We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
118
86
21
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
86
21
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsolive treespool barcorfu townair consteep hillrelaxing holidaylarge balconystayed on a b b basisput towels on sunbedsrooms are spaciousmeat eatersguests returnset in lovely gardenspeaceful hotelsun or shadebusy dual carriagewaychoice of restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017

The hotel is perched on the top of a steep hill, in large, well maintained grounds. It is quiet and relaxing and the staff are all friendly and were very happy to help with arranging day trips for us and general advice. The food at the bar/restaurant is good; lunch time portions are large, and the evening menu always has a different Special of the Day. There is enough room (and enough sun loungers) around the pool to provide sun or shade. My only criticism of the hotel is that some of the fittings are well past their best. I had a light switch which had come detached from the wall, and in her room my friend's shower head holder was broken. Only small things, and this doesn't detract from the overall impression of the hotel. Rooms were cleaned to a good standard. Bottled water and bus tickets are available from Maria's mini-market towards the bottom of the hill (bus tickets are cheaper from the shop than bought on the bus). The No 7 bus goes into Corfu town every 20 mins in the daytime and every 30 minutes in the evening; only a short 12 minute bus ride. Corfu town is definitely more appealing than Gouvia resort, and we went into town several times during our ten day stay, in both daytime and evening. This hotel is a good location for trips (we did a boat trip to Paxos and Parga, and a trip to Albania) as it is close to Corfu town, therefore we spent less time travelling on the transfers to/from the port. I would stay at this hotel again as it is lovely, not so impressed with Gouvia resort in general.

Room Tip: There are a range of kitchen/cooking facilities in different rooms, so best to ask in advance if you want these.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alij653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

The hotel is in a lovely setting. The garden is large and wonderful for relaxing under the olive trees. The pool is excellent and the pool bar very convenient. The rooms we had - a bedroom and lounge area were large and the A/C worked efficiently. However, they were in need of an update. Although we didn't really use the kitchenette it was very useful to have a fridge and a kettle. The bathroom also was rather 'tired' but the shower worked well.We enjoyed the breakfasts - there was plenty of choice and the quality was good. Everyone working at the hotel were welcoming and helpful. We didn't mind that it was a little way out of the town as we appreciated the quietness but some people may find the hill a bit steep. We walked up and down as exercise after over indulging! But it would be easy to take a taxi. We also used public transport to get around and found that very easy and inexpensive. We took buses to Corfu Town, Kanoni and Paleokonstritas.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank elizwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Travelled with Tui. Early morning flight from East Midlands. On time, 20 minutes to hotel from airport. hotel staff fabulous rooms very clean, bar a little bit expensive pool area great. enjoyed the peace and quiet. We were on bed and breakfast basis and was well worth the money everything you wanted for breakfast. Ten minute walk into the resort down a hill not much of a hill really especially if you have had a big meal nice walk back up to walk it off great hotel and great staff wish we were still there J A J

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

My partner booked this hotel for a quiet 4 day holiday for the two of us. Neither of us had been to Corfu before and she liked the look of the hotel from the details seen online.
We weren’t disappointed. The hotel is set in its own attractive grounds with a lovely pool, adjacent pool bar/restaurant area, all of which was close to the accommodation. The whole place is quiet and relaxing, there is no shortage of sunbeds and if you just want to sit and chill it is an ideal place.
The accommodation itself was of good standard and regularly cleaned. We had a sizable balcony with nice views; there is a decent size living area, kitchenette with a small fridge and two burner hob and sink with the usual crockery and cutlery. The bedroom had a flat screen TV with some English language channels. My partner did comment that the mattress was a little on the hard side though.
A big plus was that both the safe and the air conditioning were included in the price- no extra charge for these.
We stayed on a B&B basis; the breakfast allowed a choice of continental style breakfast with additionally a small choice of hot food- Bacon, sausage, fried egg etc. We both found something to suit us each day.
We ate lunch in the hotel on several occasions and had one evening meal; food was of a high standard, quickly served and a reasonable cost. Service here and throughout the hotel was friendly and efficient and the owner was extremely helpful. In fact all of the staff made us feel welcome.
The hotel is located around 10-15 minutes walk from Gouvia itself, although it is up an incline if you have reasonable mobility this should not present a problem. There is a good choice of restaurants and bars in the town as well as a shingle beach. Just be careful crossing the busy dual carriageway!
If you are looking for a relaxing and pleasant place without the usual noise and bustle of children’s entertainment this is an ideal location. We would both be happy to return to Corfu and this hotel.
If you travel here as we did with TUI don’t expect to see a rep. At the airport we were told a rep would meet us at the hotel and provide us with a welcome pack- this didn’t happen. For the usual rep’s information meeting we had to go to the Hotel Louis Corcyra Beach in Gouvia itself. A big thank you though to the Dutch TUI rep that we did see at the hotel who took the time to help us.

All in all we had an excellent stay at the St Nicholas and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Saint Nicholas Hotel, Gouvia, Corfu.

So what can one say about the St Nicholas that hasn’t already been said. It is a real little gem on the outskirts of Gouvia, about a mile walk into town. The gardens are tranquil, very well maintained, sitting around a wonderful swimming pool. And it's a big hotel, sympathetically built into the lush countryside here. It's plain and simple, not 5* but just, well, great.

If it’s peace and quiet you are looking for, somewhere to chill out, away from the daily hustle and bustle of in your face life, this is the place for you.

It does have its faults, for sure, which I will mention, but overall would I recommend. Most definitely. Would we go back. Most definitely. And I don’t say that too often in my reviews!

Location is probably difficult for those less able-bodied and the more senior persons. definitely not for wheelchair users, unless you are content to stay within the confines of the hotel for your stay.
To walk into Gouvia is about a mile, leaving the hotel, bearing left, it’s a short steep incline to the road above, but then a pleasant stroll downhill mostly, to the road junction, bearing left to the main road! When approaching the main road, a dual carriageway which you have to cross and turn right towards Gouvia, it’s a very steep incline. And I mean steep. It does the old calf muscles going down, as well as up! And remember after that night out, you have to get back. At the foot of the hill if you turn right, great little market shop on your left 20m distant. They sell everything, including bus tickets for buses into Corfu town. The bread is to die for! Turning left at the foot of the hill, and left again, immediately in front of you is the bus stop for buses into Corfu town. (Number 7).
Tickets available on the bus, but cheaper if you buy in advance at the shop. It's about 10/15 minutes into Corfu by bus.

When crossing the busy dual carriageway on your trek into Gouvia, use the traffic lights to your advantage! It’s a very busy road! Keep your kids close!
Do not let this deter you from going into Gouvia, its worth it. Plenty of good bars and excellent restaurants, with a good (stony) beach, harbour etc. Sun beds/parasols are plentiful, 7 euro for two beds + parasol.

Sun beds are also plentiful at St Nicholas Hotel, and plenty of shade in abundance in the gardens around the pool. Pick your spot, place your sun bed, and bingo. Job done.

There is a snack bar/restaurant also in the gardens, and of course a bar. Not extortionate prices. Food I would class as average, good menu selection, but to eat (dinner) I would suggest a trip into Gouvia where there are some really good restaurants. breakfast is very well set out in the main building. Served from 08.00 to 10.00. I think early risers, like ourselves, would appreciate a 07.00 start!

We were lucky enough to have a room overlooking the pool and the gardens. It was big but with little storage space like drawers and a decent size wardrobe. Also where the beds were positioned was not conducive to opening of the wardrobe doors! It may sound petty, but to enjoy the mechanics of the room like the free aircon, to etc, you couldn’t really move the beds!

And it’s the first time I have seen a room with a radiator in it! It wasn’t on, of course, but probs Lynn an addition so the hotel can be used all year round.

We had tea/coffee making facilities in the room, located behind a small cupboard area which also
Housed a refrigerator. One imagines at some time there would have been a cooking area here, but now just a worktop. And disappointingly, the kettle lead did not reach the plug socket, so you had to boil the kettle in the room. There was a useful table in front of the cupboard so dining in or eating in is an option, but I repeat there are no cooking facilities.

As previously mentioned, lovely balcony area overlooking the gardens. Large in size with table and chairs.

So all in all, great room, good size bathroom, good shower, if shower head set a little too low on
the wall for the taller person who doesn’t like to hand hold the shower head. Great water pressure.
The shower curtain and décor were a bit tired, but it was nearing the end of the season. Towels plentiful, always fresh.

Worst element was the sleep experience. The bed was, as in most cases Greek, two singles pushed together. Oh, those mattresses. They were so so hard, and very difficult to sleep on however tired. I did try one night on the ample bed settee (3rd bed in the room) but it was the same! The worst part of the holiday for sure. This really needs rectifying!

However, the room was cleaned daily, in exemplary fashion, and I can only say, ALL staff and management at the hotel were top class, very helpful and always at hand.

You vacate your room at mid-day. If you have late flights, don’t worry. There are showers, toilets etc
for your use to prepare for the trip home. No having to pay extra here! So go out by the pool, sit in the gardens, have a meal, drink, whatever, and forget about the journey.

Again, the place is a quiet retreat, if you want loud and noisy with night clubs this isn’t for you.

Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the gardens/pool are desireable.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Turkeyites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews