We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and peaceful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saint Nicholas Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Gouvia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2017

This hotel is set in magnificent grounds which give it a delightful and peaceful atmosphere. Every member of the staff, without exception, is efficient, helpful and friendly which makes for a relaxing visit. As a result the guests find it easy to get to know each other.
The only slight drawback is that the location is 400 yards from the main road and up a small hill. If a 75 year-old can manage it with ease, (and I did) that says it all.
The greatest compliment that is paid to this hotel and staff, is that many visitors keep coming back.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the gardens and swimming pool get morning and evening sun and keep cooler during t...
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sussexsojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Saint Nicholas Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2017

Stayed here for 2 weeks just came back on the 7th of June. The hotel is fabulous, has very friendly and helpful staff, the gardens are beautiful, and the swimming pool is massive. The rooms are spacious and cleaned regularly with fresh towels every day. The location is either the best or the worst depending on how you manage the hill that the hotel is situated on,its not too far from town and is about 10 or 15 minutes walk away, The breakfast was adequate. The best part was the swimming pool and gardens and least favourite part was some of the sunloungers are broken or need replaced.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanmcclure2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

Stayed for a week from 26/05/2017. Hotel was lovely. The hotel has big rooms with self catering equipment, if you wish to cook small meals. Fridge included, a god send in the hot temperature. The room had air conditioning and also a large outside balcony to sit out in.
Staff were very helpful land pleasant and very friendly. They were very quick to attend your needs.
Breakfast was good and very varied and tasty. There is a garden restaurant with a bar beside it so, so relaxing. Food in the restaurant was beautiful and well priced. Plenty of sun beds near the pool.
The village of Gouvia is only 7 mimutes walk with the bus to Corfu or Dassia 5 minutes away.
Great value for a 3 Star Hotel. Lovely staff. Thank you all for a lovely time. Michael & Eilish.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mq15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

I have given this property an excellent rating because I am rating it as a 3 star hotel and based on cost. I usually travel with my husband and stay in 4/5 start hotels.
I was with group of friends and we had a great 11 days at Saint Nicholas and had a great holiday. We stayed in the annex block in 416 which was a great size room and bathroom with a little kitchen large balcony and great views over the mountains and the pool. The kettle and toaster were a welcome addition as was the full size fridge. The gardens were well tended and pretty and the reception area welcoming. The staff as mentioned on other reviews were so helpful and friendly and greeted us like old friends. Vassilis was so helpful and accommodating with anything we needed. Booking cars etc. and always happy to have a chat. Great location away from the town centre but not to far too walk into and the hill mentioned in other reviews was not a problem for us although some nights we did get a taxi home after plenty of cocktails!! 10euros max depending which part of town you were in. We got the bus to Corfu town and to Ipsos and it was a great service. Breakfast was a continental with plenty to choose from as in cheese, cake, toast, jam etc. and good coffee. quite basic but adequate. The rooms were cleaned regularly and very clean. TV if you are interested has some english speaking channels. The restaurant was good and reasonable and Alex gave great service. Plenty of sunbathing areas and no one was reserving sunbeds which was great as we aren't early risers.
Couple of things... the beds were hard, but we did get used to them, the pool is cold but then as the summer warms up Im sure it will be ok, some of the sunbeds need updating there are only a few of the new ones.
All in all a really great hotel for the price range and facilities. I would definitely return with friends and recommend to others. Just to mention we had to stay an extra night due to the BA crisis and were found alternative rooms straight away and the rooms were made ready for us to move into straight away great customer service. A mention about the town is that it was quiet as it was still not full season which suited us fine. Leon's was our favourite restaurant and check out Melodies pub with the Supremes tribute fantastic girls and a great night out there say hello to Manos.

Room Tip: room 416 was at the end of the annexe so its quiet and has great views
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

Lovely tranquil setting with views over countryside. We stayed in a top floor studio overlooking the very well kept garden. As previously mentioned the furnishings are a bit dated but we had everything we needed. Note, there are no sink plugs provided . The staff were very friendly and the food was more than adequate ( but don't expect full English breakfast, it's Greece! ).We chose to have our evening meals here which were reasonably priced and served near to the pool , the stifado was especially good. We recommend staying here if you like peace and relaxation .

Room Tip: Email to request room overlooking garden .
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouvia
0.6 km away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
1.2 km away
Art Hotel Debono
Art Hotel Debono
#1 of 17 in Gouvia
427 reviews
0.3 km away
Govino Bay Corfu
Govino Bay Corfu
#8 of 17 in Gouvia
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Paradise Hotel Corfu
Paradise Hotel Corfu
#5 of 17 in Gouvia
216 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Telesilla
Hotel Telesilla
#2 of 4 in Kontokali
461 reviews
2.3 km away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Gouvia

Been to Saint Nicholas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Nicholas Hotel

Address: Gouvia, Gouvia 491 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Gouvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gouvia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gouvia
Price Range: $51 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saint Nicholas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the hill of Gouvia, hidden away in an olive grove estate is set the family run Saint Nicholas Hotel. Surrounded by perfectly manicured gardens with ages old olive trees and an eclectic mix of original grandeur and modern touches is the perfect getaway creating a truly unique and authentic Corfiot Experience. A laid-back retreat in the midst of the island’s sun-baked countryside, BUT only 300m away from the heart of the village of Gouvia and just 6km away from Corfu Town, one of Unesco’s Heritage Monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Saint Nicholas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Nicholas Hotel Corfu/Gouvia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing