complain about there. Recommend a stay here, we won’t return as Gouvia not got enough variety of restaurants for our liking and less authentic then we liked. Go try it out though it is such a relaxing place, I still had a tear in my eye when left .lol !

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank STRIPEY70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Hi! Just returned from a week in this hotel with my teenage daughter and a friend. Staff are all so lovely and we had such a giggle with them.

Our room was large, yes could do with update but was clean and comfortable. Have seen comments re beds being hard but we slept well.

Breakfast is basic but ample .

Receptionist lovely. Shout out to Bar staff Catolina and Tony who were great to chat to and so friendly, fun to be around. Also night security man ( can’t spell your name sorry!)

There is a hill to contend with , going down is ok ( 10 mins) , coming back....take a taxi particularly during the heat of the day.

Food in bar and restaurant excellent!

No need to queue for a sun bed as always room, pool spacious and clean.

Go! You won’t be disappointed and we will definitely return.

A hidden gem! Enjoy!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank isabel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews