We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Secluded villa with stunning view”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Galaxidi

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Galaxidi, Phocis Region, Central Greece

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
English first
George D
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Secluded villa with stunning view”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
person found this review helpful

The location provides an excellent view across the Galaxidi bay to the mountains in the distance. The villa is somewhat secluded which was a plus point for us however you do need a car (maybe a 4x4 because of the rough track over the last 150 meters) to access the villa. We were advised that there was street lighting to the villa but this is not the case, so walking home is not really an option at night. The pool is fantastic - again just what we wanted, especially given the very high temperatures experienced during our stay.
Just to mention a few downsides to the villa. The water supply necessitated turning on/off two taps in the underneath storeroom, last thing at night and first thing in the morning. There was no mention of this at the initial key pickup time and it did mean that there is no water over the night period. Not sure why this cannot be rectified or if the instructions finally provided were correct. All very inconvenient. In addition the water heating requires a significant volume of water to be wasted in order to get warm water. To get really hot water seemed impossible. Again not sure if instructions should have been provided locally - the keyholder does not really speak English (why should they!).
The information provided on the website indicates 3 bathrooms - there are only 2 bathrooms plus a cloakroom, i.e. separate toilet no shower!
The website also shows that a safe and microwave are available - they are not. A kettle would also be of benefit.
There is a shortage of crockery, i.e. plates and bowls. Not enough for the 5 of us and certainly did not allow us to entertain during the stay.
Hopefully the above points can be rectified. We really enjoyed our stay at the villa and in Galaxidi where we have been a number of times before. It is a great place to visit and for a wedding - the purpose of our visit!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Villa - cannot be faulted!”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely place to stay. The views are tremendous across the bay and the hills beyond with the little town of Galaxidi across the bay. The villa is extremely comfortable with a super pool and everything was spotlessly clean! It is very roomy with modern fixtures and fittings so everything works and is of a high standard. We would recommend it without hesitation as a great place to stay.

It is set in amongst a small group of some 6-8 villas on a hillside and as it stands alone at the front of the group so has an uninterrupted view of the beautiful bay. We would love to go back - and didn't want to leave!

It was a 5 minute drive to the local town which has a great range of restaurants along the harbour side. We ate out every day - the restaurants have lots of fresh fish and local specialities to offer. A car is definitely needed to explore the area - Delphi is only about 45 mins away. This is "real" Greece rather than a dedicated tourist destination and consequently we loved it all the more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The views, the villa - and the pool!
Liked least: Nothing at all - it was fantastic
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing villa - with a fabulous pool”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this lovely villa for a week. It's about 2k outside the town, so you'll definitely need a car, but once you're there, the views are outstanding, it's pretty well equipped and the pool is fabulous.

The best thing about this villa is the views. You look over the Gulf of Corinth - and can see the lights of Delphi twinkling in the distance behind you at night-time. The pool's salt water and is pretty great too. The kids spent the whole day in and out of it. And it's incredibly private, so you're not overlooked.

Galaxidi itself was a wonderful town. Lots of nice vegetables shops and delis, plus lovely restaurants in the port. It's not a tourist village, packed with foreigners. But rather a thriving town with a busy community. Every morning, we'd head into town, order our Capuccino Freddo and contemplate the harbour with the old men of Galaxidi.

My one niggle (hence the 4 out of 5) is the lack of washing machine or free wifi. The launderette in town is a dry cleaners' and doesn't accept underwear. So bring some travel wash. Everything dries quickly in the sunshine so it wasn't too much of a hardship. And if you want to stay connected, you'll have to buy minutes and charge up a dongle. Otherwise, it couldn't be faulted.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The villa is in a wonderfull place...amaizing view. It is equipped with everything u need for your vacation. The town is about 15-20 min walk, so it is better to have a car. Very clean and beautifull...the pool is also nice and a plus to the villa. The nearst beach is in 15 min walk. The Galaxidi town is a small town, but very beautifull. We had a problem with our car ,but the people who take care of the villa helped us and we fix the car in the next town Itea. If you have to go shopping for the villa , i recomend to go to Itea (15 km) where there are bigger supermarkets. It is an amaizing place....we took a trip to Athens (3 hrs by car) and also to Lefkada (3hrs by car). We had a great vacation and i recomend this place.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Amazing House”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Absolutely beautiful house with stunning views. The house was cleaned, well equipped and very welcoming. Would definitely recommend to others and I would go back. Just one thing to note, the house is about 2 miles outside of the village of Galaxidi so you ideally need a car.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
USD 1,048
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing